We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely setting”
Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire, england
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
Reviewed August 20, 2006

The Carter Notch Inn provides an excellent all round service. Rooms are larger than average. Ours was a beautiful room, clean and well presented.

There is a lovely garden, plenty of off-road car parking, and lots of attention to detail. Hosts Sally and Dick do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one.

If you like animals, you'll love it here! The latest attraction is the beaver pond just five minutes' walk away.

Helpful?
11 Thank oldvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
348
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Having hit the big "Five-O" this year, my two long-time girlfriends and I decided to celebrate with a trip to the White Mountains. On a recommendation from a local, we selected Carter Notch Inn for our stay.

Sally and Dick, the delightful hosts for our four-night stay, provided much-needed pampering that started off every morning with the type of breakfast that has you asking for the recipe and ended with a glass of wine and a spell in the hot tub beneath the starry sky.

I particularly enjoyed the setting--off the beaten path but close enough to good restaurants and good shopping (outlet stores). When we weren't enjoying good food and the relaxed atmosphere of the Inn, we found ourselves hiking on one of many trails in the surrounding area.

Staying at Carter Notch Inn and spending time in the White Mountain area inspired us to make all sorts of resolutions for a better life, starting with resolving to visit this place again!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank TooMuchJello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

My husband and I selected the inn due to its number one rating on this website. It lived up to its rating.
We arrived to a warm welcome from Dick and Sally and a wag from Henry. Sally showed us to our room (room 6) which included a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub for two. The room was welcoming and immaculately clean.
The breakfast was wonderful and Dick and Sally were very helpful on things to do.
We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts throughout the United States and this is one of the best. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The friendliness
  • Disliked — N?A
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

The stay at Carter Notch Inn has been my best experience ever at getting a "home sweet home" feeling, outside from home.
Everything from the way you are received by the really dedicated managers couple, to the whole place interior design, to the incredible home made breakfasts and the cosy bedrooms makes you feel better then most of us have it at home (for the service /nice touch factor!)
Without being overpriced or over fancy, this home is exactly like a home shoud be: kids room decoration for kids, local events w/ local pictures, nice balconny to watch the green and the mountains, outstanding porch with respective hanging bench just perfect for a beer out at night with the friends. In front of the porch you have this magnificent Golf greens and beautiful mountains in the horizont, overlapping in layers of blue and gray.

Now a very special factor about the Inn is not the Inn, it is the owners/managers...
You can tell the Carters do this for the ultimatereason: they were both professionals in the UK, tired of the multinational business rat race and decided to grab their possessions and live the dream of inhabiting in such a place, performing such a serving mission.
They succeeded!

If you have plans to visit this area and are looking for a special place to stay, which is comfortable, and really has that home feeling, consider this place. Just be sure to NOT make the mistake of booking on the Carter Hotel (?) next door, because business there is bulk style and these comments not applicable.

We had 8 guys from Germany + Portugal staying over for 2 nights and we all had an excellent opinion about the luck we had staying at the Carter Notch Inn, for some $140/double room w/ outstanding breakfast and beers and nachos at night included!...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jomilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, england
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2006

The Carter Notch Inn is simply wonderful - the location is perfect, set amongst such breathtaking scenery you could just sit there and gaze at it forever. The Inn is really spacious and wonderfully laid out with a large garden, hot tub and outside decks on two sides so you can sit in or out of the sun as you wish. There is a large comfortable sitting room and stacks of dvds to watch if you have the time. They offer complimentary drinks to which you can help yourself and in the same room there is a free internet facility.
The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are outstanding - too much for us to manage and we usually ended up taking some delicious home-made cake away for our lunch. Sally and Dick are the perfect hosts - so friendly we felt as if we had known them forever.
The sightseeing in the area is wonderful - mountains, waterfalls, rivers, national parks. And then... back to the Inn to unwind.
I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed this Inn but suffice to say - it is highly recommended and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank janice-g-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

We stayed at the Carter Notch Inn in early May and although the weather was not good, the inn could not have been better. Our innkeepers, Sally and Dick, are welcoming and kind people who made us feel right at home - even if we were the only two at the inn during our stay! During our stay we visited many inns that friends were staying in, and I must say Carter Notch was far and above the best in the area. The inn was absolutely spotless, decorated beautifully and had every touch of home you could want. The gas fireplace was a perfect touch to warm up the cool rainy days. And the food, how delicious! We had apricot stuffed french toast that I will always remember, and scones (real scones, as Sally & Dick are from the UK!). YUM! This place is not to be missed, nor is the town of Jackson. A welcoming town with great people, excellent scenery, and a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, no matter what time of year it is.

Helpful?
8 Thank jennysny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusets
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

I just discovered this site and need to respond to the ONLY negative review posted. We have stayed at the Carter Notch Inn at least five times, and I agree completely with all of the praise bestowed upon this lovely bed and breakfast and its friendly innkeepers, Sally and Dick. I think we were guests when the group of eight was visiting, and I was most impressed with how Dick and Sally not only made my husband and me feel welcome, but how they accommodated the needs of the group. They helped the group set up a slide show in their beautiful diniing room and joined them to view their slides, occasionally checking in with other guests reading and chatting by the fire. (We also visited a little with individuals of the group and felt no friction.) And if noise is discouraged after 11 PM, hooray! I prefer to sleep, arise to eat their delicious and ample breakfast that fuels an entire day of cross-country skiing, hit the beautiful trails, and return to afternoon tea and baked goods by the fire. That's perfection! The setting is classic New England, the house is comfortable and charming, and the innkeepers are most helpful, reasonable, friendly, and warm. We look forward to our return!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank Jamie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 11 in Jackson
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Property: Carter Notch Inn
Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carter Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing