We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Old Field House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Field House
Ranked #2 of 3 Intervale B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Old Field House many times and we will keep coming back. The owners are incredibly nice and attentive to all guests. We like to go out to breakfast but knowing that we can eat right there if we want it is a huge plus and the few times we did, the food was great.

We often travel on a motorcycle so it is nice to have a washer and dryer available to use. We also like that we can walk to Tuckerman's to eat.

The rooms are always clean and comfortable. We would love to be able to bring our dog occasionally but understand why they have a no pet policy so we are happy to share their dog Teddy Bear when we are there. It helps when we miss our dog.

We were a bit surprised to see that the pool is being closed in as we are summer, outdoor pool lovers but if it is what more guests want and can make it a year round feature we are fine with it. It will not keep us away.

The grounds are always neat and well kept. Feels like home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Old Field House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the king jacuzzi suites behind the main hotel twice (December 2010 and 2011). There isn't anything that I don't like about it, and I know my husband feels the same way. Rod and Linea are really sweet and a pleasure to see and talk to. I also agree that Rod's waffles are as good as the rave reviews (the banana waffles are the best!). Teddy Bear is the most docile dog I've ever seen, and once we met her, we fell in love. We haven't gone in the hot tub or pool, although they are heated and open in the winter. I've never felt inspired to be outside in December in any degree of undress.

Anyway, there aren't a ton of people there around the time we've gone, and we always feel very comfortable during our stay. If you stay at a jacuzzi suite, I recommend picking up some bath bombs, since bubble baths aren't the way to go with those.

I would say this is the perfect place to escape all the craziness of the holidays and get some peace and quiet. I also like that it's not on the main road (Rt 16) so there isn't a lot of traffic around. The restaurants are kind of hit-or-miss in North Conway, so getting recommendations is advised. Our favorites so far are the White Mountain Cider Company (in Glen), Delaney's Hole in the Wall, The Red Parka (in Glen) and Stonehurst Manor. There are places we haven't tried that are probably good, but so far those are the ones we like the most. We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: The king suite with the memory foam mattress is really nice. We slept very well there. We also enjoy...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank microboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was our second stay at the Old Field House and I'm sure it won't be our last. If you're looking for high end, glitzy, polished, state-of-the-art, sterile hotel accommodations, this isn't your place. If you're looking for comfort, old-fashioned hospitality, a great breakfast and a home-away-from-home feeling, you can't do any better. The owners are wonderful and cater to your every need. Breakfast is amazing! But the best part is feeling that you're visiting family for the weekend and just relaxing at their home. The kids adore the game room and movie theater (yes, movie theater!). There's plenty of space to "hang out" and get to know the other guests as well. Heated pool and jacuzzi are just right. And watching bears walk through the yard each morning?? Priceless!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great place for a country type of getaway. The owners have branded "nice" into the culture there and it isn't fake by any means. Visit their website and read about Rod's famous waffles... They ARE as good as they are cracked up to be.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our family's second stay at the Old Field House was as great as the first. The 5 of us had a family suite which provides plenty of personal space for everyone and the Inn has many "public" spaces too. Our kids (11, 9, and 5) love the basement game room with its air hockey, ping pong, and other games as well as the "movie theatre". My husband and I read and chatted comfortably by the fire in the main floor parlour. The breakfast room, with its view of birds and trees is also comfortable and welcoming. We even used the jacuzzi (in March!).

Rod and Linnea are wonderful hosts, providing many tips about the area restaurants and attractions. We downhill skied for the first time during this stay and had a fantastic day. This was truly a home away from home for all of us. We had considered a vacation rental, so we could cook in, but with the fantastic breakfasts, and a sandwich for lunch while on the go, we were able to avoid all but the dinners out. And as my family's cook, I was happy to have the break from prep and clean-up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This Inn is a great value. We stayed in the basement family suites and were very happy. Although, it is the basement it was perfect for two families. It had 2, 2 room suites which slept 4 people each. On the same floor there was a family room with big screen tv and a game r. oom with air hockey, skeeball, and more. The owners and their dog, Teddy, were very welcoming and served a great breakfast in the sunny breakfast room. The decor was very casual country and you actually felt like you were staying in someone's home. The discount ski tickets were also a plus! The only disappointment was that we ran out of hot water when showering. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely clean and cozy, the breakfast options are excellent and included, the hot tub is so relaxing after skiing all day, my son loved how he could pick out a movie to bring to the room and watch as well as the game room, the owners dog, and the coziness of this place. We even extended our stay an extra day and wanted to extended it again but they had already filled up :( We will DEFINITELY be back! Thanks for a great warm, welcoming stay!!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room you choose as long as it's the accommodations your looking...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intervale
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
91 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Field House

Address: 347 Intervale Resort Loop (Rt 16A), PO Box 1, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Intervale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Intervale
Price Range: $125 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Field House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Field House Hotel Intervale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing