We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
150
57
26
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
57
26
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagolden ponddining roomsquam lakenew englandcooking classview of the lakechurchill roomthe wood burning fireplacebed was very comfortableget awaythe entire staffwinter weekendfeel specialsandwichbeautiful propertycommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 270 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

A very comfortable bed, a fireplace in the room, a port with a view of the lake, friendly waitstaff and delicious food were all reasons to love this place. The grounds could use a bit more attention, but that's nit-picking. We definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

After our weekend here, I left feeling ambivalent about returning. We paid a lot for the 2-room suite and it was beautiful. It did, however, need some TLC, with some water stains on the ceiling and the tiles in the shower stall is desperate need of replacement (two loose floor tiles actually shifted underneath my feet and pinched the bottom of my foot!). The outside deck was good sized with a nice view of the lake across the street, but needed overhaul (from the looks of it, that work has started on other decks). The deck furniture consisted of two plastic chairs and no table, so I had to bring a small round table from the room out each time we wanted to sit outside. While I’m on the subject of the outside, it also looked like it needed a LOT of TLC.
The overall inn is stunning. The main room is large and beautifully decorated. The pub, located off of the main room was nice, but we only used it one night we were there. The other nights we were there, it was “open” but we went in and sat down, waited about 10 minutes for someone to come over from the restaurant and ended up leaving. I’m sure it’s not cost effective to staff the pub all evening, but someone needs to keep checking on it to see if a guest is out there.
Breakfast room was beautiful and the meals were fine, although not memorable. We ate dinner there one night and the Bolognese was delicious and ample. The desserts were disappointing.
As I read this review, I find it’s focusing on the negatives too much, but can’t really put my finger on something outstanding to say about the place. Maybe it just wasn’t my cup of tea…

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a second time in the Sandwich Suite and found our stay to be again wonderful. Everything from the decor, the location (yes, it is separated from the Squam Lake by a roadway) the amenities, the restaurant, the bar- all are just wonderful. From the owners, Brian and Mary Ellen to Meghan, Barbara, Alicia, Abraham everybody was helpful, friendly and polite.

Arnold K.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Arnold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Loved out weekend at The Manor on Golden Pond. Everything was as I had hoped it would be. We stayed in the Churchill Room which was beautiful. Retaining the original charm but with every attention to detail, we especially enjoyed the stunning views and real wood burning fireplace. it was quiet which is important to me. The rest of the Inn is gorgeous with its warm woods, real fireplaces, and cozy nooks. The food was delicious - both the cooked to order breakfasts and the dinner we had beside a cozy fire. Every staff member there is warm and friendly - felt like we were visiting friends. It was a perfect winter weekend getaway - so cozy and relaxing!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dsfa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoron G, Owner at The Manor on Golden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. It gives up great pride when we know our guests have a wonderful experience at the Manor. Hope our paths cross again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

We had a lovely relaxing stay at the Manor at Golden Pond. Our room the Winsor had a fabulous view of the lake and the mountains. It was wonderful having a fireplace. We dined at the restaurant and were very impressed. The shrimp appetizer could have been a meal on its' own. The steak and lamb entrees were great and the chocolate mouse to die for. The innkeepers were very friendly and accommodating. It was old nice to have the spa services available.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueS34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoron G, Owner at The Manor on Golden Pond, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

That Windsor room has such a fantastic view of the lake. A perfect place to dream about the future or just relax with a cup of tea. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Our chef is a fantastic chef. The kitchen smells are always fantastic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews