We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money or your time”
Review of Dana Place Inn - CLOSED

Dana Place Inn
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the money or your time”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We really messed up staying here and are thankful we only stayed two nights instead of the three originally booked. This is a poorly run operation - little to no staff around, no way to access the indoor pool - room keys don't work and good luck finding a staff person, had to find a staff person to get ice. My husband and I were one of 3 couples for one night and the only couple the next night. The overall feel of the place is dark, musty and old. It could be quaint if run well. We were told upon arriving back from a long day of hiking that our room couldn't be cleaned because the maintenance man took all of the keys with him, so no clean room. Asked for and got clean towels, came to lobby for the afternoon tea and there was none set out - guess if there are only 2 guests it's not worth the trouble. Too many small issues added up to an overall negative experience. The only positive was the food - compliments to the chef. A waste of our money for sure and it's a shame because the location is perfect for all the White Mountains have to offer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

OK place, but expected more for the price. To start with it is generally run down and badly in need of renovation. Also, there is an absentee owner and nobody in charge. Food was excellent. If, you could find someone at the front desk, they were not very helpful. Best person there was a 17 year old kid. wine and cheese in the afternoon was lemonade, no wine. There was a very cute squirrel that had the run of the dining room,but most health inspectors would not think he was so cute. There are much nicer places in Jackson for less money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bfroadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overall very good, but may not be for everyone.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My grandson, son and I stayed here for two nights chiefly to go to Storyland. I was also interested in going in the river with one of the Inns inner tubes. We brought the Storyland package. I thought it was worth the money. The location of the Inn was also great as it was set off the road away from towns. Highlights would be the food, private access to the river, and hospitality of the staff. The room met our needs but there was definitely a hot water pressure issue which should be addressed. If you want a comfortable room just for sleeping, it works. If you want a room to hang out in with a big TV this is not your place. Then again people do not go to the White Mountains to stay in their rooms.. Dana Place Inn promised much with the package we bought and they followed through on everything. We would go again. Definitely a place for children

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PKWMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed breakfast, and dinner there. Historical rooms and ambiance was relaxing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, PE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't Go.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It is very unfortunate but we were completely disappointed in this Inn. If we hadn't paid in advance we would have left. Many issues, including lack to 0 hot water, run down furniture, mould, just plain old falling apart and needs money invested and some TLC

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMacs174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dana Place Inn also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing