We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat on a Friday night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Ranked #8 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat on a Friday night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the inn but walked over to eat on the recommendation of a friend. We chose to eat in the tavern, rather than the dining room. On Fridays they have an all-you-can-eat fish fry, so of course we had to try that. We sat near the bar but were soon overrun by a wedding party and had to switch to another table. The staff was excellent and worked hard to keep up with us after we moved tables and to make sure we were helped. The fish was very generously sized and tasted excellent. The live music was not too loud and we were able to have a conversation with the couple next to us. We enjoyed our experience fully!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PattiS108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    74
    19
    13
    14
See reviews for
21
112
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our first impressions were good - lovely large warm room in characterful building . We quickly discovered though that not everything worked. The thermostat in the room needed a new battery (which was supplied when we pointed it out) and the sink in the bathroom did not drain away for ages. We stayed for two nights and the only "cleaning" which was done was straightening of the towels and bed (when she came in to change the battery). The toilet and sink were not cleaned. We only saw one member of staff (the owner) apart from the in the restaurant (which was much better). This was one of our more expensive hotels on our trip and definitely not good value. Good location in the centre of Jackson, a charming ski village.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I read mixed review on this place but decided to stay anyway.

My husband and I went for our anniversary and stayed in Inn Suite #9. The room was great! I was amazed at how large the sitting area was and the bedroom was fine as well. There is a closet in the room to store your luggage or whatever you need. The bathroom was a bit awkward and small. There isn't any room or shelving to put your things. We just kept ours on the bureau outside, until we were ready to use our things. The shower was fine and everything was clean throughout.

The inn is a beautiful place. The gardens and dining & tavern rooms are nice as well. No, it's not some upscale spa, just a nice comfortable inn. If you are looking for the perfect bathroom, stay at the Marriott!

I read that the staff wasn't friendly. We found the complete opposite. We were offered help bringing in our things several times by several employees. Amber couldn't have been nicer! We asked for directions to the falls and she took us outside, showed us the way, gave some other tips on things to do in the area. She was great! I don't remember the other staff member's name but we had her as our waitress and then saw her cleaning rooms. She was fantastic as well.

The tavern was amazing!! It's a cute place with a great selection of beers, wines and alcohol. Jim, the bartender, was as nice as could be even though he was busy. I'm disappointed we weren't able to stay for the band because I heard they were fantastic. We were just too tired and full.

As for dinner at the inn, you can order off the same menu in either the dining room or tavern. We chose the inn as the tavern was noisy when we got there, as it should be! Our dinner was great! My husband had the salmon and I had steak tips. I got enough rice for 3 people with my dinner. The one thing I have to recommend is the lobster and sweet corn quesadilla. Oh my, it was one of the most delicious things I have had in a long time!!

We would definitely stay again at the Wildcat Inn and Tavern!

Room Tip: There wasn't a lot of street noise, but If noise bothers you, ask for a room on the back side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Try to avoid this room at all costs!
Free WiFi (just doesn't reach the room)
You need to ask to have your room cleaned!
My phone has a bigger screen than the TV in the room which barely worked.
Checked in on Fri & left on Sun, never saw one employee of the Inn

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djboston2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Mids UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this characterful inn, it wasn't too busy although it was the fall season. It looks like it will really jump at a week end in the ski season. Bear this in mind if you want a quiet room and ask for a room away from the bar.

It is an old building and everything creaks and groans, the room was old and a bit tired, the floor boards around the radiators had suffered from a longstanding leak and needed attention,but it is clean and tidy. We had a small suite that was comfortable and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The bar food was good and the ambience in the bar fine.

The fact that breakfast wasn't included was disappointing and this made for a relatively expensive stay, although a Danish and orange juice were available to guests in the morning. The Yesterday's cafe next door was good for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Wildcat is a lively inn with really very friendly staff. It's perfectly comfortable and brilliant for food & drink in the evenings. Breakfast at Yesterdays up the road was great. It's in the ideal location for getting into the White Mountains National Park. We enjoyed our two-night stay and would definitely recommend it for a leaf-peeping trip. I'm sure it's fabulous in the winter for apres-ski.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Wildcat Inn in August. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. We felt taken care of as well as felt comfortable and at home right away. The Inn is old, that should be expected from looking at the website, but that is the charm. However, it was very clean and cozy for the cost. The only downside we found were the bathrooms, they needed some updating. Poor shower pressure and outdated fixtures. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience. The FOOD, oh the restaurant experience was fantastic! We ventured out to other places in the area but kept returning to the inn for the fantastic food, dinner specials, great wine and beer selection and friendly and accommodating staff. What won me over, was the fresh made dinner rolls and homemade butter. The lobster roll the day after the twin lobster special was THE BEST lobster roll I have had, and I have had many being from Boston. Bottom line, I would stay there again, and most definitely recommend to anyone dining in the area, for a nice romantic meal or a fun time with live music and great drinks in The Tavern.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.5 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.2 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildcat Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Property: Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Address: Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildcat Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildcat Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Inn And Tavern
Wildcat Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing