We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn!”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bettendorf Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Inn!”
Reviewed October 13, 2007

We just returned from our "leef peeping" tour of New England and stayed at this inn for two nights while in Holderness. I booked the inn based on the recommendation of fellow travelers on this web site. I must say the inn exceeded my expectations.The owners, Rae and Cindy, greet you and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Our room was very nice and comfortable. We had bathrobes which were something you don't expect in a B&B. The breakfasts were WONDERFUL! Staff were very helpful with suggestions for dinner. There are many unique restaurants in the vicinity. We ate at "The Common Man" and "The Italian Farmhouse". Both were delicious and each had an enjoyable atmosphere. There is so much to do in Holderness especially compared to other towns in New England we visited which mainly offered shopping. We especially enjoyed the personal tour of Squam Lake provided by Cindy from ... We found this link on the hotel web site and the two hour private tour was one of the highlightsof our trip. There are many areas to hike and explore. We will definately be returning!

  • Liked — Great location, many activities close by
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    30
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
160
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We found many things to like about the squam Lake inn as noted in previous reviews. Owners were very helpful with suggestions. The place is very clean and nicely decorated. Rooms are not cluttered with knicknacks like some b&b's.
They are on the small size however. Nice towels. bathrobes provided.

However, we did find the bed in the Winnipesaukee room
very very hard and not particularly comfortable.

Also there seemed to be only one standard breakfast served to all. fresh juice and fruit salad were very good. didn't particularly care for the apple pancake (very sweet) with canned whipped cream or the sausage. But noticed that everyone else seemed to be enjoying theirs. so maybe personal preference here.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton le Willows, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Stayed here with my husband in Sept 2007 for one night as part of a driving holiday around New England.

Book this Inn now!!! It is a beautiful B&B and the photo’s on its own website do not do it justice.

Its set in a lovely location in Holderness right near to Squam Lake and it’s a great staring point for exploring the lakes and other sights in the area. We drove past the main Winnipesauke Lake on the way there and the Inns and B&Bs around that did not look as half as good or inviting as the Squam Lake Inn.

The rooms are luxurious and spotless and the breakfast was fantastic. The bed was so cosy we didn’t want to get out of it! We were gutted that we had only booked one night there. I would definitely stay there again and have recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teakytick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This Inn was a fabulous find for us. This was our first visit to the Lake Region and I found this inn through the internet. The place is in great shape, the innkeepers (Rae and Cindy) take wonderful care of you. They keep a basket full of menus to help you choose places to eat (Lunch at the inn itself is great, be sure to get an ice cream sandwich), they offer wi-fi and since it's a dead zone for cell phones they even offered a phone with vonage for guest usage. We hiked several trails in the area and rented a canoe on Lake Winnipausakee (we were off season so no rentals on Squam Lake). Had a wonderful time and hope to get a chance to return.

  • Liked — the beds and breakfast
  • Disliked — no view but we knew that going in
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is a very nice bed and breakfast that we would jump at the opportunity to stay at again given the chance to return. It is just a few miles off the Interstate highway but is in a beautiful part of New Hampshire. Easy access to the lake and hiking trails.

The two ladies, Rae and Cindy, were both very helpful with suggestions for activities in the area. We stayed in the "Loon Room" and were very happy with the accommodations. The included breakfast was excellent and do not miss the homemade ice cream sandwiches they prepare during lunch.

This place is a winner!

  • Liked — Personal interaction with innkeepers/owners, location, food and room
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WF_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

We were driving in New England and came across Holderness on a day trip, we fell in love with the area, the lakes, scenery and ambience of the entire area. We saw the Inn on passing, but it had a no vacancy sign, however my husband decided to call in anyway, and low and behold the Winnepauskee room was available. The whole place was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We were more than impressed, we could only stay one night as we had to move on, how I wish I could have spent just one more night. Cindy was very welcoming and the breakfast delicious. I would definately reccommend this Inn to anyone without reservation.

Peggie
Ireland

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank peigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights during mid september 2006. The inn is charming, and the innkeepers Cindy and Rae very hospitable and welcoming. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the bed was SO comfortable. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Inn to anyone, a great place to stay.

  • Liked — No TV! and cell phone could not get a signal!
  • Disliked — Communal area outside our room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do the Golden Lake boat tour with Buddy - highlight of the trip.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
322 reviews
6.8 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
243 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
417 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing