We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place”
Review of New England Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New England Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Intervale
Certificate of Excellence
02719
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We have been going to the New England Inn for years. The Staff there has become like family to us. Its always nice going back to the Inn and seeing the same smiling faces. Since the Lodge has been built that is our new Favorite Spot. The rooms are clean and very spacious. I love the Fireplace and jacuzzi in the rooms. The breakfast that is included with your room is amazing. Tons of different options and its made to order!
Tuckerman's Tavern which is at the Hotel is wonderful. They have live music playing on the weekends, and great food.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    40
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
36
91
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rescue, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I booked this Inn for 4 nights (Oct.5-9,2011) to see the fall colors. I read some good reviews from other Trip Advisers travelers. Unfortunately I have to report that this Inn is very poorly run and filthy. Our room that we were assigned in the lodge was nasty smelling
( like vomit ) and had dirt rings on the bathroom tub. We tried to get another room and was told that the inn was full. It wasn't until another couple came into the Inn and asked if there was any rooms available that front desk girl looked over at us and told the couple that they indeed had rooms available. The price was too high and the couple left. My wife again asked the front desk girl if they had any other rooms available and the girl finally moved us to a cleaner room. Also, I was lied to by Carol the Inn manager who stated that the room I booked had internet access from my room. Not true. We had a room in the lodge that you have to cross a busy street in order to get to the internet and the COMPLEMENTARY breakfast. The Inn only has ONE SERVER for breakfast TO HELP ALL THE INNS GUEST. It was obvious to my wife and I that the Inn does this to discourage their guest from eating the COMPLEMENTARY breakfast. My wife and I tried to talk reasonable to Carol the Inn Manager after our first night and she instantly became very loud and confrontational, and said that she never told us that the lodge room we booked had internet. EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL. We would have tried to find other lodging but apparently it was the busiest weekend of the year and all the other Hotels or Inns were already booked and Carol knew it. That was why she could get away with The TERRIBLE ATTITUDE toward us.
Please do yourselves a BIG FAVOR AND NEVER STAY AT THIS HELL HOLE OF A INN.
Note: This Inn demands that you pay in full for your entire stay PLUS gratuity before they will give you the keys to your room. I have never seen this before..........
Happier travels, Louie.

Room Tip: Do not stay here........................
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had a very nice stay at NEI, but in my opinion, it was not worth the $ that we spent. The family cottages need some improvements (the king bed was very uncomforable and I'm not one to complain about beds). We were staying with another couple who stayed in the adults only cabins and these seemed to be in much better shape and more up to date. Overall we were satisfied, however, we felt that we could have stayed at a full cabin (with kitchenette, etc) for the same price. There was also a wedding there the weekend we stayed. While it was very nice that the inn moved us to another cabin (not adjacent to the tent), it was dissapointing that service at the resturant was so slow. Unfortunately it seems like they only had one waitress and probably limited cooks, so service at breakfast was very slow. For dinner that night, we didn't even eat at the inn because we expected the wait as the reception was going on. Having to wait an extended amount of time with a 3.5 year old for dinner isn't very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicoTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Having been a guest at NEI three times before, my wife and I felt no desire to look for other lodgings in Conway. This visit was a mixed bag. The newer Lodge accomodations, which are for adults only, present very clean conditions. The TVs are a bit small, but I can watch TV at home, so this isn't a major complaint. The bedding and the mattress could use an update. I found a nickel atop the door trim to the bathroom--a gift, or a test of how well housekeeping does? The in-room fridge was a nice plus, though set way too cold--the control knob appeared to have been broken off--so bottled soda and water froze. I found the fan too far away from the bed to provide much ciruclation at night, and the AC did not stay on very long. The high school students who apparently worked as housekeeping tended to be a little loud in the morning. Older accomodations across the street appear to be in the midst of some renovating, although more is needed. Some of the cottages sport rotted-out window sills. I was surprised to see that these too had fireplaces like the Lodge. The fireplace is great in the winter, adding a touch of atmosphere.
Checking in and out is fast and friendly, and the lady working the desk will answer all questions. For those who have expressed disgust about some charges, these are outlined when you check in, but be sure to ask questions. Breakfast, while perhaps not offering a tremendous variety (to reduce costs, I assume) is generally tasty. However, there was only one waitress each morning, which was not a problem when there were not a lot of guests. However, the first morning was busy, and the poor waitress was waiting on 7-8 tables, so service was slow (at least she was friendly). The other two mornings, our service was fast, but the waitress not as pleasant. We fully understand the gratuity charge, but perhaps some of the breakfast issues would be solved if they did away with this and simply charged you at breakfast (and perhaps some of the problems that people have cited about service would be eased if the wait staff knew they were working for a tip). My wife and I both LOVE Tuckerman's Tavern. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. We ate all of our dinners there. We personally had no problems with service, although a table of senior citizens next to us did nothing but complain about the food.
My wife and I have talked about our recent visit and have concluded that we will definitely stay at NEI again. However, we also think that we will try some other accomodations in the area just to see, and that was not how we felt before this visit.

Room Tip: If you don't have children, ask to stay in the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The family cottages are great for kids, and Tuckerman's food is outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in a room in the Lodge across the road from the main buiding. It was very nice indeed. We ate in the Bar in the main building and I found the food to be very nice. I would recommend the Sheperd's Pie to anyone. The staff were very helpful and I would definitely stay there again if I ever go back to North Conway

Room Tip: Stay in the Hunting Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offtothekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Was just there for weekend. Host in tavern very arrogant. Food ok. stayed in log cabin, it was ok. area is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polo60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intervale
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
814 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
294 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New England Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Inn

Property: New England Inn
Address: 336 Rt. 16A, Intervale Resort Loop, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Intervale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Intervale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New England Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New England Inn offers a variety of accommodations; Inn rooms, cottages, family suites, and log cabins many with a gas log fireplace & a Jacuzzi. The adult only lodge offers deluxe rooms & suites all with gas log fireplaces; some with a Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your New England Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England Hotel Intervale
New England Intervale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing