We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Squam Lake Inn
Nearby Hotels
White Oak Motel & Cottages(Holderness)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Inn(Ashland)
$95
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
209
30
6
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
30
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew englandb bsquam lakeloon roomcookiesorange creamappointed roomslilac roomfresh fruitsandwichdaily breakfastbreakfast was excellentboat tourfront porchbed and breakfastdining roomfavorite spot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 249 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Inn is beautifully decorated, the rooms are quaint and comfortable, and the free breakfast was delicious. Molly was so very welcoming and truly seemed to enjoy helping the guests in whatever was needed. Everyone at the Squam Lake Inn was more than happy to offer advice and suggestions on things to do in the area, and the location is a nice quiet spot off the beaten path. We loved the location close to Meredith, but far enough from the crowds and hustle/bustle around the lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I and my wife recently stayed three nights at the Squam Lake Inn on short notice.
We were delightfully impressed by the exceptionally caring and helpful staff including the owners. They would always take time to offer advice and suggestions on things to do in the area. For a renovated farmhouse, they maintain it quite well. The breakfasts were large and quite tasty as well as the other meals available in the dining room at the Inn. They will also cater to special diet needs if you ask. The room we stayed in was quite small and has limited furniture. When asked for an additional chair, we were immediately provided with one. Many of the rooms do not have TV as some have complained. However, this is known beforehand if you take the time to ask and or read on their excellent website. As an observation, we recently stayed in several National Parks and there is no phone, TV, and limited cell phone service in many lodges within the parks. We found that reading a book or chatting with other guests in the evening was a pleasant change from watching TV. Likewise, there is also little to no cell phone service in the area of the Squam Lake Inn. They graciously provide a regular phone for guests to use which was quite thoughtful. We would have preferred somewhere on the lake, but it was easy to get to. Perhaps in the future, the innkeepers could make some arrangements for guests to have access to some beachfront area.

I would definitely return in the future. I would recommend it to others as long as they understand that this is an old renovated farmhouse in rural New Hampshire with nine rooms with all its charm and excellent food and service and not a large full facility hotel.

Finally, on a personal note, I left, by mistake, a medical device in our room that I needed. They immediately found it, packaged it up and mailed it to my home that I had the next day with no charge whatsoever! I travel regularly throughout the country and very rarely see this level of attention and service to guests.

Room Tip: If you want TV and large areas, then you will need to look for these on the website or call before booking.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyedad60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Squam Room the nights of July15-18, 2013. It features a pleasant sitting area looking out the front window as well as a fireplace. The staff was gracious and willing to accommodate. Since we had to leave very early the morning of our final day and would miss breakfast, Diane, the chef, stopped en route to work and picked up a couple of blueberry muffins for us to eat on the road. Maddy greeted us upon arrival, looked after us during our stay, and made sure we had orange juice to go along with the muffins. There is plenty of space to enjoy the inn’s many amenities, from the downstairs living room to a community room cum library on the second floor. The restaurant is arguably the best in the neighborhood, and accommodates patrons in the dining room, bar, and patio. Daily breakfast is both a surprise and a special treat. The menu is imaginative as well as wide ranging; service is prompt and friendly. Squam Lake Inn is a delightful and comfortable base from which to explore the lakes and mountain region .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently stayed three nights at the Squam Lake Inn, a very well-run nine-room B&B in a nicely renovated farmhouse, conveniently located to Big and Little Squam Lakes. The innkeepers, Cindy and Rae, also operate a small restaurant and a gift shop on the same property, as well as a nearby market. A handful of other restaurants, shops, and marinas in Holderness are within walking distance.

The guest rooms are charmingly decorated and extremely clean, with private baths. Staff are VERY friendly and service-oriented; some have worked there for five years or more.

The kitchen is really good. Front-of-house can be a little bit slow when the restaurant is busy (everybody on staff wears multiple hats), but the overall atmosphere is laid-back and accommodating.

Squam Lake Inn is slightly more expensive but much nicer than some of the nearby motels. It's not a waterfront property, but it makes a great base of operations for exploring Squam and the Lakes region, or (as in my case) chilling for a few nights when your nearby vacation cottage is overflowing with visiting family members. I look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just got back from several nights at the Squam Lake Inn. It was a wonderful experience. As soon as you drive up and see the lovely gardens, the outdoor cafe and the many comfortable porches, the stress just melts away. The innkeepers have found the perfect balance between friendliness and giving you space to relax and enjoy some quiet time. The restaurant is fairly lively on weekend nights, but the crowd leaves early, and you can enjoy a glass of wine on the porch and just stroll up to your room. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The linens, bedding, soaps, etc. were first rate. And the location was perfect for enjoying the entire Lakes region. We will definitely be back! Thank you to everyone at the Inn!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank FromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews