We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a trip!”

Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Squam Lake Science Center Tour plus On Golden Pond Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is a fun and enlightening place for everyone to enjoy. Here at the Science Center, we house and exhibit many different wild animals, including river otters, mountain lions, bobcats, deer, bears, birds, foxes, and skunks. The wild animals at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center are ambassadors of their species, here for the purpose of educating our visitors about New Hampshire's natural world. Most are orphaned, injured, or otherwise unable to survive in the wild. Observing these animals up-close, together with experiencing our hands-on exhibits, offers visitors the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of our native wildlife and appreciation of the natural world.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the highlights of every summer is a visit to the Science Center with our granddaughters. We always find some new and interesting discovery.
A great take!

1  Thank Rosemary1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments! We're glad you enjoy visiting the Science Center with your granddaughters each summer. We look forward to seeing you again this season!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"golden pond"
in 29 reviews
"squam lake"
in 65 reviews
"all ages"
in 31 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 13 reviews
"boat tour"
in 23 reviews
"natural science center"
in 24 reviews
"mountain lion"
in 18 reviews
"natural setting"
in 7 reviews
"wild animals"
in 11 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 6 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 7 reviews
"new hampshire"
in 21 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 11 reviews
"learn something"
in 4 reviews
"lakes region"
in 13 reviews
"nice picnic area"
in 4 reviews
"great place to learn"
in 5 reviews
Filter

254 - 258 of 328 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

There is no local zoo in the lakes region, but this is as close as you can get to one with various wild animals in their natural habitats. Very interesting facts about loons and other animals. I can't wait for my grandchildren to get old enough so I can have a reason to go back again.

1  Thank Sandmolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

You never need a reason to visit the Science Center but certainly the grandchildren will enjoy it as much as you have. We look forward to seeing you on the trails this season!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Surprising how much there is to see at the Center and how many activities they offer. Definitely do the boat tours!

1  Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Exactly! We're much more than people realize. That's great that you were able to get out on the water to enjoy Squam Lake. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went there years back when the kids were small and have always wanted to go back. The animals are very well cared for, and the grounds with the trails are worth the visit. I do plan to get back there this year and spend a day!

1  Thank slabpile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your visits from the past and we look forward to seeing you again this summer. It's a fun day for all ages!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is sort of a zoo with a nature trail. The Science Center takes in injured or abandoned wild animals. They have a variety of wild cats, deer, bear, fox, birds of prey, amphibians, etc. It's a lovely trail to walk on even if you're not interested in viewing the animals.
If you live in the area, its worth it to get a family membership. Whenever our friends/kids come up, that's one of our favorite stops. And its all for a good cause!

1  Thank thursday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

I think you gave us a pretty accurate description - like a zoo with a nature trail. It sounds like you have been able to enjoy the Science Center and all we have to offer with your family which is great. Thanks for the very nice comments!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squam Lakes Natural Science Center also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Squam Lakes Natural Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing