We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!”

The Back Country Bakery and Cafe
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
MA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved this bakery/cafe! We tried many things on the menu, and were happy with all of them! So happy, we went back and bought a loaf of bread to take home with us. Its a great find in a small town. The owners were lovely, and all who visited seemed so friendly. The food seemed local and fresh, and full of good healthy but yummy options. We have a family of five with one vegetarian, and often its hard to please all. This did it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Welcoming and cozy little spot”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were here last year and came back this visit to find it was just as good as we remembered. This little cafe and bakery offers home baking goodies and lunch sandwiches served on bagels or English muffins. They offer a variety of coffees, teas, lattes and smoothies too. There is free wifi too. We were greeted warmly as we entered the cafe and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the day as we ate our cinnamon roll. A definite must on our lunch spots.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K.C.NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and welcoming service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopped here for lunch and the menu has something for everyone . Even the fussiest of eaters and vegetarians ! The hungarian mushroom soup was excellent and the river wrap was flavoursome . Would definitely go back .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliem484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Hoped it Would Be”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My vegan niece and I went in for lunch. Nice staff - quick, fresh sandwiches and soups. Delicious. I ordered a turkey sandwich - the home-made bread was awesome. My niece enjoyed a bowl of soup with an Italian soda. The artwork on the walls were professionally framed/hung, and added a great backdrop as we waited. I liked the nook of books, maps and gifts. I will definitely make this a regular stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best for a quick bite!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I work close to the Backcountry..so i always sneak over there for an iced latte and my favorite sandwich! (Try the Peak... sooo good!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lala_linds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Country Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing