We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place for a short stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ended up at the Christmas Inn and Spa thanks to a Groupon. Initially I felt it was a great deal but as our trip day got closer - we saw similarly priced deals for that time. So I felt a little stupid. Anyways thats not the Inn's fault. Overall the Inn is a very good place and hence the 4 stars in the rating but some things that I mention below is why they missed getting a 5.

The first impression as we drove up there on a cold Oct evening was nice. There was a lot of activity with hardly any parking. It was a lot of elderly people in the restaurant and I found out from the lady at the front desk that it was the TGIF club of Jackson (Thank God Im Fifty) having their Halloween dinner. So we could not get to have dinner until 8pm. We got a king bed in the Barn next door - room was quite big and clean. Being a converted barn - the climb upstairs with luggage was a little precarious. It was also not very sound proof - but overall a nice experience.

Dinner was expensive. Service could have been better but then as mentioned earlier - there was quite a crowd to deal with so we understand. Quality of food - not great for the price we paid - but then there really is no choice in the area.

We slept like a log as we had a long journey getting in. The heating was decent with an electric fireplace that we did NOT use. Next day morning we requested a late check out which we were denied. I could see the number of keys in the back for rooms not occupied and an extra hour could not be accommodated because they had someone coming in to that very room that afternoon. That response left a very sore taste in my mouth and hence had to mention it - therefore the staff can improve their service mentality.

The location of the place is a mixed bag. It is isolated enough to not have much road.city noise. But the GPS invariably takes you there along the inner roads and one gets the feeling - am I heading in the right direction. The adjacent river and falls are very beautiful and make the location nice for a short walk.

Overall - was nice. Price could be a little more competitive. Location is great but food at restaurant can be improved.

Room Tip: Judging from the layout and the fact that it is an inn I would stay away from the Main Inn as much a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macho_nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your 4 star rating! We welcome all comments and genuinely want all our guests to have a wonderful experience when staying with us. We would like to comment on some of the points your raised;

Our restaurant has been gaining a great reputation and popularity as all our meals are prepared freshly with quality ingredients. For example, our meat is all natural, our bread and desserts are entirely home-made; this is hard to find these days. Our price range is very much in line with local restaurants with starters ranging from $4-11 and entrees ranging from $15-28. Our dinner menu can be found on our website.

When feasible, we are happy to offer a late check-out to guests who inquire with us. You departed on a Friday which is, of course, a major check-in day for weekend travel. We were almost fully booked that weekend and your room was requested specifically by the guests who were due to check in later that day. To guarantee our official check-in time of 3pm we need to allow our housekeeping department sufficient time to service all our rooms as well as public areas, pool house, spa, fitness center and laundry.
We keep multiple keys to all our rooms, those key boxes are therefore never empty and not indicative of how many rooms we have occupied at any given time.
In light of this, it is disappointing to read that you you thought this was a failure of customer service. As you can see, it was quite the contrary.

Visitors to the area choose Jackson for its history, quintessential New England charm and uniquely stunning, natural setting. And many come to the Christmas Farm Inn to find a truly authentic New England Inn experience with 200-year old buildings, creaking floor boards and steep stair cases. If this is your preference you have come to the right place!

Thank you for choosing us and we wish you many happy returns to the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire.

Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    197
    64
    39
    26
See reviews for
218
355
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had originally booked for three nights at the end of October but extended this to four, to escape Hurricane Sandy, having stayed at Boston earlier.
The staff at the Inn were very welcoming and friendly as were the owners Garry and Sandra (and their two children). We stayed in Mr and Mrs Santa Claus room in the main house, which was perfect for our eight year old son who had a linked room. The menu choice was very good and breakfasts generous. We didn't use the spa facilities but the gym and pool were perfect for the end of the day in the mountains.
Garry was very organised and reassuring given the potential impact of Hurricane Sandy; thankfully this did not hit the area too hard.
We would certainly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments! We are glad you weathered the storm with us and felt in good hands. We very much enjoyed meeting you and wish you the very best.

Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I spent last weekend here at the inn and it was wonderful! I had a massage and facial at the Spa and they were both fantastic, I was so relaxed and it was so nice to be able to just walk up to my room afterwards. Our room was great, very spacious and so clean and well maintained. We loved the balcony to be able to sit and relax after a long day of exploring the area. We especially loved jackson falls which was close by and such a beautiful setting. Our dinner and breakfasts were wonderful. I especially loved the chocolate cake!! I know that we will be back with our daughter hopefully this spring. Thank you so much for helping to make our 20th anniversary so special!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your special 20th anniversary celebration! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed both the spa and restaurant as well as your room; we could not wish for more.

All the best,
Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
305 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were just there one night and loved it. Very relaxing property with professional, experienced staff. The new owners have years of international hotel experience and bought this place so they could be based in the USA. They are friendly, personable and have created a beautiful experience. Our room had a fireplace, a balcony, a sitting area, bedroom and very large bathroom. It was simply luxurious! Great story on the naming of the property too. Just ask.

Room Tip: Carriage House room with a fireplace! Upstairs but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you sop much for your kind words about us and the Inn. We love sharing the Inn's story and anecdotes with our guests, especially when they have come from as far away as Texas. This is the kind of place visitors hope to experience when they come to New England and we are proud of that.

Very best regards,
Gary, Sandra and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We came up to the CFI last week for our 20th wedding anniversary. We are return customers, although it has been awhile. We will not wait so long to return this time! We stayed in the Sugar House. It was so quaint and cozy. The warming fireplace and jacuzzi tub are great incentives to stay in this cottage. Dinner at the CFI is fantastic. We both had steak so we got to take advantage of the special that night for a bottle of wine. The green apple bourbon steak was really delicious as was the balsamic tips. Breakfast was just as good. Karen welcomed us and told us she had made the blueberry coffee cake that morning. This was not your typical breakfast that is included when you stay somewhere. This will fill you up for the day! Great selections. Lastly, I just want to comment on the staff. We met Danielle, Jennifer, Karen, and Ian as well as others. All were easy to talk to and happy to help.
No complaints whatsoever! Well, maybe one, that we had to leave!

Room Tip: The cottages are nice as they are private, but regular rooms are lovely as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Wonderful comments, thank you very much! The Sugar House is a favorite, especially with the new pillow-top king bed in it now. You did well to remember so many of our staff's names, we are impressed! Everyone enjoyed reading your comments.
Hurry back!

Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights. When we arrived, the reception was warm and welcoming and we were given great information for things to see locally. The suite (#12 in the Carriage House) was immaculate, fresh, well appointed and included a fireplace, whirlpool tub and a balcony with a western view. I ordered the "Just Because" package (wine, fruit and cheese plate). The wine arrived when we checked into the room @ 4:00, but the cheese and fruit still hadn't come at 5:00 so we asked if it could be delivered the next day. It was, along with another bottle of wine, which I thought was a very nice gesture. The cheese and fruit plate was oversized! The suite was quiet and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant both nights and had fabulous dinners - the fish was cooked perfectly and everything was flavorful. The breakfast (included) was VERY generous. We will definitely be back - well worth the trip!
If you are going to book a spa tratment, though, book well in advance. I called on a Tuesday (they were closed?) and Wednesday the person taking the bookings was off, so they didn't get my request until the day we were arriving - too late! We were dissapointed at that.

Room Tip: #12 in the carriage house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We also enjoyed the photos, these are great to share with prospective travelers. We are very happy you had such a great time and that it was worth the 5 hour trip! We hope to see you again.

Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Christmas Farm Inn this past weekend and had an excellent time. We stayed in the carriage house which was very nice. It's set back from the other parts and has a jacuzzi tub, fireplace, refrigerator and a little deck out back. It was our first time staying in Jackson/North Conway and I would certainly stay there again. It's about a 20-25 minute drive to the outlets from the inn.

Breakfast is included but we never managed to get up in time and be ready for it. The restaurant for dinner was excellent. Every night is a different theme in addition to the regular menu so if you're wiped out and don't want to drive anywhere then certainly check out the restaurant. There is a little cute pub inside but nothing extravagant.

We met the innkeeper, I believe his name was Gary, at dinner and he was extremely polite and made sure everything was going well. I also want to add that our waiter Ian was awesome. Stayed on top of our drinks and was very talkative. All the staff at the inn were very helpful....HOWEVER... my one little complaint/ piece of advice would be to plan ahead and book any spa services prior to your stay. I had a very hard time getting ahold of the spa when I was there and left messages which were never returned. It's really not the end of the world and I would not hold it against the inn but its a lesson I learned for next time I go.

If you want to visit North Conway but prefer to stay in a quieter area I would HIGHLY recommend the Christmas Farm Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnino430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Many many thanks for your great comments. Too bad you missed breakfast - it comes with the room and is excellent! We were disappointed to hear about your difficulty in making an appointment with the Spa during your stay. Our Spa is by appointment only and we do advise guests in our pre-arrival information to make their appointments ahead of their stay.
We and our Spa team would like to apologize that we did not manage to get in touch with you and would be delighted to look after you very well on your next visit!

Thanks again and see you soon,
Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Property: Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing