We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent deal though worth looking elsewhere....”
Review of Whitney's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whitney's Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We chase Whitneys from among a limited few places that did not have a three night minimum for Columbus Day weekend. Perhaps is was that fact that it was not on par with many other places that we were able to get in for two nights.

What we liked about Whitneys is the setting, though the views, at least from our room (25) was not stellar. Breakfast was good. The pub onsite serves a pretty good dinner which is a real plus. The folks. Running the front desk are more than accommodating. The suite itself was lacking for size and useful space, with a small bathroom that could only accommodate one person and had no counter space and bedroom that was of decent enough size but had only one small bedside table and small dresser atop which sat a small tv. The bed itself was reasonable for comfort but noisey, mattress and bed. A friendly staff that go out of their way but the inn is not memorable on the whole. Perhaps staying in the main house would have made the difference. I would recommend, just don't expect frills.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

My family and I had a really hard tine booking a room in the white mountain area on Columbus day weekend. This was pretty much the only place available to us. We were disappointed with the lodge. The bathroom was very small and old. The bed not at all comfortable. The building was not sound proof at all. I heard the people upstair's every move. There was no wifi. I think the main hotel must be better so try not to book at the lodge if you can help it. The breakfast was probably the best thing. I had an omelet and it was decent. I wish I had better things to say about this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looking4hoteldeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We attended a wedding at Whitney's Inn - The scenery and location was absolutely beautiful. Rooms were small, rustic but comfortable. The hot breakfast that came with the room was one of the best I ever had - We got to order from the menu - it included Belgian Waffles smothered in strawberries, bananas and whip cream or homemade egg omlet with delicious bacon and or sausage. I was able to access the wireless network easily and it was reasonably fast. We were able to enjoy the picnic and fire pit on Friday night - we were able to listen to the babbling brook as we talked and sang around the campfire. The attached restaurant and lounge was an excellent setting for the wedding reception.
There was even a delightful pool to enjoy in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keelerpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Just stayed at the Whitney for a wedding over Labor Day weekend and it was just lovely. It was our first trip there and we were not sure what to expect. The location is quiet (at least during the summertime). Beside Black Mt. north of Jackson, the inn is a bit off the beaten path if you are looking for summertime action but if you are looking for a quiet peaceful summer weekend, it's wonderful.

Stand outs: 1) The beds. They are so so comfortable. 2) The breakfast. Delicious even though the chef did a no-show 3) Watching the horses in the pasture while eating breakfast.

Would we go again? yes and probably during ski season

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_r_h_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We spent the weekend of August 6th, 2011 at the Whitney's Inn for my daughter's wedding. The Whitney's Inn was the perfect place to host the wedding! We were looking for a rustic, quaint environment and Whitney's is perfect. The food was excellent from breakfast to the coctail hour and wedding reception. Working with the owner of the Inn Don, and the wedding coordinator Michele was a pleasure. Not only were they on top of EVERY detail, but they have a very calming way of doing so.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pammcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for the first time a few days ago during a quick one-night getaway. We had a great experience. The Inn was very affordable (booked through hotels.com), had a LOT of ammenities that we didn't take advantage of (but were very impressed with) and had beautiful grounds. It's located on Black Mountain Road, outside the center of Jackson.

Our room was clean, adorable (woodland/lodge decor) and the bed was very comfortable. We are used to a standard continental breakfast when staying at a place in which breakfast is included in the room price. Typically, we skip it. I am so happy we didn't skip this one. It was DELICIOUS and the food was sublime. Pair that with a pleasant waitress, and it was one of the highlights of the overnight. We had no experience with screaming kids, as some reviewers did. Our entire meal was peaceful and relaxed. We were lucky enough to get a window seat by a hummingbird feeder and had a great time bird watching throughout our meal.

We definitely would recommend this inn to family and friends. For us, it was worth every dollar spent. Thank you, Whitney's Inn!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank SheElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The ownership of the Inn could not have been more accomodating and helpful. We were offered an upgrade of our room when we casually mentioned to Don, the owner, our room was smaller than we had expected. He immediately offered an upgrade without hesitation or having to ask for it. We enjoyed an unbelievable full breakafast every morning which was so filling it carried us until dinner time each day. We were treated like family and were very comfortable there. It was a wonderful experience and we will surely be returning to Whitney's Inn in the future!! Thanks for everything Don!!

Mark & Deb

Room Tip: We had a great room with a view of horses in a field everday! It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 120debland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
861 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.7 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 11 in Jackson
462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitney's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitney's Inn

Address: 357 Black Mountain Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $105 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitney's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitney's Inn offers world-class lodging with New England charm. Our warm lounge and flowers in our check-in area will greet you upon your arrival. There are rooms for everyone...if you need a suite, a romantic inn room with a gas log fireplace, or a mountainside cottage with a fireplace, you will find a room at Whitney's. The inn is minutes to Storyland, golf, shopping, Mt Washington and located at the Base of Black Mountain ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Whitney's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney`s Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing