We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Grub Yum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Ranked #8 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
289 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pub Grub Yum”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A lunch stop on the 11th to watch the Pats did not disappoint for our 1st visit. Though the tavern was slammed, it was worth the wait. My burger and fries were done just right and my wife’s turkey sandwich was a hit. The area is beautiful and the tavern is a nice place to relax while watching the game.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    74
    19
    13
    14
See reviews for
21
112
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ate here and the food was terrible, some of the worst I have eaten anyplace. The meat was rancid and cold. I had my wait person reheat the food and return it, it was still barely warm. The staff did not follow up on how everything was. Our water had run out and was never refilled once. We ordered dessert with milk and the milk was brought in a regular size glass filled only half full. The waiter said she would fill it more if we wanted, but again never came by to see if we wanted more. We were charged full price on the milk. Upon calling the restuarant, we spoke with a woman who seemed apologetic about our experience. If the restaurant hadn't been so heavily priced, it would not have mattered very much, but for the poor quality of the items, we felt ripped off. The woman we spoke to said she would be speaking with the owner about our request of getting a refund. It has now been 4 weeks and no one has called us back as was promised. We have now sent them another email and we will see if someone calls us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Linda, our bartender/server was great! Service was quick and friendly and the bar had a great atmosphere. Fantastic buffalo wings and blue cheese dressing! Great place to swing by to grab a beer, a bite to eat, and watch a game on tv.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clynnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to just take a ride and thought lets bring a change of clothes just in case we decide we have driven to long or far and want to stay wherever we end up. Well that trip brought us to Jackson New Hampshire. While driving for a bit and checking hotels while exploring Mount Washington we can upon the Wildcat Inn. At first we though oh this cant be great if its over an tavern, but to our wonderful amazement were these beautiful turn of the century mini suites ( sitting room and close but seperate bedroom) with bathrooms (no sharing for this girl). What an amazing time we had and the dinner was very much a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed this so much we are planning on another visit in November. I so think anyone would appreciate their stay at the Wildcat Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice, there is a main road through town that can be a bit loud on a week day so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I, together with another couple, had dinner at the Wildcat Inn & Tavern on Sept 27.

We were seated quickly, and our server came over to give us our menus, and tell us the specials. He then quickly walked away without asking us if we wanted any drinks to start off the dinner. He then came back several minutes later, to ask us if we were ready to order, and we replied that we would like some drinks first. At this point we were hungry, so we ordered our drinks together with our meals.

I ordered gazpacho, and beef stew, my wife a salad and the lamb, and the other couple, the lamb. The food was excellent, but our drinks arrived at the same time as our meal, and we had to wait several times, to have our water refilled, or ask for addition food.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Wildcat Inn, with the caveat that I hope the problem with the server was a one-time issue

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped off at the Wildcat Inn, planning to stay for 1 night and ended up staying for 5! The friendly staff, excellent bar and food menu and lovely room made us feel right at home. The food was excellent and they were able to accommodate special dietary requirements with no problem. The bar was extensive, with speciality beers and a large cocktail list, made expertly by the bar tender. For cider lovers, they also serve the delicious 'Angry Orchard' hard cider. Tuesday was hoot night, where locals come for an open mic night, and there were some great performances, and a lively atmosphere. The Inn is situated perfectly for visitIng the surrounding mountain region and will definitely return here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marknkate76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Up in Gorham, NH camping and hiking on the App Trail. Went to the Library and looked for a room there got jerked over by the Northern Peaks Motor Inn. Showed up and the owner said there was no reservation. Contacted the Wildcat, confirmed the internet reservation. Made the 30 minute drive and found the suite a bargain, clean and the staff ell trained and accomodating. Up on the 3rd floor. The Tavern had great food, saw it and spoke with patrons. Ate elsewhere as it got crowded. Very nice stay.

Room Tip: Room 9, third floor was a 2 room suite for short money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
10.0 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
10.0 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
10.1 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
9.8 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildcat Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Property: Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Address: Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildcat Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildcat Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Inn And Tavern
Wildcat Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing