We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
  
Ways to Experience Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
from $139.00
More Info
from $2,349.00
More Info
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
280
70
12
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
70
12
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden pond squam lake all ages interactive exhibits boat tour natural science center mountain lion natural setting wild animals bald eagles local wildlife hands on activities new hampshire educational experience nature trail gift shop live animals
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 365 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Kind of a combination of hiking trail and zoo. The animal exhibits were excellent. I especially enjoyed seeing the mountain lion and other cats. We also got to see a tiny saw whet owl during a presentation. The presenter was very informative, professional, and engaging.

At $15 per person, it's a good value. It takes at least a couple hours to see all there is to see, and you can bring in your own lunch to eat in their rustic (think: picnic tables) pavilion.

We are two adults without children and we loved it! There were lots of kids there running around, and they loved it too, it seemed. :)

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Coco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks so much for your comments! The saw-whet owl is a popular animal here and I'm glad you were able to see it during one of our Up Close to Animals presentations. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

While visiting in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire, we decided to try something a little different for us. We had been to this area several times and never done the Squam Lake Cruise. Anyone who gets the opportunity, should definitely take this cruise. The guide was very fun and new so many facts about this Lake. We did get to see from a distance several Loons. They did not want to cooperate and get up closer to the pontoon boat. Still a great 90 mins.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your cruise and we hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great experience for young kids and adults. There are informative, interactive and fun things for everyone to do. The mountain lions were a highlight.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank chrisw162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We agree that the mountain lions are amazing animals. Did you know that mountain lions are the closest living relatives of cheetahs? We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Kids do not necessarily want thrill rides and sugar--at least not all the time. This is a place where someone has put a great deal of thought into what kids want. The paths are easily walkable with a stroller or to let them loose to run from place to place. The animals are amazing, well cared for and their enclosures are spacious and beautifully done. Each little hut has interactive educational opportunities that take the experience from a toddler giggling at the otters to older kids who can read, ask questions and need more information. And every now and then, there's just a place to play. The adjacent garden is breathtaking and food in the little cafe was perfect--quick and tasty. We would never have gone if we didn't have two toddlers but that would have been our loss. Wonderful, all around.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Nomad1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for the thoughtful comments. We're so glad you visited us and enjoyed your day here. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have visited the Science Center three times in the past 7 years, and each visit was better than the last. Most recently, I went with two children 7 & 10 and a guest from out of town. We spent 4 hours there and also did the gardens attached to the Center. It was a wonderful time, and very educational. All the animals were lively on this warm July morning and we got up close and personal with otters, bobcats and a mountain lion. The trails are easy to navigate and can be longer or shorter depending on your path. Kids area half way through is a great way for them to blow off steam, and every exhibit has hands-on activities for the kids. Naturalists throughout give you more information about the animals, we were able to pat a turtle and see an owl up close. Don't skip the gift shop, they have neat things and even the Tshirts were better than usual quality and some really neat designs. Worth the trip!!!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Lytlex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks so much for your nice comments! I find that bringing visitors with me to the Science Center gives me a new appreciation for everything here. It sounds like you had a full and very good day. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews