We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ashland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Trail Motel(Holderness)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
117
23
12
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
23
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsfire pitprivate beachsquam lakecrystal clear waterget awaynewfoundland dogsguests gatherclass reunionmain buildingsized refrigeratordirectly across the streetfantastic place to spendwinter staymost important factorlovely gift shopfun weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 160 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This is a wonderful place to gather for a reunion, or larger family get together. Everyone can have their own dwelling and gather in quaint inviting spots throughout the property. "The Lodge" holds a large crowd and is so cozy and inviting. The whole enviroment makes it easy to enjoy the company of family and friends. Just a terrific place to build special memories with love ones. Everyone is so accomadating and want you to be very comfortable and go to great lenghts to insure just that!
My family and I love it and will always return to the cottage place!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcguigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This cottage place captures what NH is really about. It is rustic, and it is a great place just to rent out with families and friends. The lake is a two second walk from the cottages and it makes it easy to have a great time! The Lodge is fantastic place to spend with family and friends! Best vacation I have every had!

A well run business with great employees! I would rent a place out every year!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLoveNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We have been going to The Cottage Place on Squam Lake with our two grandsons, who are now 5 and 7 years old, for the past 4 years. We originally chose The Cottage Place because it had the best beach we could find in the area suitable for young children. We have had some great times here with our grand kids. Fishing off the dock, gentle sloping sandy beach, campfires, swing set and picnic tables. Of course, it would be better if there were not a road between the cottages and the beach but it turned out to be not that much of a problem. The cottages are old but comfortable. The folks who run the Cottage Place are very friendly and helpful. We will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poncho42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We are not fussy people. We enjoy simple and quaint accomodations. At first glance that's what we thought our cottage was. A bit rustic, a mish mash of furniture, but quaint. Except for the smell. It had the distinct odor of some type of sewerage. It was late so we decided to go to bed and thought we'd deal with it in the morning.The bed was small (full size) had extremely scratchy sheets and was noisy and very uncomfortable.We figured we could deal for 3 nights. The next morning my husband went to shower and the tub kept filling while showering. It was almost full when he finished and took about 30 minutes to drain. I left a note with the desk about it, no one was around, and when we got back there was a note stating they had snaked the lines and plunged the tub. Now it was draining and the smell was gone. First thing we did when we got back was make a fire. While I was in the bathroom the entire cottage filled up with smoke. The chimmney design was so off that unless your logs were at the backside of the fireplace, the smoke came out into the room. After opening all the windows and moving the logs, the smoke cleared out and we went to bed. The next night the same thing happened with the fire and then the wood just wouldn't burn. We bought it from them, and it was full of dirt and just smoldered. The kitchen was no better. There was no counter space or storage or cabinets. There were no bowls, hardly any sliverware, and no sharp knives. I feel this place was way over priced for the condition of the place. After 3 nights, my husbands back and neck were so sore that we decided to just head home rather than spend the day......DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2010

The unfortunate plumbing issues were dealt with immediately and a complimentary bag of cedar was extended to enjoy in the fireplace. The real wood burning fireplaces require a skillfully set fire that will create a proper draft and it is essential to use the kindling wood that we provide. We understand creating a draft is sometime difficult, but it is impossible if you do not open the flu, which is what happened in this case. Our wood is purchased by the cord and from a local logging operation which cuts, splits and seasons it for one year before it is delivered to us. I burn it very successfully in the coffee shop and lobby area. The queen size mattress and box springs have since been replaced in this cottage. We are a small family run operation and love this 1957 property which to us is full of natural beauty and charm. We have to be a good match for what travelers are hoping to experience. Our website has inside and outside photos and we strive for accuracy in all descriptions. We are attentive and corrective when we know about the guests issues and we can usually solve most all problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

This place was disgusting. Overpriced, misrepresented on it's website, dirty and decrepit rooms, linoleum floors that looked like they were never washed, nasty looking beds and furniture. Website makes it looks like it is right on the lake. It is not. It is on a highway with incessant traffic directly across from the lake. The woman who runs the place was barely civil and not interested in providing even basic information to guests on attractions in the area. I recommend people stay away from this tourist trap.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank druid47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews