We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Until We Return.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Until We Return.....”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the hotel for four nights from 18th July as a final stop on our New England tour to celebrate a big wedding anniversary. From the moment I booked our room (some months ago) up to the moment we reluctantly left the hotel, the experience for us could not have been better. Sandra (one of the owners and inn keepers) even suggested the room we would like (which was great choice – in the Carriage House, Room 11 – a large suite with absolutely everything, including a balcony to enjoy a glass of something cold...) and she was spot on, it is ideal for a romantic and relaxing stay. Christmas Farm Inn is exactly what it says on the tin (and the website!), A comfy Country Style Inn/Hotel, with great Country style hospitality (the whole team were really helpful and friendly towards us and others), terrific cooking (the menu is so varied and of such good quality/value that we ate there all four nights – and could have done for at least seven!) and set on the edge of the picturesque village of Jackson, which is both quiet and scenic (the Inn is but five minutes’ walk from the falls). As a base for sightseeing and enjoying all that the area has to offer it is ideal and are we tempted to go back? – you bet, roll on next Autumn/fall.....

Room Tip: The Carriage House has some lovely suites and is tucked away at the top of the hill away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHappyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are grateful to have many return guests who love the Christmas Farm as much as we do. Guests like you remind us why we are in this business. It was an absolute pleasure to have you both with us. See you next fall!

Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    198
    65
    39
    27
See reviews for
220
356
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Natick, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was recently at this Inn for a wedding. The ground and rooms were nice, but the staff was inflexible and not helpful when we had concerns regarding our bill. Upon departure I recevied a charge for $87 for a breakfast for 8 people. There were only 5 people in our cabin, so I asked why we would have been charged for 8 for a breakfast that was initially proposed as "complimentary" as part of our two night stay. It turns out the room only covered two people for breakfast, which was not clearly explained when checking in. We opted out of breakfast the second day and still got charged. When I called to discuss this, they told me it was policy to charge us regardless of whether or not we ate breakfast. Beware if you stay here of hidden charges, this will be our last trip to the Christmas Farm Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
The breakfast supplement for additional adults is not a hidden charge, but a policy which was included in the bride and groom's wedding contract and was also explained to guests when they made a reservation. As the number of guests in your cottage was subject to change so was the charge for the additional adults.

For the benefit of other readers, our full American breakfast is included with each room, kids eat free. When more than two adults share a room/ cottage a $10 supplement per extra adult/ night is applied. This is communicated to guests at time of booking and common practice in the industry.
We have nothing to hide.

The full American breakfast we offer is substantial; continental buffet with fruit salad, yoghurt, freshly baked goods and cereals, in addition to this our guests also get to order from an entree menu of cooked items such as waffles, eggs Benedict, omelets, etc.
For this service, we budget staff and resources according to our room count. If a guest chooses not to have breakfast with us this does not affect their room rate. The $10 supplement per adult is part of your room rate.

Gary and I run an honest business and although it is very easy to take offense at your review we will not let it taint our memory of what was a wonderful wedding. All our staff worked hard this weekend to provide all wedding guests with a wonderful experience and we have had great feedback. It is disappointing to see that this breakfast supplement is all that you seem to remember.

Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Unfortunately our stay wasn't all that pleasant. It started off before we even booked our room. We went to your great looking website, and saw a Storyland package. It stated there would be a 20 percent discount off the rooms, and kids eat dinner free one night. I called right away to book. I was told the 20 percent discount will not be honored, but I can still have the kids eat free one night voucher. They said that shouldn't be on the website because the room rates are low right now..WOW!! At this time right now it is still ON the website. Sounds like it is used as bait...
Next check in went nice and smooth, and we received our keys to our room. After a long day in the mountains, we were looking for some much needed rest. Upon entering our room NOEL 18, we noticed a strong musty smell. It seemed very damp. Then we went to lay in bed and the sheets and blankets felt very wet. It was awful and very uncomfortable. So I called the main desk, and believe I spoke to Daniel. I explained the issue and asked if there was another room we could switch to.. He told me that he thought there was, and to call back in a.m and speak to one of the girls. At that point with only a 2 night stay, we didn't even bother.
I will say there service in the dining room was outstanding, and the indoor pool was a nice touch.. But unfortunately we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Our Story Land/ Santa's Village package includes 20% off our room rate, full American breakfast for all, kids eat free one night and of course all our facilities. This package was originally for midweek and weekend stays in July and August.

We recently decided to lower our midweek rates in July and August to a level equivalent to the 20% discount and still offer all other elements of the package with the same room rate. It was not taken off the website as the package still applies to weekend stays. We should have updated it but simply forgot. This is being done right now. This does not change the fact that you still got the same deal. We are sorry of this was not explained clearly to you at the time of booking.

The lack of response from our front desk staff member to your request to move was indeed disappointing, he should have dealt with your request the same night. We would have been very happy to move you to another room. This was an error of judgement and we discussed this with the staff member concerned.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner experience with us as well as our facilities. We wish you many happy returns to the White Mountains.

Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed on July 3 and 4 in the Sugar House. We had no hot water for the night before or the morning that we checked out. That is in a unit that features a Jacuzzi in its over-sized bathroom. I reported it to the front desk and they sent an employee to check and he confirmed that the transformer was blown to the unit. He also apologized. When we went to check out, the only thing woman at the front desk said was, "Oh, that must not have been a nice shower." I mentioned that I was a little surprised that they weren't going to comp us or at least give us a credit or anything. No hot water for a family on vacation?? She said there was nothing she could do, but she could pass the word on. Well, it's been three weeks and we never heard back from them, so now my wife and I vote with our reviews and our wallet. We're done with the Christmas Farm Inn given the poor way that they handled it. It is hard to review the rest of the place when something like this sticks out in your mind. Based on our experience, I couldn't recommend the Christmas Farm Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonExec101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We regret that a repeat customer, who previously wrote well of the inn on Trip Advisor, left unhappy. We thought the issue was resolved and apologize if our communication was not to their satisfaction. However, we do not agree with the description of events.

The guests stayed for two nights in the referenced accommodation. On the morning of check-out, we were notified by the guest that they had hot water the first night of their stay, but not the second night. As it was late, they did not report it until the morning. Within minutes of learning about the hot water issue, our maintenance manager went to investigate.
His initial findings confirmed there was no hot water – for which he apologized. Investigating further, and thoroughly, he found that the emergency cut-off switch inside the accommodation had been shut off. The cut-off switch is openly visible, but at a higher level on the wall, as not to be easily confused with a light switch. However, as the guest had hot water on arrival, and for the first night, it is likely that someone in the room mistakenly switched it off - shutting down the hot water heater. Our understanding was that the guest accepted this. The switch was switched to on, and the hot water was ready in about 20 minutes.

We actually have two new water heaters for the Sugar House (2 years old), and there is ample hot water for the large hot tub and other uses. There was no faulty transformer or any other issues found.

In this case, we don’t feel it is appropriate to ‘comp’ or give ‘credit’ for an inconvenience not in our control.

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week. We had a bit of a hard time finding the hotel in the dark, but the place is really quaint, charming and peaceful. We stayed in one of the salt box rooms (#17) which was spacious, although a little musty, and the shower didn't properly drain - partly due to the really high pressure from the shower head. The buffet/a la carte breakfast was included and was really good. Definitely great value. We also enjoyed a really great dinner at the Inn. The muscles were amazing, and the maple pecan crusted salmon and ribs were great too. All in all, the value was great and we enjoyed our stay at the Christmas Farm Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie3613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we enjoyed reading it. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes,
Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have stayed in the Jackson, NH area before. We were excited to see our Deluxe King Suite we have bought on offer from Expedia for 2 nights. The room was as pictured on the site except for a few differences. One was the bedspread was faded, and tattered with holes, the blanket and carpet had stains, and the room had a bit of a musty smell. This room needs a top to bottom cleaning! There were dried bugs on the bathroom floor, and the wallpaper is coming off the walls in all the rooms in the suite. I had read a few negative reviews on Trip Advisor for this property, but I thought this was not regarding the Carriage House, which had glowing reviews, but sure enough our room was in the Carriage House. I understand the main building is old, but most of the property does look like it could use some TLC. On the plus side the view from the balcony was great, we had plenty of room for 2 people and the food was good. The hostess in the restaurant was very pleasant, and a real keeper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We very also disappointed to read your review, we certainly strive for higher standards of cleanliness than what you described. We have shared your comments with our housekeepers. We are not aware of torn bed spreads, however, some of them have faded with frequent washing. It is planned to update all the bedding in the Carriage House in the near future.

We trust that you still enjoyed the amenities of your room as well as our extended facilities.
The Christmas Farm Inn dates back to 1778 with many buildings added over the decades. it is a very special, unique property of which we are caretakers to preserve it for future generations.
With 13 buildings across 15 acres it is a labor of love and we are continuously improving the guest experience.

We always welcome our guests' feedback and mostly enjoy glowing reports. it would have been useful to receive your comments personally with a room number to address your specific room and concerns.

Thank you,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our second trip to The Christmas Tree Spa.The spa is somewhat small, very nice and super clean.Had booked two hour and half massages for myself and my husband.I have chronic pain so I have been having massage therapy for 20 plus years.Linda, my massage therapist was the best I have ever experienced.I actually was pain free when I left and scheduled another one with her two days later which was even more theraputic and relaxing.My husband expresssed his satisfaction with his therapist as well.Linda is truly gifted.Even if you don't stay at the beautiful Christmas Tree Inn make appointment with Linda.Your body will thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WIntertime12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, Linda will be very happy read these! We love our Spa and appreciate your recommendation for other travelers.
Come back soon!

Sandra and the Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Property: Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing