We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge at Jackson Village
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Loved the place”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a nice place to stay when you visit New Hampshire. It is not a five star hotel but it is very clean and conveniently located. There is a great restaurant right across the street.
We will definitely go back, we climb Mt. Washington every year. It is very nice to go back to a clean place after a long hike on the mountain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    115
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
227
169
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canutillo, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After reading all the reviews on this site, I was prepared to splurge on the Lodge. Now, I'm sorry we did. $200 per night is way overpriced. (maybe they're gouging for Fall Foliage?) Rooms are spacious, but decor is old, mattresses are sorely in need of replacement and whole building seems musty.
Breakfast consisted of a few homemade desserts and a small tub of yogurt with some toppings. The coffee is a unit that makes one cup at a time. It was the same fare each day we were there. Would have welcomed real oatmeal instead of little instant packets. Nothing was hot and very little was healthy or traditional for breakfast and one reviewer got it right when they said there's no place to sit. One very small room with a fireplace that seats about 6 comfortably and everywhere else one must stand and be in the way.
My biggest complaint however, was the little signs all over the lodge. Although stated nicely enough, one had to believe there were rules about everything!! No personal garbage in this trash can, no more hot chocolate due to spills, don't touch the fireplace or start the fire yourself, please recycle all plastic eating utensils, snacks for breakfast only, don't use white towels for makeup, and my all time favorite, please tip the housekeeping staff in this room-numbered envelope and turn in with your room keys. The sign goes on to explain their staff is largely made up of college kids and single moms who need additional support. My suggestion to the owners is to cut some of the unnecessary costs (custom imprinted shampoo bottles, disposable utensils,etc) and pay them more. At $200 per night, I believe they should be well-compensated by the owners. Besides, how does one know if that money ever gets to them since we are asked to give it to the front desk staff? Clearly, the owners are cutting costs in many ways and thinly veiling it with an excuse to "save the planet".
Nope. We won't be going back to the Lodge at Jackson Village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I felt compelled to jump to the defence of this lodge after a previous reviewer rated it poor because it was located on the road outside the village - it's not like they moved it or anything! The hotel is perfectly located - we walked over to the Wildcat Inn in an easy stroll of about 10 minutes to give you an idea of the size of the town. The lodge has an excellent website which has a map of where it is, amongst other things - if the specifc location is important to you, then you find out before you book surely.

I agree there are better ways of eating breakfast - there is no specifc breakfast seating area so you use the lounge, outside or tray back to your room. However the breakfast is homemade and freshly prepared for you; it tasted wonderful and more than compensated for the standing up issue. The apple pudding (there's probably a proper name for it) was incredible. There are afternoon cookies and tea/coffee in the lobby.

This hotel is run by people who evidently care greatly about the guest experience. The warmth they show comes through. The guest directory in the room is chock full of essential information about Jackson and the services the lodge offers. Some guests appear to have considered their well-intentioned suggestions on guest behaviour as over-zealous but as someone who doesn't like noisy or inconsiderate people myself, I thought they promoted the right sort of message about the kind of place they want this to be. For example, they suggest children should be well behaved - nothing contentious there in my book.

I have no regrets for one minute that I gave these people my custom and I wholeheartedly recommend this lodge to like-minded travellers.

Room Tip: Room 17 - king bed, whirlpool jacuzzi bath, garden view ground floor. Right down the end of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

How disappointed we were when we discovered that the lodge is on the road and not in the village.

Not only the breakfast (in the lobby of the lodge) is very poor , but, when your tray is in your hand, you have nowhere to sit ! Have you ever tried to eat standing next the door? If not, come to the lodge.

Of course the room is very clean, but, isn't what you expect for such a rate?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mireille n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I just got back. The Lodge is very pretty but what really stuck out for me was how CLEAN it was. We stayed in room #10 no river view just the parking lot. But the room was a nice size and comfortable bed. Cathi & Jim were really nice. They are very helpful if you need info on the area. The have a continental breakfast on weekends. The cinnamon buns were Delicious!
We went all over town! We ate the first night at the Red Fox its about half mile from the Lodge. Great food and good atmosphere. Very comfortable it had a sports bar like area too that no kids were allowed in and was adults only so that was nice being we don't have children.
The 2nd night we ate at the Stonehurst Manor. More of a upscale place but casual dress is fine hey you are in the mountains! The food was good but probably could have been brought up a notch for the look of the place I think I expected better food. But the service was on point and the place was very pretty.
In the town of Conway there are so many adorable shops (not pricey either). I hate when I go away and feel like im being sucked in to pay higher prices because its a tourist enviroment. It was not like that at all. Besides the cute shops they also have the outtlets to shop in.
We went to Ellis Falls which was just beautiful! I could not believe how clean and clear the water was. That is def a must see if you go up there. Not a long trail hike either. It took us an hour in and out of the trail (most of the time taking photos of the water fall).
It was a great getaway!
April & Steve Staunches

Room Tip: Try and get a room that faces the River otherwise your view is the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Me and my fiance stayed for a couple of nights during the mid week in late September. Very quiet, clean and comfortable. Wonderful staff. Proximity was perfect so I could go hiking for the day and she went shopping at Settlers Green, only about 12 miles away. Nice rooms, jacuzzi tub was a plus and electric fireplace was nice. Disappointed that breakfast is only on the weekends but the homemade cookies and cider was nice.

Room Tip: rooms with patio/balcony near river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very enjoyable stay here-clean generous sized room, love overlooking the peaceful river! Breakfast is wonderful & the staff is helpful and accommodating! Can't beat the location either for proximity to Storyland, North Conway etc.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aameden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
814 reviews
8.0 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.0 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Jackson Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Jackson Village

Property: Lodge at Jackson Village
Address: 153 Route 16, Jackson, NH 03846-4417
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lodge at Jackson Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premiere Jackson lodging establishment for both couples and families! Pool, tennis, WiFi, stone fireplace, afternoon refreshments, and 2-person Jacuzzis. Walk to fine restaurants, shops, Golf. Minutes from Storyland, 5 downhill/X-C ski centers and White Mt. Attractions. Special Packages Available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lodge at Jackson Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Jackson Village Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson Village
Village Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing