We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 12th year staying at Yankee Trail Motel”
Review of Yankee Trail Motel

Yankee Trail Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yankee Trail Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our 12th year staying at Yankee Trail Motel”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have been coming to Yankee Trail Motel for 12 years now. We love Kayaking, fishing and
hiking and they are close to all the lakes we want to go. We alway go in Sept (after the children
go back to shcool) and love the quietness of the place. We like to sleep with the window open
and have no problem with this as there are all woods in back. We have never used the pool (usually
to cold for us in Sept), but it always looked clean. At that time of year, the breakfast resturant
is only open on weekends (unless there are a lot of guests in the rooms), but we found the sandwiches
and coffee in gas station up the street excellent, but don't compare to the excellent breakfast at the
resturant. The motel is small - only 10 rooms - and that is we love about it. Prior to finding Yankee
Trail, we have stayed at several other motels in the area and found for the price we couldn't beat
Yankee Trail. Rooms clean, Shower great and bed firm.

Sharrie and Bill the owners are wonderful and will do anything possibly to make your stay more
comfortable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

1. My wife and I stayed at Yankee Trails this summer. We were very pleased with the accommodations. The owner was extremely helpful, the room was in excellent condition, and all the mechanics worked nicely. The owners had recently painted all the sidewalks and nicely repaired the in-ground pool. It is very clean and comfortable and has a very nice breakfast menu. A perfect location if you are kayaking or just vacationing in the Squam area.
We plan to return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altamura
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

No breakfast. No water,it was broken. Room was not clean. Bathroom the same. The pool was full of dark things and impossible to swim. It was very unconfortable. The director tryed to be nice. Next time i will stay in another place. too expensive for a bad service.
Next time i will find a better hotel, maybe the hotel across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpercoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Pelton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nice motel, reasonable rates, older but clean. My wife and I and her parents stayed for four nights. Hospitality was excellent, the owners are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. We ate at there breakfast diner everyday, great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tompelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoemakersville PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2009

It was a shame the room was not as friendly and charming as the owners. A better choice is the Ashland NH Comfort Inn (five miles away) that has a lower rate, breakfast included, and is clean! We needed a place to stay along a return trip from Maine and were planning on touring and hiking at Castle in the Clouds and visiting the Loon Center in nearby Moultenborough. This motel was directionally on our way, had a restaurant for breakfast and was supposed to be located close to Sqaum lake so we took a chance. When we arrived the owner asked us if we needed breakfast and what time since they would only be opening the restaurant for the guests. She provided dining advice and dinner reservations. She showed us the room and had already turned on the AC for us. The room was in sore need of an update and had a slight odor. The lighting was poor which helped mask some of the dinginess but we were hoping the odor would dissipate. The bathroom seemed clean so we changed and went to dinner. After this it is all downhill folks. When we returned the odor had gotten worse and the longer you were in the room, even with spraying, it returned. We turned down the bed and the sheets seemed in need of some bleach. Something was biting my back when I laid down on the sheet (let's hope it was some type of black gnat) which led us to inspect the bed more thoroughly to find at least a quarter inch of dust and dirt on the bed rails. When we lifted the sheet the mattress pad was covered with hair and some dirt that I cannot even guess at. By this time it is around 10:30 pm and we are trying to figure out how far to drive and where to stay since we had already paid for two nights. This had never happened to us before. We called the owners (woke them up) to explain the problem to be told they could not switch the room. I assured them we did not want the room switched and needed to leave but just had to find a place to go. They inspected the room with us, made a reservation at the Comfort Inn, and gave us a full refund. Sharri the owner truly did seem mortified and stated this had never happened to them before. I guess she was not checking on her cleaning staff and the bad lighting and the bed covers hid the horrors. They then had trouble with running the credit on my card so it was after 12:00pm when we finally got to the Comfort Inn.
The two hours after dinner in that room were the some of longest in our lives.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We went to this motel at the recommendation of business associates we were visiting in the area.

The room and bathroom were clean, but it needs updating. As well, the room smelled musty, even after having the windows open for a while. We were tired and staying only one night, so it didn't bother us too much. Having said that, I think the cost of the room should have been lower, but it's probably comparable to similar establishment in the area.

Apart from that, service was very nice and courteous.

  • Liked — The nice lady running the place
  • Disliked — Musty smell in room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
7.3 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
93 reviews
5.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
367 reviews
7.2 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Trail Motel

Property: Yankee Trail Motel
Address: 430 Route 3, Holderness, NH
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing