We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Squam Lake Science Center Tour plus On Golden Pond Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is a fun and enlightening place for everyone to enjoy. Here at the Science Center, we house and exhibit many different wild animals, including river otters, mountain lions, bobcats, deer, bears, birds, foxes, and skunks. The wild animals at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center are ambassadors of their species, here for the purpose of educating our visitors about New Hampshire's natural world. Most are orphaned, injured, or otherwise unable to survive in the wild. Observing these animals up-close, together with experiencing our hands-on exhibits, offers visitors the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of our native wildlife and appreciation of the natural world.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been to the Squam Lake Science Center twice and loved it both times. There are plenty of animals to see and the path is well laid out, with lots of shade and not too much distance between the exhibits. There is also huge activity barn in the middle of the tour, with slides, rope-climbing apparatus, a cave for kids to pretend to hibernate, etc. Plus, the book shop is great.

A must stop for anyone travelling to the lakes region with kids.

2  Thank Person3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments! We take a lot of pride in the exhibits, activities, and care of the Science Center. The Gordon Children's Center (the barn with the very kid-friendly activities) is a huge hit with kids of all ages. Our staff has been known to play on the slides while closing the trail, too. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

we were 4 adults traveling together- enjoyed everything about this Science Center including the wonderful boat tour of Squam Lake with Bev! He is a delight and so knowledgeable!

Thank 50statewannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments! I'll be sure to pass them along to Bev. Squam Lake is beautiful and we're glad you enjoyed your tour. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

On our wonderful annual trip to the Boulders Motel a walk down to the Science Center is a must.
My children, 16yrs. and 11yrs., would not consider the vacation complete without our walk threw the center. The Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is a educational experience that is fun, informative and beautifully maintained. There are many interactive buildings that are perfect for kids. Crawl through tunnels like a groundhog or climb a giant spider web and feel your way to the end where you exit via a slide. These interactive buildings make the center unique from other"zoo" parks. The mountain lions, bears and otters never disappoint. You can enjoy the magnificent animals that are kept in natural habitats,many that have been rescued from the lakes area. Also, throughout the day there are scheduled lectures that show many of the animals close up. Whether animal education is your focus, the stunning trails filled with wildlife or a great day of fun the N.H.Science Center is the place to be.

2  Thank beachgirlybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We're so glad you make a visit to the Science Center part of your annual trip to the area. We hope you were able to see some of our other animals not normally seen on the trail at the Up Close to Animals presentations. We hope you'll be back to visit us again next year during your vacation!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We toured with Joe around Squam Lake and had a wonderful opportunity to see and hear all about this beautiful part of the country. We spotted several Loons and got a real education on these peaceful birds!

Thank RIfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Squam Lake Cruise. The loons are amazing and beautiful birds. It's great that you were able to see some on your cruise. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Fabulous interactive areas and great walk up the Mt Fayal trail. Our six year old loved it. The route was easy to follow and each area offering something different

Thank Bmdm000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit! Isn't the view of Squam Lake from the top of Mt. Fayal beautiful? We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squam Lakes Natural Science Center also viewed

Holderness, White Mountains
Rumney, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Squam Lakes Natural Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing