We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional dining in a quaint NH mountain setting”
Review of Wentworth

Wentworth
Reserve with OpenTable
Wentworth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 16A & 16B
Description: The Wentworth Dining Room prides itself on using only the freshest seasonal ingredients provided by local and regional farms. We work closely with the New Hampshire Institute of Agriculture and Forestry. We also use many vegetables from organic New Hampshire farms. Our meat, poultry and seafood is sourced regionally and delivered regularly to guarantee freshness.
Cumberland Center, Maine
1 review
“Exceptional dining in a quaint NH mountain setting”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We owned a rental property in Jackson, NH for years, but really hadn't experienced many of the local restaurants. We recently ate dinner at The Wentworth and were absolutely delighted with the experience. The food was thoughtfully prepared from fresh ingredients and each course was delicious. Importantly, the portions were not overly large, which really allows for savoring each course without feeling stuffed. The service was attentive and the setting was great for a summer solstice evening in June.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Manager at Wentworth, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking your time to review your experience at the Wentworth. I'm glad that you decided to visit for dinner and clearly enjoyed your time with us. My Chef de Cuisine, Neil Myers, and his culinary team put a tremendous amount of time and thought into our menu. We recently have been reaching out to more farms and farmers like Glen Mitchell of Jackson and White Gate Farms of Tamworth; through these efforts we have been able to secure a large amount of fresh, local, produce, meat, cheese, and more. I am also happy that you enjoyed the service you received. It can be difficult to walk the line of attentive and intrusive - All of my waitstaff are true professionals and they will be happy to know they have been successful again. Again, thank you for your business, time, and thoughts; We know we will see you soon.

Joshua Belanger
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    42
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great get away”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We spend one night at this grand old inn in the White Mountains of NH. Built in the 1800's and on the national registry of historical sites, Wentworth is well maintained. Friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food. Beautiful setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmtjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Manager at Wentworth, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the Wentworth. The Jackson and Mount Washington Valley area have a long tradition of service and quality in a beautifully rustic location. We try everyday to keep up with this high standard to ensure that all of our guests have a "Grand Hotel" stay. We are very lucky to have an extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and professional staff - I will be passing your words along so that everyone's efforts may be recognized. Thank you again and please visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Joshua Belanger
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Wentworth is a real experience for a special night out. We were there off-season so it was very un-crowded. I cannot be sure if it's the same during high summer and ski season. There was a prix fixe 4-course dinner that we had, which was lovely. Each item was obviously prepared with care for both the taste and the appearance of the dish. Definitely the kind of meal you want to eat slowly and savor.

Ambience is delightful, in an old Victorian cottage hotel, quietly off the main drag.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cutthroatbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Manager at Wentworth, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Nothing like a calm New England night to have a romantic dinner. The Wentworth Dining Room has a wonderful romanticism about it; Whether we are packed all night or only have a few reservations we try very hard to always deliver the highest standard of service and quality at all times. Our Chef Neil Meyers and his culinary team pride themselves on using fresh,local produce and also by making everything we can from scratch. We care immensely about our guests experience and it is nice to know that clearly that this doesn't go unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Best Regards,

Joshua Belanger
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trying to be fancy, but under delivering (restaurant only)”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a typical vacation restaurant that tries to pull off the fancy high-end feel. It is nowhere close to high end French/American food in big cities. All our dishes (scallops, steak, salad, etc) looked good but tasted average, below even Cheesecake Factory level. It's a safe place to go, but keep your expectations low.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrytheblueherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Manager at Wentworth, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I appreciate you taking time to review the Wentworth. It saddens me to hear that clearly we missed on many marks and that is unacceptable. I can only apologize for your experience; I will be sharing your words with my staff so that we can work on improving. Again I am truly sorry for a lack luster experience and I hope that if you are ever in the area again you give us another chance. I will see to it that you have the proper Wentworth experience we are renowned for. Thank you once again for your time and business.

Best Regards,
Joshua Belanger
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Still the best.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here again for the weekend (June 1 & 2). Great hotel--stayed in the high-end Fairlawn bldg.

The package included two great dinners and two great breakfasts.

The soft-shell crab, the crab salad, the boneless ribs, and the hake were all wonderful. Well-made cocktails, nice wine list, warm service.

Best place in the region. We'll, of course, be back next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Manager at Wentworth, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend retreat at The Wentworth. I look forward to only exceeding your expectations next year when we see you; I'll be sure to introduce myself next time you are in the area. Thank you for taking the time to review the Wentworth.

Best Regards,

Joshua Belanger
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wentworth also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing