We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the science center”

Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Squam Lake Science Center Tour plus On Golden Pond Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is a fun and enlightening place for everyone to enjoy. Here at the Science Center, we house and exhibit many different wild animals, including river otters, mountain lions, bobcats, deer, bears, birds, foxes, and skunks. The wild animals at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center are ambassadors of their species, here for the purpose of educating our visitors about New Hampshire's natural world. Most are orphaned, injured, or otherwise unable to survive in the wild. Observing these animals up-close, together with experiencing our hands-on exhibits, offers visitors the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of our native wildlife and appreciation of the natural world.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I love the science center”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I love the science center. It's great to see the animals in natural habitats, and walk the cool tree covered paths. They had interesting animal talks. The lake boat tours are also great. Wonderful place that's frequently updated/expanded.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank savann8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments and great photos! We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    53
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I would not have expected much from a nature center in such a rural location; maybe some cages with animals. But this is so much more. A series of trails (all less than a mile) meander through a peaceful wooded area and over wetlands near the beautiful Squam Lake. Along the trails are many exhibits that have been designed to be not only interesting and informative but more importantly blend into the setting in a completely natural way allowing you to see a large variety of animals and birds in realistic environments. There is also a 90-minute tour of the lake on an open pontoon boat which is a very pleasant extension of time spent at the nature center. Admission is a bit pricey but worth the expense.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for visiting the Science Center! We are a bit off the beaten path but it seems that you agree it was worth it. As a non-profit, all revenue from our admission fees help to support the Science Center's mission to advance understanding of ecology by exploring new Hampshire's natural world. We have admissions coupons available in local and regional tourism publications that can help offset the cost. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were the only two there without kids. It was a nice walk and the animals were fun, but there were lots of kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We're firm believers that the Science Center is fun for all ages, not just children, and we're glad to hear you did enjoy it. It seems you probably visited us during our very busy school field trip season. If you are coming during May and June and want a quieter time of day, anytime after 1:00 p.m. is generally much quieter. We hope you'll come to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a very nice time here. The animals were awake and active and the Eagles put on a show for us. The center does a great job with the animal habitats. The grounds were nice and easy to walk and enjoy everything. Some parents had no control over their children, but that seems to be everywhere now days.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for visiting the Science Center. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and that the eagles put on a special show. Great photos, too! I'm sorry to hear about the other "animals" on the trail. We hope you'll visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campton, NH
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Extremely impressed”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A beautiful walk through the woods, a decent amount of wildlife and a thoughtout great layout of a nature center. We've lived in new hampshire for 14 years and kept meaning to to visit the science center. Finally we got the chance on a beautiful day and were very impressed with the center. Not all the events were up and running (they just opened for the season) but this place, abeit small and not a zoo, was well planned out. One looping mile walk through the woods with stops to see mountain lions, bobcats and river otters ( to name a few animals); a childrens 'play barn' and an array of birds; another trail that climbs a small mountain. This is place is geared towards children and as soon as the season gets hopping we'll be back for more events for the kids. A must attraction for the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank doogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We're glad that you finally made it to Squam Lakes Natural Science Center and hope to see you again this summer.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squam Lakes Natural Science Center also viewed

Rumney, White Mountains
Holderness, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Squam Lakes Natural Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing