We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to the White Mountains without reservations so we could see the properties before making a choice. The Inn at Thorn Hill was very inviting, and had room for Sunday and Monday nights. Although the main Inn was rebuilt about ten years ago after a fire, it has retained the charm of a grand old inn. We chose a room in the Carriage House rather than the inn because we thought the suite was a better value, with a sitting room, large bath with jacuzzi and small bedroom. It was quite nice except that it was on the ground floor so it felt a bit dark, cool, and damp. Although it was chilly during our visit there was a constant (fairly noisy) flow of cool air from a wall vent. Fortunately, the electric heat worked well. Staff delivered fresh coffee to the Carriage House each morning, which was a treat for coffee lovers. Breakfast service began at 7:30, a good time for people with serious hiking plans for the day. The breakfasts and dinners, which were included in the room price, were very good to excellent. The wine list was great with a good selection of wines by the glass; the beer selection was adequate. We had dinner each night on the lovely porch and enjoyed the beautiful view west toward Mt. Washington. The waitstaff were very attentive and friendly, but could have been more polished. All in all, though, we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a room in the Carriage House, which is a good deal less expensive than the Inn, choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksoninnkeeper, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Pat,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Inn at Thorn Hill. I am glad to hear our New England weather was nice to you and you were able to enjoy Chef Matt's unique meals on our wrap around porch! We hope you are able to visit us here again for another enjoyable stay!

Warm Regards,

Meghan Breton
Front Desk Supervisor
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    66
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
413
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just returned from a trip to New Hampshire and Maine. We were originally planning to stay in Mount Washington but it was fully booked so we started looking at alternatives online and happened upon The Inn at Thorn Hill. What a gem. The room was delightful, and spacious. The entire staff from the front desk to the bartenders to the servers were helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

The inn is perfectly located, very close to town and to hiking in the spectacular White Mountains of New Hampshire. We like to work out so we went into town to a great fitness center at the bottom of the ski area.

The bar area and dining room, sitting area and indoor and outdoor dining area is comfortable and inviting. The view outside is just wonderful and soothing. When I first found out we would be eating at the Inn every night for dinner I was disappointed because I like to experience local restaurants. As it turned out we were thrilled to eat there every night. The food was top notch. Every night was a new adventure and always outstanding. The bartender has a special touch and is a great mixologist and they have a wonderful contemporary cocktail list.

The new manager is solicitous and accommodating. What a great find and a great value. We'll be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayamind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksoninnkeeper, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your enjoyable stay at the Inn! We are glad you found us here is the hills of Mt Washington. Our entire staff from the front desk to the dining room work hard to make sure every guest has an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Chef Matt is always creating specials to add to our already unique menu, so guests always have plenty of options. We like to give our guests contemporary options while relaxing in our old world elegance.

We look forward to seeing your back again for another Mt Washington adventure!

Regards,

Meghan Breton & Klaus Doelling Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton Ridge, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent the week in on the ocean in Kennebunkport, we were looking for a place to stay in the Whites to split the trip/ride up back to Burl., VT area for our 6 month old, boy did we stumble on a gem. We looked in Jackson because we knew we would have the scenery of the presidentials without the Conway crowd. Meal was tremendous, Klaus and everyone there were amazing at making you feel at home, they even held Ciara so we could steal a bite of our meal. Will return for sure.
Mike, Sharon & Ciara

Room Tip: We had a cabin, great with a 6 month old, didn't have to worry about bothering anyone. Even the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the Gray Manor room at the Inn. The staff and service is excellent. Our room was spacious, featuring a jacuzzi bath and a beautiful view of the mountains. Eating our meals on the wrap around porch was a great option. There's plenty of room to relax in the lounge/bar area or outside on the rocking chairs. Our spa experience exceeded our expectations. Thank you, Cory! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carissa1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife decided to take a drive vacation, and picked the thorn hill inn. The room included a full breakfast and dinner , all of my dietary restrictions were accommodated. The new owners and manager are wonderful, always asking what else could be done. This attitude was displayed by all of the staff. The owner also informed us that wireless would be in all of the rooms in the next few weeks. As a NEW York city resident I was surprised and must say delighted with the quality of the food and service, certainly several notches above other hotels, the restaurant alone would rate a High 26-28 score with Zagats. Indeed both my wife and I were so impressed that we hope to return next year. Amy & Marty

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marty230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzyChadwick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I recently decided to let "Living Social" determine where we would spend our 5th anniversary. We are SO glad that The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa had a deal because it was one of the most amazing places we have every stayed. The view from our room was gorgeous and the property is in a beautiful location, to say the least. The meals and the afternoon tea were lovely and the in room fireplace was very peaceful. We did not use the pool as it was raining, but I did get to use the in room jacuzzi with the bubble bath they provide - as much as you need. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We cannot wait to come back again - after a day of hiking or sight seeing in the mountains, this was a fabulous place in which to return and relax. (I should not that the beds are VERY soft and sink in - so if you are someone who needs a firmer mattress, that might be something to think about or ask if they have.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyChadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got a great deal on Living Social and we can't wait to go back! The inn is absolutely beautiful! The staff was great! The formal dinner that was included in our special was perfect! The view of Mt. Washington was just amazing while we had a delicious breakfast on the side porch. Jackson falls was a short drive away where we swam and just enjoyed the beautiful falls. The room was comfortable and the hot tub for 2 was just wonderful! The hotel used top of the line plush towels and toiletries an he bed was so comfortable. If you are looking for a romantic get away then this is the place to go. We will be heading back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlinjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
15.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa

Property: The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Address: 40 Thorn Hill Road, P.O. Box 800, Jackson, NH 03846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Couples Retreat" Discover an award-winning New Hampshire spa resort in the majestic White Mountains. Our elegant AAA 4 Diamond Jackson, NH lodging offers elegant rooms, world-class dining and a luxury day spa. When you are looking for Jackson, NH hotels or a North Conway B&B, the Inn at Thorn Hill will exceed your expectations. Named by the Washington Post as "One of the Ten Most Romantic Inns in North America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Thorn Hill Hotel Jackson
The Inn At Thorn Hill And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing