We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sorry we had to leave.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor on Golden Pond
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sorry we had to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Brian and Mary Ellen the perfect hosts....You made our stay a very pleasant memory.
Once we walked through your doors and were greeted by your staff it all went up hill from there. We were able to peak at a few of your rooms and found them all to be lovely. Our stay in the Buckingham room was extremely comfortable. We loved walking out on the porch and looking at the view. Such a peaceful setting you have. I'm just sorry we didn't have more time in the area to enjoy more of your services. We spoke with other guests who had the opportunity to dine with you and were quite happy with their meal. I highly recommend your Inn to others and look forward to our return. (I have my eye on the Norfolk Room).
Wishing you both a fabulous winter season.
The Maher's .

Room Tip: The suites on the first floor are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    41
    24
    20
    15
See reviews for
15
158
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We wanted a quiet, tranquil retreat where we could relax and unwind with a little pampering and that's definitely what we got at the Manor on Golden Pond. The hotel is in a beautiful setting; on a hill overlooking Squam Lake and surrounded by mountains and forest. We had the Stratford room which had a little patio outside with wonderful views of the grounds and the lake across the street. I think we were some of the only guests at the hotel that weekend so it was especially peaceful and relaxing. Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed, comfy armchairs and robes. The decor is in the expected country house hotel style so no flatscreen TVs here, which was more than okay with us. We didn't use the heated, outdoor pool or the spa but both are available on the property. There are lots of movies available to watch in your room, books, magazines and games like chess and backgammon. Nice touches. The only disappointing thing was the food. There are two restaurants at the hotel; the M Bistro which is the more casual option and the "fine dining" restaurant also. We ate at the bistro the first night and ordered room service from the other restaurant on the second night. Both menus were very unusual, but not really in a good way! There were some strange items like "Ham and Beans" listed! A lot of unappetizing options. And also some of the same items listed in both menus which is a little lazy! The food itself, when it came out, was very average and was very "home cooking" rather than restaurant quality, in my opinion. Breakfast was the same; just very ordinary and not particularly well cooked even. I was definitely expecting much better. I think they seriously need to consider hiring a real chef to enhance the overall customer experience and that's why I"m rating this property as a 4 overall rather than a 5.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The facility is tranquil and well appointed. A beautiful location very relaxing with plenty of activities. A resort of this caliber should have a fine table. Far from it. The menu has little imagination in the main restaurant and the food is mediocre at best. The pub food is far from it. Ham steak and beans???? No sandwiches or burgers in a pub. I think not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford,NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

On a hill overlooking Squam Lake (On Golden Pond) is a grand manor which waits to meet your every desire. The Manor is from the turn of the century which boast beautiful wood paneling and fine carvings. The food is gourmet and reasonably priced. The service is impeccable. Our room had a fireplace and a deck overlooking the lake. In the evening you could sit on the deck with a glass of wine and listen to the loons. Don't be afraid to ask for special things. We went with friends who were celebrating their 35th anniversary and we wanted to treat them to dinner. I call the manor and asked that the menus have no prices printed on them so our friends would have what they wanted without being concerned about the price. The Manor made up the new menus and presented them at dinner. There is always a morning coffee station set up, an afternoon lemonade or ice station and high tea is served at 4 pm. A complete and delicious breakfast is included in your room rate. If you want to feel special and have a wonderful holiday go to the Manor on Golden Pond. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with a fireplace and mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was fun...we had a corner suite overlooking the lake with a fireplace, comfortable bed and huge bathroom- no complaint's about the room

Some minor service issues at dinner...our table was not ready at the time of reservations- we were taken to the lounge- did have a drink- but then the hostess disappeared for over 45 minutes...food was outstanding but there was an off putting odor from the fireplace (wet ashes) right behind the table

All that said - will come back and di enjoy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameslfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of our New England road trip honeymoon. I must admit it, I was a bit taken aback when I first saw the property -- it is a teeny bit run down in places. However, any hesitation that I may have had upon first glance quickly dissipated! This is a Manor, after all. Once you have that mindset, you realize how cozy afternoon tea, decor and fireplaces are!
The service was just stellar -- wonderful inn keepers, truly!! I purchased the "Manor on Golden Pond" package, which included an amazing 4-star dinner! The breakfasts were decadent and delicious. It was the loveliness of the service that really put this trip over the top : ) We had a wonderful stay at the Manor ... and are counting the days until we can return.

Room Tip: You'll have to "go big" on this one. The smaller rooms may leave some modern travelers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Boy am I perplexed by this one. This property is supposedly a Small Luxury Hotel - when was the last time they reviewed the property?

As you drive up the drive you see a large building - and upon closer inspection it is in need of tlc. We were greeted by a very friendly person who showed us the property - lounge where tea is served in the afternoon along with snacks, the bar, restaurant (there are 2, one of which breakfast is served) and then took us to our room which was in the main house (2nd floor). She told us we were upgraded (that is a stretch) and were shown to our room (Canterbury). What can I say, old, outdated and in bad need of updating. Here is an example - the tv is 10-12" with a vcr attached on the bottom (anyone remember those - of course not they are about 15-20 years old).

We had a partial view of lake - from what I can tell all rooms have partial views as there is only a partial view of the lake from the property. Secondly, it was made partial by the fact that an air conditioner is in one window - and it would be a bit helpful if they would clear the cobwebs off the outside windows as well.

As for the bathroom - can I say motel quality - the shower is one of those plastic drop ins. The only good thing was nice soaps/shampoos.

Have I talked price - seriously way way over priced. It may be an slh but they should just leave out the "l".

We had breakfast which was just fine - never at the at restaurants because the "fancy" one is $75 price fix (seriously).

Here is my recommendation - don't stay here - across the street is the Inn at Squam Lake where we had dinner which was great. They also own the local general store and given the quality of that, their restaurant and other store - stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlwaysgoneFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
6.7 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
20.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
5.9 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Property: The Manor on Golden Pond
Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is a 24 room country Inn with each room unique. Booking direct allows you to select the room that you most like. Each room has TV, free long distant phone service on continental USA, luxury robes, free wifi, frette linens, turndown service, comfortable sitting areas. The Van Horn dining room offers exceptional cuisine in a relaxed but elegant atmosphere. Seasons Sap offers a full array of spa treatments. All rates include a full country breakfast and afternoon tea. Minimum age of guest is 12 years of age. Leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing