We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place to stay in the Lakes region”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just got back from several nights at the Squam Lake Inn. It was a wonderful experience. As soon as you drive up and see the lovely gardens, the outdoor cafe and the many comfortable porches, the stress just melts away. The innkeepers have found the perfect balance between friendliness and giving you space to relax and enjoy some quiet time. The restaurant is fairly lively on weekend nights, but the crowd leaves early, and you can enjoy a glass of wine on the porch and just stroll up to your room. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The linens, bedding, soaps, etc. were first rate. And the location was perfect for enjoying the entire Lakes region. We will definitely be back! Thank you to everyone at the Inn!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank FromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 249 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Squam Lake Inn for 3 nights in May before the season got busy. We were impressed by the hospitality, cleanliness and overall charm of the inn. Every detail is attended to; our room was clean and comfortable. Our breakfasts were great with fresh flowers on our plates each morning. The restaurant was excellent. Steve our server could not have been more enthusiastic about the menu. Our meals were delicious and the presentation was very enjoyable. Lilacs were everywhere in the inn as they were in season. A very relaxing and great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had a business trip to Boston and last minute I decided to spend the weekend near Rumney to rock climb. I always stay in the nearby hostel but this time wanted to check out Squam Lake area. This inn was #2, but I read through all the comments and read a similar theme, how nice and friendly the staff was, how nice the rooms were and how great the location was. So I went with "#2" and glad I made that choice.

First, all of the staff is truly friendly and wrote the book on customer service. Also as you walk to the Inn front door, there is beautiful, well kept garden and large partially wrap around porch. You walk in and there is a living room for guests with fireplace, making it a nice cozy retreat. Breakfast is included and delicious. I had lunch and dinner and it is divine to have homemade food and cozy environment. For example, they have a signature ice cream sandwich, they get the ice cream from a farm down the street that make the ice cream from scratch....by milking their cows! Everything on the menu (or almost) is supported by a local farm or business or made from scratch at the Inn.

I got the Eagle's Nest which is spacious, open and airy. And as the pics are correct, the bathroom is huge and divine.

Other than the amazing customer service and peaceful environment, the house is updated and tastefully decorated, yet it has old charm and character to it. I WILL be returning to Squam Lake Inn every time!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank FrequentTravelerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at SLI in May 2012 and liked it so much that we returned with friends in October 2012. Stayed in two different rooms. Both were comfortable and quite. Cindy, Rae, and Molly help you instantly feel like you are at home. They are creative and share their insights on places to go and see. The Inn is comfortable, tastefully decorated, and offers plenty of spaces to relax. My favorite spot is on the front porch, where I drank my morning coffee and enjoyed cheese and wine before dinner.

No need to eat anywhere else. Rae is a master in the kitchen. Each meal was delicous and used the highest quality ingredients. My husband loves their oysters! Their cocktails are very creative. If you are planning an early Spring trip or late Fall trip, you may want to see if the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled from NYS to NH on a regular basis for 5 years, until we finally moved to NH a couple of months ago. We have always stayed at the Squam Lake Inn and highly recommend this wonderful Inn. The owners, Cindy and Rae, are amazing for their hospitality, creative ideas, delicious gourmet meals, and lovely accommodations. There is something new and wonderful offered every year for their guests to enjoy. We have stayed at many B&B's around the U.S. and other countries, and this is our favorite. Thank you for the terrific vacations and special meals in your restaurant, Cindy and Rae!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Squam Lake Inn was one of the most enjoyable Bed and Breafast we visited during our stay in New England. The attached resturant was great, the staff were outastanding, helpful and always ready to help.
The Boat tour of squam lake is a must, watch on Golden Pond first or after your boat excursion. The movie is even better when you know the stories behind the movie.
Would be nice to have some telvisions in the room at the price. Internet wi-fi was weak.

Room Tip: Small rooms, ask for a larger one. The loon was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our six day stay at the Squam Lake Inn was great: charming old inn, friendly, cheerful staff, great food, a well run operation. The owners, Cindy and Rae, have created an atmosphere in which the staff obviously enjoy working together and taking care of the guests. Jim and Gretchen Neel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylake63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
439 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range: $179 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing