We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Cost, Casual and Good Quality - GREAT FOOD!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Ranked #8 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Low Cost, Casual and Good Quality - GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Wildcat Inn in August. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. We felt taken care of as well as felt comfortable and at home right away. The Inn is old, that should be expected from looking at the website, but that is the charm. However, it was very clean and cozy for the cost. The only downside we found were the bathrooms, they needed some updating. Poor shower pressure and outdated fixtures. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience. The FOOD, oh the restaurant experience was fantastic! We ventured out to other places in the area but kept returning to the inn for the fantastic food, dinner specials, great wine and beer selection and friendly and accommodating staff. What won me over, was the fresh made dinner rolls and homemade butter. The lobster roll the day after the twin lobster special was THE BEST lobster roll I have had, and I have had many being from Boston. Bottom line, I would stay there again, and most definitely recommend to anyone dining in the area, for a nice romantic meal or a fun time with live music and great drinks in The Tavern.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
21
117
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at the Wildcat Inn during a work trip. The staff was very welcoming and made sure I had everything I needed. The room was exactly what I needed-nothing overly fancy but comfortable. The bed was comfortable too. I was on the third floor and it was very quiet. An A/C unit cooled the room to the perfect temperature so I got a good night's sleep.

What I liked about this inn was the country charm and atmosphere. I can only imagine how cozy it would be during the winter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Wildcat Inn. Contrary to some comments on Tripadvisor we found the service to be very friendly and good. The room was already made, when we came back from breakfast. They try to keep the atmosphere in the rooms like it was during the 1940s, therefore it looked somehow like a museum, however, we enjoyed it very much. Negative was, that they don't serve a real breakfast. Only coffee, juice and some cakes were avaiable, but these were free. We stayed on the 3rd floor, and there the WIFI was too weak. We also enjoyed the dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reblaeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really loved Jackson and the Wildcat Inn was a great place to stay with only one but... The bed in room 11 needs a new mattress. However even this couldn't detract from a lovely room in a stunning location, friendly staff, GREAT live music on the Tuesday night and a place we'd definitely go back to given 1/2 a chance.
The Jackson Falls, about a 10 min walk up the road are definitely worth a trip, take your costume and enjoy a swim in crystal clear water or a book and sit on the rocks and read...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandPUSAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went there and played to stay two nights in the mid-May because a close family member gave us gift certificates as Xmas presents. The house was awfully old. We stayed in the inn suite since we were traveling with our 4 year old son and the loveseat in the small living room was supposed to be able to turn into a twin bed. The mattress of the queen bed was lumpy, squeaky, and lack of support; the pull-out twin bed was a very uneven 1-inch thick mattress with no support at all. The water was not warm enough for a comfortable show that evening. Dog hair are on the couch and loveseat. We even encountered a dog tick while we were waiting to be served in the dining room. (It was crawling on my hand.) We decided to check out the second day but they charged us for the second night anyway, citing their policy of "any cancellation must be made 8 days in advance".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerLily599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to see the 4th fireworks, small quant inn, friendly bar. Have stayed a few times over the years. This anniversary weekend was wonderful, quiet place to stay Great place to see the 4th fireworks, small quant inn, friendly bar. Have stayed a few times over the years. This anniversary weekend was wonderful, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

ANother overnight stay in our 2 week fly drive around New ENgland led us to the Wildcat Inn and once again we chanced our arm and just drove up in the evening to see if they had any rooms available.

Being a MOnday night we were fairly confident and having been shown the room we were happy before being told that the entire lounge area was for us as well because there wasn't anyone else in the rooms above the bar. Apparently it does get very loud in these rooms when music is on in the bar so that is worth bearing in mind, but being a Monday this wasn't a problem on our stay.

The room we had (and lounge) were in a hunting lodge style which we really liked and aside from the bed being a little smaller than other places we stayed in, it was perfect, and all for $59!

WE also ate in the Tavern which was good enough for us and we'd happily stop at the Wildcat again.

Room Tip: It's worth bearing in mind that the rooms above the bar area do get very noisy when live music i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
10.0 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,460 reviews
9.4 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
14.7 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildcat Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Property: Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Address: Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildcat Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildcat Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Inn And Tavern
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing