We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting atmosphere for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Ranked #8 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Freiburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting atmosphere for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Wildcat Inn. Contrary to some comments on Tripadvisor we found the service to be very friendly and good. The room was already made, when we came back from breakfast. They try to keep the atmosphere in the rooms like it was during the 1940s, therefore it looked somehow like a museum, however, we enjoyed it very much. Negative was, that they don't serve a real breakfast. Only coffee, juice and some cakes were avaiable, but these were free. We stayed on the 3rd floor, and there the WIFI was too weak. We also enjoyed the dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reblaeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    74
    19
    13
    14
See reviews for
21
112
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really loved Jackson and the Wildcat Inn was a great place to stay with only one but... The bed in room 11 needs a new mattress. However even this couldn't detract from a lovely room in a stunning location, friendly staff, GREAT live music on the Tuesday night and a place we'd definitely go back to given 1/2 a chance.
The Jackson Falls, about a 10 min walk up the road are definitely worth a trip, take your costume and enjoy a swim in crystal clear water or a book and sit on the rocks and read...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandPUSAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went there and played to stay two nights in the mid-May because a close family member gave us gift certificates as Xmas presents. The house was awfully old. We stayed in the inn suite since we were traveling with our 4 year old son and the loveseat in the small living room was supposed to be able to turn into a twin bed. The mattress of the queen bed was lumpy, squeaky, and lack of support; the pull-out twin bed was a very uneven 1-inch thick mattress with no support at all. The water was not warm enough for a comfortable show that evening. Dog hair are on the couch and loveseat. We even encountered a dog tick while we were waiting to be served in the dining room. (It was crawling on my hand.) We decided to check out the second day but they charged us for the second night anyway, citing their policy of "any cancellation must be made 8 days in advance".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerLily599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to see the 4th fireworks, small quant inn, friendly bar. Have stayed a few times over the years. This anniversary weekend was wonderful, quiet place to stay Great place to see the 4th fireworks, small quant inn, friendly bar. Have stayed a few times over the years. This anniversary weekend was wonderful, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

ANother overnight stay in our 2 week fly drive around New ENgland led us to the Wildcat Inn and once again we chanced our arm and just drove up in the evening to see if they had any rooms available.

Being a MOnday night we were fairly confident and having been shown the room we were happy before being told that the entire lounge area was for us as well because there wasn't anyone else in the rooms above the bar. Apparently it does get very loud in these rooms when music is on in the bar so that is worth bearing in mind, but being a Monday this wasn't a problem on our stay.

The room we had (and lounge) were in a hunting lodge style which we really liked and aside from the bed being a little smaller than other places we stayed in, it was perfect, and all for $59!

WE also ate in the Tavern which was good enough for us and we'd happily stop at the Wildcat again.

Room Tip: It's worth bearing in mind that the rooms above the bar area do get very noisy when live music i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, cosy, country inn with great food, friendly accommodating staff and terrific entertainment from local artists, this is the place for you. Stu and his staff were fabulous at taking care of all our needs. Looking forward to our next visit! Also very close to shopping and other good restaurants. Thanks for an enjoyable stay :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing back garden might be a little quieter the ones facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waverleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very clean, dinner is fabulous and staff can't do enough for you. This is our third visit and we will be back. Make sure you take in Tuesday "Hootnite " with open mike music and friendly locals.
Our cosy little Inn with great shopping, restaurants and hiking close by.
Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumsquall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.5 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.2 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildcat Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Property: Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Address: Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildcat Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildcat Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Inn And Tavern
Wildcat Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing