We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless”
Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 glorious days at Carter Notch about a week ago. I won't go over the items on my checklist that are nonnegotiable, cleanliness, comfort, reasonably priced, fantastic breakfast, and so on..because on all of those they score an A+ easy. Where they shine, the owners, Dick and Sally, is in their ability to check you into their Inn as a stranger and check you out feeling like an old friend. You can't fake that, you are either born with that ability or not and those two were equally blessed. This place is a "not miss" in my opinion and Room 6 was by far the best room we encountered on our recent 10 day New England B and B tour. Book this place, you won't be disappointed! We'll be back for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ERYWCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 524 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

fabulous inn and made great new friends. Dudley, the OES was so amazing we went and got our own. great choice of places to go, things to do and restaurants to try. The inn keepers make the stay a great one. The inn is immaculate and comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Sally, Dick and especially Dudley have created something special in Jackson. Exceptional accommodation with all the comforts of home on tap yet in a tranquil wilderness that leaves one breathless with awe and utterly relaxed and revived. A stay at Carter Notch Inn should be on everyone's bucket list and especially in the Fall.

Bed and breakfast, excellent though they are, barely scratches the surface of what is on offer. Hot tub, jacuzzi baths, a comprehensive film library and extensive local knowledge of sights and tourist trails make this a perfect destination.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bedonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Once again we arrived in Jackson to be greeted by Dudley, Dick, Sally and LuLu, with open arms (or paws) and bright smiles. Room 6 was as comfortable and inviting as ever and the foliage was amazing right there on the property and the surrounding valley. What more can I say that hasn't been said? The Carter Notch Inn is always comfortably appointed, always filled with charm and personality, always provides a delicious and nourishing breakfast, always offers the hospitality expected by travelers, always represents the quintessential New England experience.
Our visits are always refreshing and rejuvenating. This is our country escape... whenever we need it.
Kudos for the consistently satisfying service year after year !

Room Tip: We enjoy the privacy and space in room 6, with fireplace, porch, views of the yard and mountains, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Better because we do nothing but be there and enjoy our hosts, their wonderful pets, the other guests, with whom we always feel a connection, the splendid location, the comfortable front porch, the living room with a fireplace, the fire place in our bedroom, the wonderful breakfasts. And did I already mention our gracious, and friendly, and welcoming hosts? We've already made our reservations for 2014.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben050938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everything you'd expect from an American B an B, with a healthy dose of British humour.

A stunning setting, comfy room with plenty of nice touches and friendly, knowledgeable hosts who are happy to share tips on what to see and do in the area.

Can't fault a single thing about our stay and would certainly return!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Great to see Dick and Sally again, great hosts as ever and lovely to meet Dudley. We took our friends for their first visit and they loved the place. You are made to feel welcome from the minute you arrive to when you leave. Nothing is too much trouble including when I was ill and Sally doing me something different for breakfast. Nice touches like DVDs to borrow, chocolates and even a wine or beer, there is also tea (with boiling water and English tea bags) and cookies. We stayed in room 6 and whilst it is more expensive its great having the balcony and big bath. Only thing to be aware of with this room is you get to hear the conversation of those in the jacuzzi (can be quite entertaining) but luckily they are asked to vacate it by 10pm otherwise it could be noisy. We will definitely return its a very special place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $122 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carter Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing