We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Inn at Ellis River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #1 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My Wife & I stayed here for 4 nights as part of our New England trip. The location was really good; breakfast was excellent with different offerings each day. We stayed in one of the Water Fall named rooms which had it own fireplace and was very nicely furnished.

Walking distance to many local restaurants, our favorite being the Thompson House which was only 5 minutes walk away, go there on a Thursday for their special local menu.
We were lucky enough to come face to face with the local Bear one morning and don't know who was more surprised.

Highly recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarpendenWrinklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 584 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at this inn for many years and it just keeps getting better. Any time we go anywhere else on vacation, we compare our stay to The Inn at Ellis River. From the cozy rooms and beds, the soft towels, the afternoon cookies, the delicious breakfasts to the outdoor pool, scenic views and charming atmosphere, I can not imagine staying anywhere else. We are greeted and treated like family whenever we show up and everyone goes that "extra mile" to make our stay wonderful! I have referred many people to this inn and no one has ever been disappointed.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this inn, but i love the ones with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fezziwig1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We realy enjoyed our stay at Ellis River the rooms although a bit small are well furnished and very comfortable. The breakfast is very good although we could not understand why you had go book a time slot.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have found that providing breakfast service over a several hour period (8:00 - 10:00 am) and requesting guests indicate their preference for a breakfast time assures that we are able to offer attentive service to all our guests. Unfortunately, our breakfast room is not large enough to accommodate the over 40 guests who might decide to eat at the same time when the inn is busy. Requesting breakfast time preferences allows us to provide the level of service our guests expect, and assures that they do not have to wait for their tables to be ready. If guests have changed their minds about the time they would like to eat, we are happy to accommodate them if a table is available. Hot beverages are offered 24/7, and our first course of fruit, yogurt, homemade granola, cereals, juices, and baked goods is available on the buffet if hunger pangs strike early.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay and our only complaint was we should stayed longer. We have stayed at many different inns and this one is now at the top of our list.We had read all the reviews and were looking forward to our stay, the reviews were right, the breakfasts were delicious, accommodations were lovely and ammaculately clean. It's no wonder they are in the select registry of distinguished inns.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webbMass_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we lived up to your high expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer one in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weekend stay at this wonderful B&B and I must say it's one of the finest Bed and Breakfasts I've stayed in. We were in the Paradise Falls room which had a lovely balcony facing the mountains with a view of the stream. The room was immaculate and clean and the sheets were some of the softest we've ever slept on. The service was exceptional. The owners, Frank and Lyn and the Innkeeper, Christine made our stay very comfortable and were able to accommodate some dietary restrictions we had. Jackson itself was a lovely town and we were lucky enough to be there the weekend of an art festival. I would highly recommend this place. Thank you for the experience. I'm afraid people will read this and think it's a fake review so you can check out some of the others I've written and know that this really was exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Paradise Falls which had a king sized bed, a jacuzzi tub and a living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NycTravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were happy to accommodate your dietary needs, and are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Paradise Falls room so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a great stay at this beautiful B&B. Wonderfully helpful staff and delicious breakfasts. The Jackson Falls room is comfy and inviting. I will certainly book again when I return to the Mount Washington area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsettin311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lots to recommend this place. The location is off the main road and next to the river and so peaceful and quiet at night. The rooms are beautiful, the beds very comfortable and you even get chocolates on the pillow.
We loved the cookIes and drinks on arrival, the guest fridge. The games room was great and the jigsaws unique and quirky.
Breakfast was epic, service professional but fun.
Great place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carter Notch Inn
Carter Notch Inn
#3 of 11 in Jackson
535 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Address: 17 Harriman Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $150 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Ellis River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. In the winter enjoy many cross country and alpine ski opportunities in the immediate and nearby ski locations. Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" in The Conway Daily Sun's "100 Best of 2017 Mount Washington Valley". Reserve today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at Ellis River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing