We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts and Great Place to Stay”
Review of RiverWood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RiverWood Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts and Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently spent 7 nights at the inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn has been restored over the last two years and is tastefully appointed in the guest rooms and common areas.The beds and bedding were outstandingly comfortable. From the first day, we came to look forward to breakfast, as Susan & James displayed their experience and creativity in preparing everything from delicious omelets to wonderfully light pancakes with bourbon soaked currants! We always had fresh fruits, delightful parfaits, afternoon cookies, and local ingredients such as the yummy maple syrup and jams. Our hosts were very knowledgeable and helpful in locating the best places to cross country ski, eat and shop. The Inn is located close to restaurants, cafes and the Library, so walking, biking or skiing from the Inn makes it possible to leave the car parked. This is a place worth many return trips and we look forward to exploring the area in other seasons.

Room Tip: Upper floor has more space and a frig in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41378Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, Owner at RiverWood Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was such a pleasure having you with us.

Take care,
Susan and James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Riverwood Inn is stunning with remarkable attention to detail. The rooms, common areas (fireplace, luxury and peaceful sitting areas and settings), and view are all beautiful. The hosts, James and Susan, went out of their way to make sure our stay was unforgettable and were always ready to offer a glass of wine, restaurant recommendation or cross-country skiing trail. The French style breakfasts were far superior to the usual B&B offerings. Looking forward to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 10 nights at the inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

As everyone else has said, the accommodation is very well appointed and the beds are huge and comfortable.

Every breakfast was a delight and Susan & James made every guest feel welcome. We were there for a skiing trip and it was a nice surprise to discover that not only do they know the area well, they were able to offer discounted tickets.

We'd have no hesitation recrecommending the Inn to anyone.

We'd have no hesitation recrecommending the Inn to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jpsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our new home away from home!

What a treat for my wife's birthday. We were welcomed with open arms, treated to special snacks, an given space to hide out between XC skiing ventures. Tickets for skiing were right there, we could ski right onto the trails and enjoy the convenience. Local pubs were delightful and within walking distance.

If you would like that wonderful idyllic retreat in the midst of Winter, this is it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This will be an effusive review. We love lot of old inns and B&Bs, but Riverwood is our new favorite. The bed was glorious - a huge 4 poster king - and so magically comfortable. The room was lovely and tasteful with a large arched opening to an adjacent space with a window seat and claw-foot tub which we enjoyed. The house is a perfect blend of antique, homey, elegant and comfortable with fabulous artwork and beautiful interiors (as you'd expect from an architect host.) And the new addition with is soaring cathedral ceiling and expansive windows on all sides is about as beautiful as the breakfasts are delicious - not your average good breakfast but a blend of traditional and creative/gourmet! individual french press coffee is a personal touch too. We used the ski shed to store and wax our skis, and then hopped right on the groomed trails by the door that directly connect to literally miles and miles of excellent beautiful trails managed by Jackson XC Center. James can provide ski passes at at discount too! Can recommend this inn more earnestly!

Room Tip: Room 5 has the claw foot tub and views out to the mountains, but all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying with James and Susan at their elegant yet cozy Inn in Jackson last winter. James and Susan are gracious hosts, they did everything to accommodate our time there, from discount ski tickets to delicious breakfasts. We spent both nights lounging by their fireplace and felt pampered in every way. This Inn has great local character.

This year we are returning for more!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for a night in January and had a really nice stay. The house is beautiful and the interior tastefully decorated. Rooms were clean and cozy and the bed was comfy with plenty of pillows and new linens. Breakfast was absolutely delicious (and the hosts so friendly!), and we also appreciated the cookies and other goodies for noshing in the afternoon. Love this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverWood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverWood Inn

Property: RiverWood Inn
Address: 49 Main Street, PO Box 149, Jackson, NH 03846 (Formerly Village House)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RiverWood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the White Mountains, just across the covered bridge in Jackson Village, you'll find RiverWood Inn - Jackson's newest old inn. With over 130 years of history, and after six months of renovations we are pleased to offer you a lodging experience of understated elegance. RiverWood is a Bed and Breakfast Inn located on over five acres of tended lawns, wild fields, and rolling woodlands. Shaded pathways lead to our private Wildcat River frontage, complete with a natural pebble beach, swimming hole and trout-filled riffles. Please come and stay with us, relax, and enjoy New England hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your RiverWood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing