We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Intervale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Intervale B&B and Inns
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A delightful stop, the third of six, on our "TripAdvisor" tour of New England. (See Aisling B&B in Boston and Bufflehead Cove Inn in Kennebunk for our earlier stops). We spent three nights in the Glen Ellis Falls room - very good. Lovely spacious public areas for you to relax. But the best part is Ken and his breakfasts. Wonderful home cooking with my wife's gluten/dairy free diet coped with brilliantly. Ken is also most helpful with his knowledge of the area. This place is definitely worth a visit. On to Beaver Pond Farm in Warren, Vermont for our next three day stop.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SussexWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
79
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I had a one-night stay in the Glen Ellis Falls room as a base for exploring the White Mountains and Kancamagus Highway. Ken was an excellent host, giving us a good restaurant recommendation (White Mountain Cider Company) and suggesting driving routes to see the foliage.

The Glen Ellis Falls room is spacious and clean, with a very basic bathroom. Decor is classical; a bit overboard with the flowery wallpaper. The thermostat-controlled fireplace is a nice touch. A computer is available in the hallway, and wifi is included in the room rate. A large collection of books and DVDs is available to guests.

Breakfast was tasty and sufficient. We were able to choose from a few different quiches. Also served were a smoothie, fruit, sausage, and potatoes.

We enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer to appreciate everything the Inn has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsburg
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Ken made our stay very enjoyable. He went out of the way to provide us with information about sites to visit and restaurants to frequent. Our rooms were comfortable and homey. Breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend the Riverside Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lives_for_Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I recently spent our honeymoon at the Riverside Inn.  We had an absolutely wonderful experience!  We felt “at home” from the moment we arrived, as the staff was incredibly welcoming and full of excellent local suggestions.  The owner himself was very accessible throughout our stay, but no one was ever intrusive in any way.  Brownie points right off the bat for the champagne and hand-written note from the Inn we found in our room after returning from dinner the first night!  The Inn itself is lovely, with attention paid to furnishings and decorative items.  Our room was sparkling clean and cozy with lots of closet space, a fireplace, large tv, air conditioner, and a 4-poster king bed with super comfy mattress/linens.  A huge plus was that, even though the place was booked solid, we didn’t hear any of the other guests from inside our room.  Cell phone service isn’t great (clearly no fault of theirs), but they do have wireless internet available as well as a desktop computer for all guests to share.  On a side note, they have a fantastic library of current books in the common area.  It was one of the first things I noticed when we arrived – lots of easy vacation reads by known authors!  
 
By far the best thing about this place is the breakfast.  Every morning, we woke up to delicious smells wafting up the stairs and into our room.  The dining area is comfortable and airy, with plenty of seating space so that you never feel crowded.  Classical and soft jazz music played from a small stereo, setting a relaxing tone for the meal.  All of the food is made by the owner himself, including the breads and English muffins.  Every meal starts with a fresh fruit bowl garnished with either fresh mint leaves or fresh basil leaves and their special Riverside Smoothie (I believe it was some sort of banana-berry combination).  The first morning was quiche, with a choice of mushroom or sun-dried tomato/zucchini.  The second morning was pancakes, with a choice of plain, blueberry or apple.  These were no ordinary pancakes - clearly homemade with whole grain flour and fresh ingredients!  Morning number three was a delicious egg and cheese strata with sausage and zucchini.  Yum!  Finally, on our departure morning, we had their famous waffles. Just like the pancakes, they are definitely a house recipe and were absolutely heavenly.  Each of the meals comes with a choice of bacon, breakfast sausage or apple maple chicken sausage (our personal favorite!).              
 
I highly recommend this place if you’re looking for somewhere to truly unwind and experience the peacefulness of the White Mountains.  It is in a great location and back-road shortcuts will get you around the traffic madness that occurs daily in the downtown area.  Close to Attitash, Cranmore and lots of local eateries.  A hidden gem among the many B&Bs in the North Conway area!!!      

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianandHeather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am truely in love with this property, the host (Ken) really helps you to feel at home. I can not find fault with anything this place has to offer. A warm, inviting atmosphere with a ton of quaintness, what more could you ask for?! This was our second trip here in less then 6 months, and we will be back sooner rather then later!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyfun000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just returned from our second memorable stay at the Riverside Inn and it was even better than the first. With 3 children we wouldn't normally stay at a B&B, but with the 2 bedrooms and shared bath on the third floor it is like we have our own private suite. The house is gorgeous, as is the setting, with the river running alongside the inn. The bedrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, each with their own gas fireplace which made it especially cozy. Our children, ages 12 and 9 year old twins, absolutely love it here and don't want to stay anywhere else. The innkeepers, Ken and his wife, Kris, are wonderful and extremely accomodating of children. Besides the fantastic breakfasts which include smoothies, fresh fruit, and a new and delicious entree every morning, they always look forward to the homemade cookies and hot chocolate in the afternoon. On a recent visit, we returned late after a day of skiing to find a bucket of chocolate dipped pretzels in our room! One evening was spent watching movies, reading books and eating cookies in our rooms when the kids decided they would rather stay at the inn than go out to dinner. We also love visiting with the inn dogs, Cadbury and Carter! With the warm fireplaces going in the living rooms, the inn is a peaceful and quiet place to read a book, magazine or just gaze out at the beautiful landscape. The location is perfect for skiing several different local mountains or for the many other attractions in the North Conway area. I cannot say enough about this inn, or the innkeepers, and we look forward to staying here for many years to come!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpcahill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

After reading everyone's reviews, I thought this place would be the "best place" in New Hampshire to stay, but there were a few areas where they were lacking.


Pros:
Check in and out was efficient.
Large selection of books in their library.
Fireplaces were inviting.
It was quiet, even when the inn was filled with people.
Staff were courteous.
Ken had a lot of great suggestions about the area.
Convenient location in the area. Didn't take much time to get to anything.

Cons:
Spa tub in the Cascade room is not big enough for two normal-sized people.
Room fluctuated A LOT between hot and cold- there seemed to be no in-between.
Not as much of a "homey" feel as we expected.
Breakfast was not the best I have ever had. It was not filling and they bring you the smoothie and fruit without asking if you even want it.
"Waitress" at breakfast is awkward with conversation and at one point was seen FILING HER NAILS in the kitchen while breakfast was being made.
Offers "bath salts" and "soap" free, but no shampoo and/or conditioner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smacky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intervale
3.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#1 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverside Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 372 Route 16A, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Intervale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Intervale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Rooms & Suites, fireplaces, spa tubs, private baths, king and queen beds, near everything, quiet location directly on the beautiful East Branch of the Saco River. Unwind by the river in a casually elegant turn-of-the-century home at Riverside Inn. Quietly nestled between North Conway and Jackson NH in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. Full country breakfast, non-smoking, WI-FI, A/C, and attentive service await you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing