We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for younger children...”

Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Squam Lake Science Center Tour plus On Golden Pond Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is a fun and enlightening place for everyone to enjoy. Here at the Science Center, we house and exhibit many different wild animals, including river otters, mountain lions, bobcats, deer, bears, birds, foxes, and skunks. The wild animals at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center are ambassadors of their species, here for the purpose of educating our visitors about New Hampshire's natural world. Most are orphaned, injured, or otherwise unable to survive in the wild. Observing these animals up-close, together with experiencing our hands-on exhibits, offers visitors the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of our native wildlife and appreciation of the natural world.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently went to the Natural Science Center with a friend. We just wanted a quiet leisurely day. I had been here once before 10 years ago with my 11 year old daughter and her friend. It is a fun, clean place. There are many animals and birds. It is clean and easy to walk the paths. I have to say that this attraction is probably most appropriate for anyone 12 and under. I believe teens would be bored. As adults we were amused...but like I said...I had been before and knew what to expect.
The staff was very friendly.
This is a great family place. It is a learning experience with many displays. At certain times during the day staff will gather people at sitting areas and bring the animals and talk about them and answer questions.

Thank rhonda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We're so glad you returned for another visit. Little kids certainly get a lot out of the animals and exhibits but our goal is for all ages to do so. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon. Maybe a cruise on Squam Lake would be something new!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 319 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were driving in the area and happened on the Squam Lake Natural Science Center. With our membership from the Philadelphia Zoo the cost was very reasonable. We thoroughly enjoyed our two hours there. The peregrin falcon demonstration was excellent. The natural setting of the animal and bird enclosures give you the feeling that all are still in the wild. Most of the animals have been injured somehow and could ot survive in the wild. Enclosures were clean and all the wildlife looked very healthy. There were numerous interactive displays for children. We would certain take our grandchildren here.

Thank TravelerFromPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We're so glad you found us! It sounds like you enjoyed your visit. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Science Center, after a very informative boat ride around Squam Lake. We'll repeat the excursion next year.

Thank whiteseabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

That's great that you were able to do a Squam Lake Cruise and also walk the animal exhibit trail. Squam Lake is beautiful - a rare undeveloped gem in the lakes region. We're glad you enjoyed the animal exhibit trail as well. We hope to see you again next year!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I took our 10 and 2 year old. They loved seeing the animals and we sat and saw a presentation on hawks that both kids enjoyed. The bears were great to see too. My 2 year old is still talking about this 3 weeks later. The Nature center is really well done and the staff is great.

Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and were able to get up close with the animals at the Science Center. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been to the Squam Lake Science Center twice and loved it both times. There are plenty of animals to see and the path is well laid out, with lots of shade and not too much distance between the exhibits. There is also huge activity barn in the middle of the tour, with slides, rope-climbing apparatus, a cave for kids to pretend to hibernate, etc. Plus, the book shop is great.

A must stop for anyone travelling to the lakes region with kids.

2  Thank Person3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments! We take a lot of pride in the exhibits, activities, and care of the Science Center. The Gordon Children's Center (the barn with the very kid-friendly activities) is a huge hit with kids of all ages. Our staff has been known to play on the slides while closing the trail, too. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squam Lakes Natural Science Center also viewed

Holderness, White Mountains
Rumney, White Mountains
 

Been to Squam Lakes Natural Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing