We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cookies; fair sandwiches”

The Back Country Bakery and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good cookies; fair sandwiches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We tried this spot twice. I thought its strength was its cookies; wonderful snickerdoodles, good molasses cookies and big chocolate chip cookies were all quite good. The cinnamon roll my husband got was more icing/sweet than cinnamon in flavor and was a tiny bit doughy in the center. We got sandwiches for lunch on another occasion and they were a bit more disappointing, especially since we each got one that boasted white cheddar as one ingredient and we got orange american-style cheese instead. The dressing was a bit odd in flavor (to my taste). Nothing bad--just not as good as it could have been for the sandwich price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
232 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe in Jackson with great sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stopped here on a whim while staying in Jackson and very glad that we did! Very nice spot, easy to miss. Delicious (and different) pastries and coffee. We came back the next morning to order sandwiches to take with us for a picnic and they were excellent. Vey friendly staff and the service was fast!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmoshpere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ate here for a quick breakfast before heading over to Mount Washington this weekend. Walking in we were immediately charmed by the adorable decor and comfortable feeling. We were immediately greeted by a very nice woman who was patient as there were so many options and we could not decide what we wanted. I ended up with sausage, egg, and cheese on an everything bagel and my boyfriend got a bacon, egg, and cheese on a plain bagel. We both agreed that they were some of the best breakfast sandwiches we've had. I also grabbed a pumpkin pie latte which was incredible. The prices were slightly above what you would spend at a dunkin donuts but the food was 10x better so I did not find it to be overpriced at all. When we were heading home we were tempted to stop back in for lunch... do not miss!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A treasure in Jackson!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We enjoy all of the food choices offered at this small cafe in Jackson. The coffee drinks and baked goods are delicious, and their sandwiches, often grilled panini style, are hearty and creative, always made with fresh ingredients, and come with a side of potato chips. They will pack to take out or you can eat in, in their bright and cheery, recently renovated cafe. Owner Alicia always greets people with a warm smile, and the other staff members are always very friendly and helpful. Definitely worth a visit while in Jackson!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We visited daily for friendly service, excellent cappuccinos, and great lunches. We also found a delicious blueberry cheesecake that was a big hit at a family gathering. Conveniently located in the center of Jackson with plenty of parking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 41378Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Country Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing