We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park for the family and the family dog”
Review of Benson Park

Benson Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great park for the family and the family dog”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Benson Park has great walking trails, a fenced-in dog park, a large playground, grassy areas, and a nostalgic gorilla cage for the kids to play in. I was amazed by the amount of amenities the first time I visited Benson Park. The playground is unique and suitable for toddlers - my two year old son loved the bridge with "holes". I think the favorite part of the park was the gorilla cage that the kids can play in, though. There is a gorgeous mural on the back wall and the kids seem to love the novelty of being in a cage. I highly recommend this park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    23
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, NH
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place for the whole family”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The park has a little something for everyone. Walking trails, small fishing pond. Great open areas for running a playing. Great equipment for the kids. Add in the nostalgia of the old Benson's wild animal park and it a great place to spend any day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonni Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new h
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice walking areas.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place has something for everyone. There are plenty of trails to walk or run on, a playground for the kids and there is even a dogpark there too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank denisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure in Hudson, NH”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Benson Park is now a public park. Up until maybe 25 years ago it was a zoo and smallish amusement park. When it was closed it was left to nature and vandals. Maybe five years ago now a group got together to reclaim it. Since then, the town plus a dedicated corps of volunteers have sweated and broken their backs to make it a beautiful sanctuary in Hudson, NH. There are still traces of some former exhibit areas in the park, but these are getting harder and harder to find as the volunteers are planting new garden areas all the time. During the summer my wife and I love the butterfly garden. We also like stopping by the former waterfowl pool. All last year one man and his wife worked tirelessly to clean it out and beautify it. For those with kids there is an extensive playground area and a rehabilitated "Old Lady's Shoe" house. There are shady and roof covered picnic areas as well as many donated benches throughout the park. The town built a 9-11 memorial that features a girder from one of the Twin Towers and a timeline of that fateful day. As most reviewers mention, there are extensive paths, walkways and trails. My wife and also enjoy watching the turtles sun themselves on the shore and logs of "Swan Lake". Across the parking lot there is a dog park where owners can let their dogs roam free and socialize with other canines. That doesn't stop owners from walking their dogs on a leash in the former zoo section. It's open all year during daylight hours, we were there a couple of weeks ago, but can't wait 'till the warmer seasons when the trees and shrubs leaf out, when the flowers start blooming and when the intrepid volunteers reclaim more of the overgrown landscape. By the way, in the warmer seasons there are "porta potties" available, nasty but handy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
653 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“great little park”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

its a fun park in the hudson area. the best are the cages and the kids immitate the animals. we do little nature trail walks and luv the ducks and the dogs walking around. the park has a modern structure. its a fun place to be in the summer

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Arch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benson Park also viewed

 

Been to Benson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing