We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, underwhelming food”

Walter's Basin Pub or the Basshole Pub
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Holderness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overpriced, underwhelming food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a tourist trap for sure. It's location is the only thing keeping it going. It is located near a scene in "On Golden Pond" and named after the fish in the movie. The atmosphere and dingy, not clean. Below average food.

Helpful?
1 Thank MountainsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    100
    30
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Good meal for a fair price”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

In a nutshell - the food was good, the portions were large (the deserts are really big), the waitress was very friendly, and the prices are less than other comparable restaurants.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better the Second Time”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arriving for our weekend late on a Friday evening, we decided to hit the pub at Walter's since it was close to our inn. We already had reservations in the dining room for Saturday night, so we wanted to check it out. Torn between the bison burger and fish and chips, we decided to get both and share. The clam chowder we started with was disappointingly luke warm and overly thickened (what I refer to as "tourist" chowder. When our entrees arrived, the only thing hot was the fish - which was tasty and crisp. The bison burger was lackluster and barely warm, the fries were room temperature and the frozen type with some kind of crunch coating. I should have opted for the homemade chips.

The next night was a different experience. Seated at a window table (as requested when making the reservation) we were treated to two lovely meals and were happy that we gave Walter's another try. The lobster mac and cheese was delightfully decadent and worth every calorie! My boyfriend's steak was tender and delivered as ordered, and accompanying sides - mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables were tasty, fresh and well-prepared.

The real shining star here was the service. From our friendly hostess to our servers Whitney (pub) and Christian (dining room). They were friendly and attentive, and definitely added to the dining experience. Despite our pub experience, we would definitely come back to Walter's again, especially the dining room.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Short but, varied menu that will please any palate. We had an excellent Prime Rib and Mixed Seafood Plate.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALTON BAY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lakeside Dining”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

On the day we were there, it was not very crowded and we did get a seat right by the window overlooking Little Squam Lake. When that happens, it doesn't matter if the food is that great. I do remember that it was good though.

Helpful?
Thank Sandmolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter's Basin Pub or the Basshole Pub also viewed

Holderness, White Mountains
Plymouth, White Mountains
 
Ashland, White Mountains
Holderness, White Mountains
 
Holderness, White Mountains
 

Been to Walter's Basin Pub or the Basshole Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing