We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful and Relaxing Stay”
Review of Inn on Golden Pond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on Golden Pond
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like others who have written about this beautiful. spotless and quiet place; my wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail, while staff is somehow out-of-sight. Bonnie and Bill (when you do see them!) are full of knowledge and suggestions concerning the area; but are never intrusive. We were left to experience the area by ourselves, but felt that we had comrades-in-arms if Bonnie or Bill had the time to come with us. It was just the relaxing getaway we needed before our season broke back home. The central location of the Inn, less than an hour to many of the New Hampshire highlights, is just another added benefit. We highly reommend the Inn on Golden Pond if you are in need of lodging in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 275 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

When we first walked in we were surprised by how still and quiet this gorgeous house was. By the end of our stay we were already missing the serenity and peacefulness of this charming inn. This is the perfect spot if you are looking for a getaway that is relaxing and personal - time for yourselves.

The staff are clearly experienced at what they do, almost invisibly maintaining your room (turning down bed, resetting in the morning, and making sure that if you need something, it's just miraculously 'there'), advising on things to do and places to see (even with typed and printed notes to help you remember!), and keeping the overall ambience of the inn consistently peaceful and welcoming. The details are lovely - menu's of local restaurants with 'notes' from other guests advising on the best places to eat, books about the local area that inspire adventure and sight seeing, and even a partly assembled jigsaw puzzle to encourage you to partake if you wish!

Bonnie and Bill the inn keepers are friendly but not intrusive, and the evening log fire (yes, a real one!) was a cozy treat to come 'home' to at night. We stayed mid-week, so had the luxury of a fairly quiet inn, but I cannot imagine much changing whether the inn is full of people or just accommodating a few. Lovely and super relaxing. And DELICIOUS home made breakfasts over looking the beautiful grounds with birds of all kinds flitting about to signal in the spring!

Room Tip: The rooms are available to view on the website, look over them and request if you like one in partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimeebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Bear's Den for our first anniversary. The room, food and service were excellent. Bill and Bonnie were very accommodating and welcoming. The Inn has a very peaceful feel to it, from the background music to the fireplace and large windows overlooking the property. It is a short 5 minute walk to the nearby pond, which is very nice in the winter. Overall, we had an excellent stay.

Only small piece of constructive criticism would be the lack of water pressure from the shower head in the Bear's Den. Our thinking was that its purpose was to conserve water. We'd recommend changing it out, just a thought.

We would highly recommend this inn to anyone coming to the Holderness/Plymouth area.

Room Tip: Stay in the Bear's Den
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My college friend and I spent a couple of days in NH at the Inn on Golden Pond for a girls getaway. Bonnie and Bill were very welcoming and keep the Inn spotless! Breakfast was delicious and just right to hold us over till lunch for a day of snowshoeing in the White Mountains! The Inn is perfectly located for many outdoor activities and I am looking forward to bringing my husband back in the warmer weather for some summer hiking! Thank you Bonnie and Bill for making our stay very comfortable! We especially loved the evening fireplace for relaxing after coming in from the cold! We agreed we would definitely come back here!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was bought for my wife and I as a gift. We had a wonderful stay here. Enjoyed every aspect especially the conversations with Bill and Bonnie! Rooms were great-tv, wifi, modern bath. We didn't do much in the area-drove to North Conway-so can't really say much about local activities. Would def stay here again and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms appeared to be very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Bonnie and Bill make their B&B a lovely place to stay in Holderness. It is convenient to many excellent places to eat and shop. Be sure to dine at the Manor on Golden Pond right down the road for a sumptuous meal in exquisite atmosphere. And if quilting is your thing, Keepsake Quilts is a definite place to stop; plan on being there for a while! But if you just want to chill, your room will be most comfortable as will the common rooms. Be sure to read about the inn's history and enjoy the pictures posted downstairs. Conversation with the innkeepers is also a pleasure not to be missed. Excellent cost/value ratio, too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I had never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast before so we didn't really know what to expect. To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement. The greeting we got was warm, the inn was immaculate, and Bill and Bonnie couldn't have been more accomodating. Having a homemade breakfast was a great way to start a wintry day, and coming back after having dinner at a local restaurant to a homemade desert served by the fire was a terrific end to experiencing this part of New Hampshire during the day. Bill and Bonnie were always closeby to attend to whatever their guests needed, from putting another log on the fire to answering any questions that came up, doing it in such an unobtrusive way that you didn't even realize they were around. We were joined by a really good group of other guests, making for friendly conversation at breakfast and good company sitting by the fireplace in the evening. Our children gave us this weekend for Christmas and we have thanked them several times since we got home. My wife has already talked about going back sometime in the future. I have a feeling that going back would be like picking up where we left off!

Room Tip: Everyone we talked to said their room was great, even though they're all different themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
1.2 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#2 of 3 in Holderness
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
258 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
124 reviews
7.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Golden Pond

Address: 1080 US Route 3, P.O. Box 680, Holderness, NH 03245-5637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range: $178 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Golden Pond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on Golden Pond is an impressive 1879 country home located near Squam Lake, setting for the classic film "On Golden Pond." We are known for its refreshingly friendly yet professional atmosphere. 8 spacious guestrooms decorated in traditional country style. We offer private baths, air conditioning and individual heating zones for each room. The Inn sits on 50 wooded acres and is centrally located to a wide variety of New Hampshire's recreational and cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing