We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Inn at Ellis River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #1 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and went up there for the Beer Lover's Getaway. Our room was spectacular. We stayed in the Bridal Veil Falls room. It had a private patio were we could relax with a drink as we unwound from the day. The staff were fantastic. They made us feel more like family than paying guest. Breakfast was a delight and plentiful. Definitely did not start the day hungry. We travel quite often and have been to 22 countries and my husband said that he feels this was the most luxurious. We both highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are delighted you had such an enjoyable birthday getaway in the Bridal Veil Falls room, and that you were made to feel so welcome by all of us at the inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate another special occasion in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 573 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Avalanche Falls room which we found to be quite cramped. The layout with the basin next to the bed instead of inside the bathroom was rather awkward. I assume other rooms would have been larger so this is really specific to the room we were in. Breakfast was reasonable. My view is that their website over-sells the quality of the breakfast food. It's of a reasonable standard but not something to shout about.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are sorry you found your room smaller than you expected. Our rooms do vary in size and layout, with some having the sink outside the bathroom. We try to illustrate the furniture arrangement and size of each room on the individual guest room pages on our website since the rooms differ and are decorated individually.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home. The two girls Christine and Chrissy were so friendly. The room was a bit small but very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The location was very good for the mountains. We would certainly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn while on your New England travels. We are delighted you enjoyed our friendly staff and our breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to this Inn for six years - it is a wonderful place. The location is perfect, and the sounds of the Ellis River are so peaceful! Every room we have stayed in has been nicely done, and the fireplaces help make the perfect end to a day. The staff is very welcoming and will go out of their way to help you in any way imaginable. And the breakfasts? Don't get me started!

The Inn at Ellis River is a part of our our annual "leaf-peeping" New England experience; we went from place to place before happening upon it. Now, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. We'll be going back again next October (and we're thinking of a Winter return as well).

Did I mention the breakfasts?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyBoyTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

We are so pleased that we have become a special part of your annual foliage visit to New England, and we hope you will plan to come in the winter as well so that you can enjoy the White Mountain scenery when it is blanketed in snow instead of brilliant trees. After skiing, snowshoeing, or a sleigh ride, you’ll be able to return to the inn to enjoy the fireplace at the end of what we hope is another perfect day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Upon arrival of this B&B, it was obvious the owners took pride in their establishment. It was very clean in the rooms, the common areas and everywhere you walked. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. There were a lot of little extras and details that make this place stand out. Fireplaces that are actually functional and not just for show, a nice fully stocked bar with game room, cozy reading room, balconies for enjoying the sun/breezes, nice Gazebo, the sound of Ellis River right next to the B&B, clean burning logs for the fireplace in our room (Paradise Falls Room), multiple outlet strips for plugging in all our accessories (no need to search for outlets behind beds or furniture), Jacuzzi for two in the bathroom, etc., etc. We will definitely be back to visit Lyn and Frank!

Room Tip: If you like waking up to the smell of great food in the morning, the Paradise Falls Room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank space-traveler-hou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted you had a chance to enjoy the common areas and grounds of the inn as well as the amenities of your room. We look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise (Falls) in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this B&B and were comfortable the entire time. The location is convenient to all the White Mountains hiking as well as the shops in Conway. The staff was friendly and welcoming. My only negative comment is that the rooms are a little small for a B&B. It felt like more of an Inn then a B&B. Perhaps the name. Despite that, the Inn is located directly on the river and as I mentioned, it couldn't be more convenient to all the White Mnts have to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyCinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a comfortable stay and enjoyed our staff and our convenient location for all the activities in the area. Some of our inn rooms do date from the 19th as well as the 20th and 21st centuries, and they are smaller than rooms constructed today. Since our guest rooms do vary in size, we try our best to reflect the differences accurately in the images on our website. If you are returning to the area for another visit, we would be delighted to assist you in choosing a larger room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and the staff were friendly and helpful, but the Inn is a little tired and worn out, and could do with a renovation. Our room was by dark and old fashioned, and needed a face lift. On the positive side the location is great, staff excellent and snacks and coffee are available on a regular basis.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed our staff and your stay. We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations for décor. Each room in the inn is individually decorated with an eclectic mix of antiques and more modern pieces to reflect the inn’s origins as a19th century private home in our small village. The Franconia Falls room’s combination of ivory, brown and black tones is the darkest in the inn, and had we known your preferences, we would have gladly assisted you in choosing a different room with a lighter color scheme and different style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
14.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Address: 17 Harriman Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $149 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Ellis River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. In the winter enjoy many cross country and alpine ski opportunities in the immediate and nearby ski locations. Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" in The Conway Daily Sun's "100 Best of 2017 Mount Washington Valley". Reserve today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at Ellis River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing