We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a good night sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't expect a good night sleep”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in a small room in main building. And I will never go there again -- the mattress on the beds are horrible (like sleeping on the floor, not kidding). I was there for 2 nights and the second night I put pillows and towels under me to try to get some sleep. I did talk to the man at front desk -- he simply said he would advise the Maintenance person. There was no acknowledgement for my needs or empathy for getting little sleep and no offer to adjust bill or even an offer to buy us dinner...he could have turned a bad situation around, but he didn't get "it" so I am attempting to get the last word. My recommendation -- go someplace else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BELNHNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
For the record, we inspected the room when we received the feedback. We could honestly find nothing wrong with the bed (not broken, saggy, etc.) and had many good comments on the room and bed in general. We are a popular inn and the room you stayed in is occupied frequently, without complaint. However, it was one of the smaller rooms, but it is first-come-first-serve, especially during the high season. There was no opportunity to move you – sorry. We do have suites and other upgraded accommodation, subject to availability at the time of booking.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    198
    65
    39
    27
See reviews for
220
356
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not being a person that likes Christmas I was a bit put off when I received our travel plans that we had been booked in to a hotel named the Christmas Farm Inn. As we didn't have a choice of hotels we just had to wait and see. Thankfully it wash't at all kitschy. Our room was in the Salt Box next to the main building. The room was quite big as was the bed and there was ample drawer and wardrobe space. The room was however in need of a good clean and the carpet could do with being replaced as it was very stained. As we have found with all but one of the hotels we've stayed in whilst in America the public rooms are very well maintained and decorated but the bedrooms could all do with being brought into the 21st century. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was excellent. Really big portions and delicious. The breakfast was very good as well. The service on the second morning wasn't up to the previous standard as the waitress kept forgetting what we had asked for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and observation – we are intentionally not kitschy. Before your comments came through, we had already noticed and cleaned the carpet – it was indeed stained with a spillage of some kind – sorry. Apologies about the waitress, as well, we sent her back to elf school to have her ears stretched!

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is 1/2 mile out of town on a busy highway. Not much in the town of Jackson. Lots of different buildings at the farm scattered over the area. We stayed right behind the main building in a old, not so comfortable room with a not so comfortable bed. The floor around the toilet had some soft spots. Luckily we didn't fall thru. Had a bonfire going, which was nice. Ate at the tavern and had great service and food. The breakfast was very good as was the service. People with kids would probably like this cuz of the theme, but it wasn't for me. I think some of the other buildings had better accommodations. Guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the comments overall, and good comments on the food. The bathroom floor did have some give, and we subsequently pulled it up and found the old boards beneath had worked loose. We replaced the boards and resurfaced the bathroom floor. Otherwise, the room you had was in good condition.

We did also inspect the bed, which is a firm newer and not a pillow top that seems to be in popular demand now (we have already replaced most of our beds with pillow tops, and continue the roll-out).

We are not sure about your description of a ‘busy highway’, as many people can’t find us on a GPS! Route 16 B, Black Moutnain Road turns to gravel in less than two miles beyond us, as Jackson is a little enclave surrounded by mountains. The road can be called many things…but not busy. There is more traffic in the winter, with Black Moutain ski area just a mile beyond us. With that said, we are closer to most sites, activities and attractions compared to other towns or villages.

There is a lot of activities for adults and kids, and magnificent scenic vistas for those who just want to ‘look around’. I guess it is about what interests you. We have over 7 million visitors to the White Mountains annually. Most find something to do. Come back and we will tell you more!

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are looking for the quintessential New England experience, look no further than the Christmas Farm Inn. We had a very nice experience! The Inn is quaint, charming and welcoming!

When I booked our stay, I had some fears that it may be a little kitschy because of the name. However, that could not be further from the truth. The place was perfect for creating a feeling of being in the woods while still having all the modern luxuries one would expect. We stayed in the Carriage House and the rooms/suites were huge, well decorated and had a gas fireplace. We even had a deck that allowed us to view the White Mountains while sipping our cocktails. The only downside was the bed. It was very hard and uncomfortable. It also made a squeaking sound every time you moved or breathed (no fooling around that night - smile). I have to admit, it made for an uncomfortable nights sleep.

The main inn was extremely charming and the staff was very friendly. From the moment we walked into the Christmas Farm Inn, we were greeted with a warm smile and cheery welcome. We also had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Huge portions and delicious. A great way to end the day after a great deal of driving, hiking and sightseeing. Also, the complimentary breakfast the next morning was equally tasty. The town on Jackson is extremely charming......a perfect New England town to visit. The Christmas Farm Inn sits near the Jackson Falls which are peaceful and beautiful. The perfect walk in the morning with your coffee for some great photo ops.

Our entire stay, albeit brief, was a nice ending to our New England adventure. Thanks to everyone at the Christmas Farm Inn for helping us create a memorable experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. There is a tremendous amount to do and we are pleased you made the most of it. We did find that the bed had a problem with a broken frame - sorry about that. We can’t imagine what guests get up to…! Unfortunately, it wasn’t noticeable unless you are on it, and we learned about it from another guest (see feedback below). We changed it out and it is good again with no squeaks…or so we’re told!
Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed at this inn before and liked the charm of it, we travel to this area at least 2x a year. There was a promotion running with discounted rates that we debated booking or spending a little extra for a more upscale hotel. We decided to go with Xmas farm and stayed in the carriage house suites, room 1. The room was generally clean, minus the shower floor being stained from use-which was a little off putting. The room had a nice fireplace and view and very spacious but when it came time to sleep none of this mattered-bed was unsleepable, I had to sleep on the couch due to springs poking into our backs and very lumpy and creaking with every movement, in the future I will spend the extra for a good night sleep elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meghan619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are sorry. We only learned of this later when a guest brought the issue to us directly. The bed frame was broken and we replaced it immediately, as soon as we knew of the situation. TripAdvisor can be a good avenue to share experiences or vent complaints, but notifying the management in real-time will usually get you a better solution to the problem. We can only say that things break and sometimes, as in this case, it is not always noticeable until somebody sounds out about it (most do it nicely). In most situations like this, most hotels will endeavor to do what they can to make the situation better as fast as they can. We certainly do.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Firstly the complimentary breakfast is super as is the quality and presentation of the evening meal.
However the stay here is dependent on your room location.Ours was a tiny room in the main building.Steep narrow stairs have to be navigated carrying your luggage, a strong pair of arms are needed.Fixture and fittings are quirky and idiosyncratic,clearly many people love this.Very small bathroom and landing both have extremely sloping floors which may be disconcerting to some

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid main part of the building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for sharing your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals. We cook everything fresh and offer mostly natural and organic choices on the menu.

We have traditional inn rooms, suites and cottages of many sizes that sleep from 2 – 8, many of which may be more to your liking. Yours was one of the smaller rooms. We don’t know why you chose this room, but assume that other options were already taken. Full admission here, though, there are parts of the inn that date back to 1778 and 1786. There are no perfect concrete and steel leveled floors in the old buildings. The floors are original wood and in some parts uneven. In some places, it can make you walk like a drunken sailor (we are convinced it is not the cocktails)! Disconcerting? We call it historic charm…!

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well this was a fantastic place to stay for our three day shopping break during our road trip around New England. Handy for the fab Settlers Green outlets in North Conway. Gary was a fabulous host and looked after us well. The little bar was perfect for a few cocktails after and great meal in the hotel restaurant. Lyn was the perfect bartender/waitress and made a mean cocktail, I cannot remember the name of it but it was a pear & ginger concoction, fabulous. Gary's wasn't a bad effort but not as good as Lyn's !!
All in all we had a great stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you! It was great to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again. Settler’s Green misses you too! Next time we will organize a container for you to fill and ship back to England!

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Property: Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing