We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Venue”
Review of Whitney's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitney's Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our daughter had her wedding here. I cannot say enough to express my gratitude to the staff. Everyone from the Reception Office to the waiters were excellent. Paul was always available to answer our questions or do any task we asked. Two separate issues came up w/ rooms, a broken bed and plumbing. They were immediately addressed. Our guests, 120, raved about how good the food was.
we had the Rehearsal party event here too. at first, I was thinking " why don't we go somewhere else, we will be eating here for 3 days? It was the best choice ever. we were well taken care of. we enjoyed being able to walk to our rooms w/out driving our car. The Jackson area is scenic, too.very pleased.

Room Tip: some of the rooms had small bathrooms. stall very accurate w/ room descriptions.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmkhomeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Whitney's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 241 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

I recently had my wedding at Whitney's Inn and it was the best experience ever!! Everyone loved our wedding and this amazing place!! The food was incredible and the pub is so unique everyone loved it! The owner and staff are so accommodating, they made our stay perfect!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the cottage which is quiet and private, but I saw all the rooms and they were all nice...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclark11582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Whitney's Inn and we can't wait to get back! The Whitney's Inn was always completely booked when we were planning our trips up to NH so when we found an open room we booked it super fast.

Upon arrival we were met by the NICEST host (3 minutes to the end of check in time) ((you can call ahead for a later check-in after 9PM)) who made us feel extremely welcomed. I booked through Expedia so she just handed us our keys, told us where to go and away we went. It was the fastest check-in experience I've ever had.

The rooms are so cute! If you are looking for a lot of space to preform gymnastic acts the rooms are probably not for you. They are super cozy and perfect if you are out most of the day doing activities. Ours had a king size bed and two comfy arm chairs along with a bathroom that could only fit one person... but it's a bathroom and perfectly capable of it's job despite the size. The one thing we loved was even though the rooms were small, there is tons of room downstairs in the Inn to hang out. Along with 3 or 4 sitting rooms with fireplaces and TV's, the Shovel Handle Pub is connected to the Inn - which is great for nightcap or dinner after returning from a long day of skiing. Oh and did I mention that the Shovel Handle is probably the cutest rustic pub I've ever seen (and if you're a guy reading this I mean it's super manly and you should book the Inn, then take your wife/girlfriend there, and curl up in a blanket on a couch with drinks... it will totally make her day).

The first morning things got even better when we went downstairs for breakfast. We sat down at an empty table and were given mugs and glasses for as much coffee/tea and juice as we wanted (self serve). We were then presented with menus for breakfast. Everything is fantastic, we pretty much tried it all over our stay. And every time we ordered we had our food within 5 minutes. Talk about service! We were mortified when the couple next to us left without paying. We thought it was a total dine and dash, until we realized that the "Country Breakfast" is included in the price of your stay. This alone will make us check to see if Whitney's Inn has availability every time we plan a trip to Jackson.

The only Con we experienced was we could hear our very loud room neighbor through the walls of our room. Then again we didn't care one bit because we are staying at an "Inn". This isn't the Westin. We turned on some good old white noise at night and fell asleep like babies.

In the end, if you are looking for a very cozy, mountain lodge, feeling escape, I cannot suggest this place enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights for a wedding and we upgraded to room #19 which was pet friendly. There was no carpeting or rugs in the room and it had just snowed, so anytime anyone went into the room there were huge puddles of dirty water, which I kept wiping up with toilet paper. We paid over $200 a night for the room and we really felt like we were roughing it in an old cabin. There were hairs on the sheets and the pillows were ridiculously uncomfortable. THe windows were drafty so it was quite cool. The room was tiny and we could barely walk around. The bathroom wasn't much bigger than a phone booth and only one person could be in at a time. This room is close to the pub so we could hear the music and people were right outside the door talking quite loud when the pub closed. The walls were paper thin and you could hear everything. Anytime anyone would come into the lobby they had to go right by the door so you could hear the doors banging and people talking all times of day. The breakfast was not very healthy, the coffee was bad, there was no fruit, yogurt, or granola (only Corn Flakes & Frosted Flakes). We talked with other people who had rooms upstairs and they were not happy with their rooms either. They said they were tiny and noisy. I actually considered giving it a one star, but the location was nice.

Room Tip: Maybe in the main lodge.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and stayed here for a weekend recently and the place was very nice. Very clean. Our room was a little on the small side but really just sleeping in it so what's the difference!! Having the Shovel Handle Pub right next door was excellent, you better get a seat early because the place was packed early....great food and service will do that!! Overall had a specktacular weekend, highly recommend the adventure package, a lot of fun snowmobiling what a great deal!!!

Scott and Jodi Peck
Sbdge, ma

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Booked room on line a week before trip. Two days before we were to leave, the Inn called to say that the room was not supposed to be open as a large group had already booked for the weekend and they could be very noisy. He said the room was still ours and if we wanted to cancel they would not charge for cancellation. We decided it was to late to book somewhere else and we would take a chance that it not be to noisy..Upon arrival the Inn changed our room for a cottage which would have been more money but they wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Cottage was nice and quaint, gas fireplace, two bedrooms, small living room, and clean, and very quiet. The Inn sits at the base of Black Mt. making it very easy to walk to. Breakfast was fantastic and the service was great considering the large group that was there.. Pub was full with every table full, so food must have been very good but the music was fantastic. Overall our stay was good and would recommend this for a family getaway if your out to go skiing. Great place for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pre-cruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My fiancé and I just got back from a little getaway to Whitney's Inn and we can't say enough good things about this place. The first night we stayed in the main Inn and the second in one of the cottages just for a different experience. Both rooms were cute and cozy. We loved the fireplace so much in the cottage that we decided to sleep on the pull out couch in the living room to sleep next to the fire. The pull out couch was very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was delicious giving you several options for a full breakfast one being farm fresh eggs,bacon, and toast. We went to the shovel handle pub for dinner on Thursday night and the food and drinks were amazing. The live band was great. The staff were professional while also providing a fun atmosphere. From our waiter matt, bartender Paul to the owner don each of them went above and beyond to make sure our experience was great. The location is perfect giving you access to several little shops,restaurants, and local activities. We enjoyed our trip so much we decided to book it for our destination wedding. We can not wait for our return visit in April!!

Room Tip: Cottages are quiet ,spacious, and cozy!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
834 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 11 in Jackson
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitney's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitney's Inn

Address: 357 Black Mountain Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4200
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $106 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitney's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitney's Inn offers world-class lodging with New England charm. Our warm lounge and flowers in our check-in area will greet you upon your arrival. There are rooms for everyone...if you need a suite, a romantic inn room with a gas log fireplace, or a mountainside cottage with a fireplace, you will find a room at Whitney's. The inn is minutes to Storyland, golf, shopping, Mt Washington and located at the Base of Black Mountain ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitney's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney`s Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing