We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
1 review
“Great stay!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay there. The staff treats you like family and ensures you are well taken care of. The food is also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    30
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
165
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We chose this Inn because we were traveling from Maine to Vermont and wanted a mid-point location. What luck for us to find this wonderful Inn in such a beautiful area. We will definitely return! The staff was so very accomodating, the room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. Next time we will plan a longer stay and explore more of Squam Lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I spent a beautiful weekend at this Inn this past Memorial Day. From the friendly staff, to the beautiful room (we stayed in the Lilac Room) to the excellent food for breakfast and dinner, Squam Lake Inn does not disappoint. It is everything a B&B should be. The decor is local and beautiful, but simple and does not feel cluttered. We saw the owner out in the garden picking herbs that ended up on our breakfast plate! The little red barn gift shop is super cute. I got some great local goat soap that had been in our bathroom - Lilac of course! We took an amazing Biplane ride over the Lakes District, and we highly recommend Lakes Biplane with Phil the pilot! We cannot wait to plan our return trip!

Room Tip: None of the rooms have lake views, but ask the owner when making your reservations what kind of view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I were there May 14 through May 20. I have taken time to reflect upon our visit to be sure it was as nice, comfortable, friendly, clean, delicious, conveniently located and accomodating as I thought it was during our stay. IT WAS! Rae and Cindy as the most accomodating hosts I can remember. They took the time to find our interests and showed us how to go about accomplishing anything/anywhere we wished to go. The quality of food was first class as well the presentation. Rooms were furnished in very comfortable surroundings and the bed slept like a dream! Everything had been thought through very carefully. We were there at the beginning of the season and I know they will have a lovely season. We have travelled all over Europe and I can't say I have found a nicer place than this in which to spend my vacation! Would we go back? You bet!!! Want to go back in the fall to see the leaves!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Room - Chocorua Island with king bed, large tv, and its own bath (some share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimisharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was our second visit to the Squam Lake Inn. Because of the great experience we had the first time we visited the Inn we knew our second trip to New Hampshire wouldn't be complete without a stay in Holderness. Rae and Cindy, Taylor and Molly, Kaitlyn, and all the wonderful staff at the Inn made our stay a very pleasant experience. If you are looking for the most delicious lobster roll in New England you will find it here at the Inn. Thanks Ladies!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is a pleasant, warm inn in the lakes region of New Hampshire, not far from Lake Winnipesaukee. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean. But - there is wi-fi coverage in only 1 of the guest rooms, not what you would expect in an inn with these prices, and something easily fixed by the owners. There is coverage in a common area, but who wants to have to go to a common area? There is also no cellphone signal in the rooms - you have to go outside the inn to find a signal. This problem may not be fixable by the owners, but the wi-fi problem is. Also, perhaps in the interest of looking rustic, our bathroom had a folding door that could not be fully closed, so get used to the idea that not only is the bathroom door not lockable, your companion can see everything you are doing as you sit on the toilet. So - as I said - a good place to stay, but it could be better.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank FarVistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for letting us know your concerns with the Eagle's Nest room. This is our newest room! This room has a beautiful bathroom with a claw foot bathtub, shower and pedestal sink. The sloped ceilings make it unique and cozy along with the small white tiled floor and bead board walls. The bathroom door is vintage but not folding, it more like a double door that meets in the middle. At the bottom half there is a narrow space where light comes through. This door does not lock so if that is an important factor, this room would not be a good choice.

The internet signal is the strongest in the Eagle's Nest guest room because of its location to the router. We can provide technical assistance to our guests who have trouble getting on to our internet. It is not accurate that only one guest room has internet access as we have 3 routers on the property and most guests do enjoy internet connection in all of our 9 guest rooms.

We are in a location situated between the lake and the mountains and cell phone coverage is limited. We do provide a phone in our lobby for guest use at no charge which includes all calls with in the U.S.

Thank you for your stay at the Squam Lake Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Squam lake inn at the end of May 2011. Our room was very comfortable and clean as were all the communal areas.

Rae, Cindy and all the other staff were very hospitable and made us feel very welcome.

the inn has a great little bar and communal area where we were able to relax with a drink and watch movie. (I was so at home here I fell asleep on the sofa, might have been to many Blue moons though)

Breakfast was different each morning and there was tea, coffee and treats available throughout the day where guests could help themselves.

There is also free wifi throughout the communal areas which is always useful.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely stay again in the future

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creelman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
423 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
367 reviews
6.2 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing