We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm, welcoming Inn with a view to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A warm, welcoming Inn with a view to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed and several Inns and Hotels in Jackson over the past thirty years, and i think we have found the perfect one for us at The Carter Notch Inn. British innkeepers Dick and Sally were most gracious welcoming us more as friends than simply guests, and we soon realized why the other people staying at the Inn were all repeat visitors, and they, also, were most cordial and friendly. The Inn was immaculate, and our room was lovely, with a view of the golf course and cross- country trails right across the street. The gas fireplace was a wonderful feature. Coffee, tea and other beverages were available in the afternoon and into the evening, and we were also welcomed by the resident Old English Sheep dog, Dudley, and a most affectionate one- eyed cat, Lulu, who chose my lap to cuddle down in as I read in front of the fire in the living room. Breakfasts were bountiful and delicious, and I must mention Dick's colorful collection of aprons - conversation pieces indeed. All in all, a wonderful experience, and a jolly good value to boot. We will return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
338
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Sally and Dick (and Dudley) are the perfect hosts at their lovely inn. Everything is clean and well-kept, all rooms are comfortably appointed and each is unique, and breakfast was fabulous (apricot-stuffed French toast!). As frequent Jackson guests we're already sold on the area attractions, but easy access to XC trails and discounted trail passes made our stay even better. It's easy to describe the experience here: warm, charming, hospitable... perfect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CKWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

All I can do is agree with the previous reviewers. Comfortable, friendly, lovely hosts, and unlike some B&Bs, very quiet rooms. Although we were there with many others, we never heard them unless we were downstairs socializing. And if you have never seen a sheepdog in a snowsuit, this is definitely your opportunity. The nordic skiing out the door isn't too shabby, either!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Inn for two nights on our trip around New England. Dick and Sally were the perfect hosts, not forgetting Dudley the dog too! They were very friendly and informative, they helped us get the most out of our stay in stunning New Hampshire. It was a great base to explore the amazing sights the area has to offer. The breakfasts were delicious too, we particularly loved Sally's banana loaf, which I'm yet to perfect! We also enjoyed a sit on the porch taking in the beautiful views. The Inn is very homely, we would love to return one day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the best B&B in The White Mountains. I have stayed at The Carter Notch many times with family, friends and on my own, and each experience has been great. Dick and Sally are friendly, attentive and charming. They are very knowledgeable about what to do and where to eat in the area. The rooms are nicely decorated, very comfortable and very reasonably priced. The real fireplace is usually ablaze and the breakfasts will satisfy all discerning palates. The inn is situated just outside of the Jackson downtown area which is a plus, and offers excellent views from the porch and many of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelL255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be invited to stay at this incredible B&B in the White Mountains and it was an unforgettable experience from the moment I walked in the door. Dick and Sally go above and beyond making you feel immediately welcome and that your entire stay is enjoyable and relaxing. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was incredible (and indulgent!), and the grounds well maintained. The views from the B&B are great and its close to hiking and nearby towns for an afternoon of exploring. There are several nearby restaurants with excellent dining options. Overall I couldn't have been happier with the weekend and hospitality. If you are deciding on a place to stay in the White Mountains, look no further!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a gorgeous bed and breakfast with a very welcoming feel. Sally and Dick are friendly and relaxed hosts and very keen to make sure you get the most out of your stay whatever your interests may be. We stayed in one of the top floor rooms which was small but very comfortable. The breakfasts are great - if not a bit indulgent! There are scrumptious afternoon snacks and the choice of an alcoholic beverage is a nice touch. The communal area is very inviting, with the roaring fire and comfy sofas - you could easily nod off there with a good book or while just hanging out with the Old English Dudley. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie-m-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Property: Carter Notch Inn
Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carter Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing