We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer vacation with 10 family members.”
Review of Whitney's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitney's Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
“Great summer vacation with 10 family members.”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed Sunday - Thursday in one of the 2 bedroom cottages. It was clean and pet friendly. It needed some new windows and an air conditioner in the bedroom (there was only one in the living room). It would have also been nice to have a sink in the kithenette. My 2 kids loved their room with 2 twin beds, the fishing area/playground across the street and the swimming pool. It was a great location to go to Storyland, Santa's village and Clark's trading post. My family members stayed in the family suites on the other side of the Inn and they liked their rooms too. The breakfast was good although service was only at 9am and everyone shows up at once. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofFour098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    52
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
101
93
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend and 4 other couples. The rooms were great, very spacious! We all enjoyed playing games together in the small "living room" downstairs with our complimentary bottles of wine and cheese/crackers. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant/pub next door had great food (though there was a long wait and very crowded). We will definitely be back next year!!

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank heatherhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband (wow, still getting used to saying that!) and I are just returning from our wedding weekend at the Inn and we had THE BEST experience! I cannot thank the staff enough for how well were treated! Thanks to them and their contacts with local vendors, planning was a breeze and everything went off without a hitch! Our guests raved about the food and the unbelievable atmosphere at the Shovel Handle Pub. Whitney's Inn rocks! WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyBMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We had our wedding up here in June. Everyone will ask you how you found the place, but will leave saying that your wedding was relaxing and the best they ever attended. Our whole experience up at Whitney's was incredible. Everybody there treated us great. The whole staff was fun and willing to help with anything. Don, Susan, Michelle, Sheamus and the whole bar staff are a great group of people. All you need is a great DJ and a good group of people and your wedding will be one to remember forever. The food was TOP SHELF!!! Sheamus is a fantastic cook. Everything cooked there is fresh (nothing frozen) and cooked with pride. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had. If you're looking for a wedding venue for 120 people or less, something cost friendly with first class feel this is the place NO DOUBT! They have something to do for everybody. We have a 5 year old that hasn't stopped talking about her time there. Very close to Story land. Just one negative, we had to leave to go on our honeymoon. THANK YOU AGAIN TO THE WHOLE WHITNEY"S STAFF!! We'll be talking about this for years. We will definately be back

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluffer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We went to Jackson to go cross Country Skiing for the weekend.The Whitney Inn was great.The breakfast was included and it was excellent.The service was top notch-especially Susan the the assistant inn keeper.The chocolate peanut butter balls are to die for after a hard day of skiing.Don the innkeeper was very helpful with giving us suggestions of where to eat.We ate at the White Mountain Cider Company.It is owned and run by a husband and wife that attended the CIA.The food was top notch.We had lunch at J-Town Deli which is right across from the Jackson Cross Country Ski Center.Excellent homemade soups and sandwhiches.We went toNestle Brook farm for ice skating and a night time sleigh ride -very romantic.We liked the inn so much we are going back several times for next season skiing season.The bar next door is a renovated barn which has entertainment and food after skiing all day.Alpine skiing is next door to the inn and the inn offers discount tickets for both alpine and nordic skiing.The rooms are comfortable and inn wonderfully decorated

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exhossvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

A hidden gem in Jackson. Great skiing right outside the door. Beautifully redone rooms made this experience far superior to our last visit. Try The Whitney again if you have been disappointed in the past. Great breakfast. Good casual dining at the Shovel handle pub. The Innkeeper Don is fantastic. Even came and drove us back during a snow storm when we could not get our car up the mountain. Relaxing family vacation. We'll return again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelvoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2009

The room (1 of two pet-friendly rooms) was very cozy. The included breakfast was delicious. The location was beautiful. The staff courteous and helpful. And to top it all, they were able to produce a tasteful bouquet of flowers which was waiting for my wife upon our arrival... even though I gave them less than 6 hours heads up.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewaterdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
1.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.1 mi away
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
15.0 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitney's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitney's Inn

Property: Whitney's Inn
Address: 357 Black Mountain Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4200
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitney's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitney's Inn offers world-class lodging with New England charm. Our warm lounge and flowers in our check-in area will greet you upon your arrival. There are rooms for everyone...if you need a suite, a romantic inn room with a gas log fireplace, or a mountainside cottage with a fireplace, you will find a room at Whitney's. The inn is minutes to Storyland, golf, shopping, Mt Washington and located at the Base of Black Mountain ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Whitney's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney`s Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing