We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in a beautiful setting”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great experience in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a great three-night stay at the Inn in mid-August. The rooms were very cozy and the inn felt like you were visiting a friend's house. Breakfast was delicious as well. We didn't get to have dinner here as we arrived too late on our first evening and had reservations already set for the other two, but we heard only good things. The location was also very convenient to hiking, restaurants, nearby towns and public beaches. It's right across from the Manor, and we liked it 1000 times better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMG311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    30
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
156
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We visited SLI with another couple in early October to view the fall foliage. What struck us first was the home-like ambiance of the inn. Cindy and Rae were available to provide great information about the best places to view the foliage. Nearly all of the guests gathered together to share information about local sights and restaurants. It was nice to have that communal gathering which makes you feel like you are among friends. The inn itself is located in a quiet wooded area and it is very charming. The afternoon snack of macaroons was amazing. All of the rooms are comfortably furnished and charming. Breakfasts of freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruit, and a specialty entre were great during both mornings of our stay. Cindy and Rae are the heart and soul of the inn. They have created a special place for travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I traveled to New England with friends and had a wonderful time at the Squam Lake Inn. We were there on Columbus Day Weekend. Cindy and Rae were friendly and accommodating and dideverything possible to make our stay comfortable and fun. The food is quite good, and the restaurant is a popular place for visitors and locals at dinner, so be sure to let someone know if you plan to be there for dinner. The rooms are decorated in typical New England style. We also took the Squam Lake boat tour, which was fun. If you love birds, don't miss the Loon Center. We did see some loons and a bald eagle during the boat tour.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Cindy and Rae run a great inn -- highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearlee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

A great location in the middle of the state, the Inn is inviting and nicely decorated. The sitting and dining areas were large and comfortable, but the bedrooms are small. The Inn is near, but not on a lake, and the property is small but nicely landscaped. The staff was great and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

When we started planning another visit to New England there was one thing we both agreed upon.........we had to return to the SLI. We last visited in 2007 and much has changed in the intervening years and pretty much everything for the better.....new bar area, extended dining area, evening meals, new room etc. Cindy and Rae are still fantastic hosts and their enthusiasm and eye for detail seems to be instilled in all their staff. It's obvious that they and the team work extremely hard and equally obvious that they all love their job.
We stayed in Eagles Nest which was spotless, has to be highly recommended and provided a perfect base for our stay in the New Hampshire Lakes. The breakfasts are exceptional and the evening meals beat the fine (?) dining experience we had across the road hands down, and at a fraction of the cost.
If you're planning to stay in Holderness, it's a no brainer.....book in at the SLI you won't be disappointed. I'm sure we'll return if only to check progress on future projects and plans. Good luck to you both and thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No1Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Absolutely wonderful inn. The innkeepers clearly have an eye for detail . . Nothing is overlooked. No need to eat anywhere but at the Inn. The food was great, including the breakfast. We stayed in the Eagle's Nest. Nice room with huge bathroom. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audiodude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
317 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
241 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
414 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing