We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Time in the White Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We’ve visited the White Mountains several times in the last 20 years but this was the first time that we stayed in the Jackson area. The Christmas Farm Inn was a pleasant surprise. The main building dates back to 1786 and the entire area is in a wooded area outside of the main traffic areas. We found the web price we paid very reasonable for peak summer time. There are a variety of rentals available including individual cabins. Our suite included a lovely bathroom with a relaxing whirlpool and a small balcony which was ideal for morning reading or meditation. A full breakfast, with an array of choices, is included in the price and is served in the main building. We ate one other meal in their restaurant which was good but not extraordinary. There are both indoor and outdoor pools, a spa, and play areas. We enjoyed walking about a mile to nearby Jackson Falls which is a popular viewing site. Since our visit, others have told us of their pleasant memories at the Inn which I think is probably even more popular in winter. This may explain the industrial type carpeting in our suite’s building’s main corridors. The staff was polite and we found our visit very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandywine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Many thanks for your great review, we are very happy you had such a great time and also had the opportunity to explore Jackson Falls. We hear frequently that guests encounter colleagues or friends who also stayed here in the past and shared their fond memories. The awareness of the Christmas Farm in this region is extraordinary for such a small Inn. We strive every day to keep it special for everyone who enjoys its authenticity and uniqueness.

Thanks again,
Gary, Sandra and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 751 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Let me start by saying my family and I vacation in the Jackson/North Conway area several times per year. We have stayed at the Christmas Farm Inn, Nordic Village and Red Jacket. Frankly, we only choose the Christmas Farm Inn when we can secure a really good rate, which to us means a rate more than $100 lower than the other two places for the same time period. We are a larger family with young children, so at the CFI we need to stay in the cottages, which have gotten quite shabby. Peeling wallpaper, hair dryers that take an eternity to dry one's hair, bathroom fans that sound like a jackhammer going off, room refrigerators that don't cool very well, and sleeper sofas with mattresses that you can feel the springs through just by applying a little pressure with your hands, are a few of the things we have experienced. The kids don't notice these things, or don't care, but I'm just being honest about the fact that the cottages all needed to be updated years ago to justify full price. (For example the polar express at CFI is a rip off if you stay in a cabin.) On the positive side, the staff is very nice and hard working, the owners are charming, the cabins are very clean, and breakfasts and dinners are very good and portions are generous. However, when the room rates at other places are pretty equivalent, we prefer to stay elsewhere. The fact that breakfast is included in the rate at CFI isn't worth much to us, as children eat so little anyway, and we like to get out and enjoy the area---storyland, santas village, attitash, etc., and breakfasts can be very slow at CFI unless you are there at the crack of dawn to beat the all the other guests. So in short we have stayed at CFI many times in virtually all the cabins other than the Sugar House, and we will stay there again but only when the rate is much better than the other places in the area that we like to stay at.

Room Tip: We have heard that the rooms above the spa are nice and newer. Also beware the room in the main inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MATravelingMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Gee whiz! We don’t quite know what to make of your bitter-sweet comments. Let’s start by thanking you for your good comments. We are working hard to make improvements to the inn, and we care very much about what we offer and deliver to our guests. We especially value you, a repeat customer, and thank you for booking the 2103 Polar Express again this year and staying with your kids in the cottage you write about, albeit discouragingly…

We are not quite sure what motivated your comments, after re-booking for the Polar Express again this year. Our prices have increased slightly, but only in-line with increases in our costs. As a regular customer, we are disappointed that you didn’t come to us directly with your comments and concerns. However, for the benefit of all, we will take this opportunity to address them in an open forum:

Price: Our rates are market driven and do vary depending on the time of year, and overall supply and demand in the market. If you stay in high season on a weekend, or other highly sought after dates, our prices will normally be higher than, say, a Wednesday in April, which is low season. Most hotels, airlines and other businesses work on this principle - we are no different. However, we do always try to offer good value for money and keep our rates in line with the market, and many people do take advantage of our competitive rates throughout the year, including low season. As a repeat guest in the cottages, and to the Polar Express package, we want to assure you that our room and cottage rates are the same as what we have on offer for our busy weekends throughout the year. The package includes all the things people have grown to like: rooms, meals, tickets on the Polar Express; entertainment; Christmas activities for the kids, including time with Mrs. Clause beside the fire or under our 15 ft Christmas tree; plus other gifts and treats. Presumably, you liked some or all of it to book again. It leaves us a little confused as to the nature of your comments. We sell out of all Polar Express packages every year, and have many repeat guests, like you, who know to book early. As we are a founding sponsor of this charitable event, we are pleased that we can continue to help raise money to support the literacy programs that the Believe In Books Literacy Foundation support.

Cottages: Since we took over the inn, we have done much to improve the cottages (and many other rooms throughout the property). In the cottages, we have put in new carpets (all), new fire places (only one left to do), new refrigerators (all), LED TVs (all), many new mattress’ and pieces of furniture. We have also been busy painting, fixing things, adding pictures and warm furnishings, and generally working to improve and update the cottages inside and out. We are not finished and we are not idle. We hope you will notice at least some of the changes on your return.

As you know, we have 7 cottages; 5 have two bedrooms and bathrooms, and a living room with a sofa bed, fireplace and refrigerator –they all sleep 6 people. Another one, the Log Cabin sleeps 7, with an open plan bedroom and living room downstairs, and loft upstairs, and it has all the other amenities. The last one, the Sugar House sleeps 4. It is really an old Sugar House where they made maple syrup on the farm. It has a large king bedroom, living room with sofa bed and gas fired stove, and a large bathroom with hot tub and walk-in shower. The rate for the first six cottages is only slightly more than the cost of two separate bedrooms, and the offer a lot of privacy and space for family and friends. For much of the year, they are our most popular type of accommodation. Naturally, they are preferred by families, and also popular with couples travelling together, for ‘girly weekends’ and more. The Sugar House is priced to match our Carriage House Suites.

Wallpaper: We gather you are referring to the wallpaper in the two bathrooms in Cottage 5. We replaced this with Wainesboard in May. We hope you will like this.

Hair Dryers: In the last year, we have replaced almost 30 hair dryers, and do so with industry commercial hair dryers when the existing one becomes damaged or otherwise inoperable.

Fans: We have replaced many fan motors for rooms and cottages, and continue to roll this out when time and occupancy levels allow. All will be completed in the next week.

Room Refrigerators: All cottages have new refrigerators 3.3 cu ft, replaced last year. There is a control for the temp on the inside. The one you are referring to has been checked and is working fine.

Sleeper Sofa: Most all of the sleeper sofas in the Cottages and Barn studio apartments have been replaced in the last two years, and they are all commercial hotel type sleeper sofas and mattress’. Most people would probably prefer a regular bed over a sofa bed. The sofa beds offer a flexibility (i.e. a living room with extra bedding) that people enjoy. Otherwise, booking two or more separate bedrooms is an option.

Main Inn room above the stairs: The cause of the smell was fixed more than two years ago. It smelled like a giant fart! Understandably, we were eager to fix this quickly…and we did. We found the problem to be a faulty ‘whoopi vent’ or ‘Oatley vent’, as they are often called. They are essentially a valve designed to allow air in to aid drainage, but then close to prevent air going out. This one failed and we fixed it, so you’re safe. We have fixed others, as well. Thanks for venting…(smile.

Hopefully, this has addressed some of your concerns. We inherited the property as it was – generally in good shape, but in need of TLC. We have since made many improvements, seen and unseen, and we are currently in the middle of a property improvement plan, trying to schedule these so as not to interrupt guests. It is impossible to get it all done at once, but we are making speedy progress. We look forward to discussing these when we see you in November. Our aim is to win you over completely…and not just when our rate is much lower than everyone else...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Our overnight stay was perfect - we were checked into the Carriage House. The suite was gorgeous with a large whirlpool tub in the bath, fireplace, refrigerator and sink in the bar area, deck overlooking pool and workout room - only steps away.
A full breakfast came with the room. Omelets, eggs Benedict, waffles, etc. Great value, beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we loved every word!
Come back soon!

Sandra, Gary and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A wonderful inn near the heart of Jackson NH, suppressed that they allowed dog in fact were very open to them in their cabins. Wonderful dinner in the in and great cross country skiing in the town. A definite place I would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabe4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your endorsement! Great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Gary, Sandra and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway at the Christmas Farm Inn last week. The property was much larger than we expected with 41 different rooms and/or cabin offerings. Our private room was lovely and very comfortable. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine which we enjoyed before dinner. We enjoyed the hot tub and heated pool too - just wonderful. Although we did not have dinner at the Inn, we did notice that the restaurant was packed and the smell of Italian Food was heavenly. We will most certainly go back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandyMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Gary, Sandra and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently visited and stayed in a Carriage House Suite. Prior reviews state that the decor is slightly dated and worn, which is true, but not overly so and it makes the place less stuffy feeling. Loved the huge jetted tub.

My small complaints would be the bed is really firm and creeky...you can tell it needs to be replaced and it sags and slants. The blanket on the bed was stained. And the room need a serious dusting/heavy duty cleaning. There was obvious layers of dust on the headboard and dresser mirror and when I pulled back a nightstand slightly to access an outlet, I noticed the floor and trim behind it and the bed were absolutely filthy. The other areas of the room were clean, so this is more nitpicking and a constructive criticism of the room.

Breakfast was good, but slow, don't plan on being in a hurry. It took at least 45 minutes to get scrambled eggs and an omelet. I suspect there is only one person doing the cooking in the morning? The cold buffet set up was good, real fresh fruit salad, homemade muffins, cold cereals, yogurt, granola, etc.

I feel that the inn is a good value as any other hotel in the area was about $75 per night more than the Christmas Farm Inn. We'd stay there again. Plus I like the idea of supporting a family business instead of a chain hotel. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful without being in your face all the time.

Room Tip: Carriage House Suites were great, large sitting area with sleep sofa, two chairs, gas fireplace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachelhale821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review, we were happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will come to see us again. We could not wish for better.

We have discussed your comments also with our very busy housekeeping department who will endeavour to include hard-to-reach places in their regular cleaning routine.
See you again soon,

Gary, Sandra and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent four days here last summer and we can't wait to go back! the hotel and grounds are beautiful, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. our kids lived it here as well, they really loved the fire pit and the smores at night. The pools are great,food is sooo yummy! The service is great as well. All and all when you are a guest here they treat you like family, highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripletmomWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much! We want all guests to have a fantastic experience and try to bring out the best of every season; no summertime in New England without roasted s'mores!!
Come back soon!

Gary, Sandra and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $112 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing