We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance In New Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor on Golden Pond
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This beautiful hotel in Holderness, NH, is located on Squam Lake where the movie, "On Golden Pond" was filmed. We've stayed there in October (leaves) and January (snow) and would heartily recommend The Manor to anyone, anytime! The owners, Brian and Mary Ellen, are excellent hosts and have obviously chosen staff members who share their penchant for hospitality and comfort. They will become your new benchmark for service and satisfaction.

A scrumptious hot breakfast is included, and every room features a wood-burning fireplace so comfy and easy to operate you'll want to keep it "cranked up" in front of the wingback chairs continually. The rooms are large with great views of Squam Lake and the surrounding hills. For winter visits, the second floor views of the frozen lake and snow-covered terrain are spectacular. All rooms are spacious, absolutely spotless with every amenity you could wish with beds and seating areas so comfortable it is amazing.

The Manor offers four-star dining facilities; and the chef, Peter, prepares dishes so unique in taste and presentation you may not want to dine anywhere else during your stay. Have a tray of chocolate covered strawberries Peter prepares so beautifully delivered to your room. $25, but so special you'll do it again, we guarantee. Holderness has a couple of restaurants and Ashland and Plymouth have everything from fast food to ethnic specialities.

You could spend your entire stay in the lobby/living room and den or your room (it's that interesting and comfortable), but you'll want to get out and visit nearby Ashland and Plymouth. The Country Store in Ashland is filled with items so varied it's an attraction in itself, and across the street is Wholly Tara's, the most irresistible and well managed women's apparel shop we have ever seen...... anywhere. It reflects the taste and personality of the owner, Tara (hence the name), who knows more about her suppliers and taste than one person should be allowed to possess! She'll make your day brighter, no doubt!

In warmer months, guided pontoon tours of the lake, includes dockside approach to the home where On Golden Pond was filmed. The marina featured in one scene of the movie is located right in Holderness. Take the scenic drive that loops the entire shoreline of Squam Lake and visit the Loon Center, a museum dedicated to this special visitor to Squam that is so much a part of their heritage.

We're from the south, where hospitality is legendary; but everyone we met at the Manor or in Ashland and Plymouth were unmatched in their warmth toward visitors. If you're traveling by commercial air, fly into Manchester; and the exit to Ashland and Holderness is about an hour north on the interstate. One note of warning regarding the airport: The rental car area is a good hike from baggage reclaim, all indoors, but about 1/4 mile with two escalators or elevators involved. For older persons, ask your airline or rental car company for assistance. And for goodness sake, don't pull the car up at the passenger arrival area and leave it unoccupied, even for one minute! They'll ticket you! On our return, a Southwest skycap met us at the car return and walked us all the way through check-in, straight through the security check (no waiting) and to our gate! It's a must for anyone who has difficulty walking and handling luggage.

This area of New Hampshire is so warm (even in snow) that a couple of dyed-in-the-wool Tide fans from Alabama can go there and feel perfectly comfortable and at home. You will, too.

Room Tip: In winter, the Buckingham, Windsor and Norcross(?) rooms on the second floor of the Manor all have g...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for The Manor on Golden Pond
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 247 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to book a last minute weekend getaway for some relaxation and romance in January. The Manor was perfect. Our room had a fireplace (we made 4 fires that weekend!) and a huge bathtub. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The wine list was very good for New Hampshire and the food was great. The morning breakfast (included in the rate) has a menu, which is a great touch, and you can order numerous things off the menu. My husband had turkey hash AND oat raspberry pancakes AND their delicious homemade pastries. It was truly an awesome breakfast...especially right by the fire. We ended up skiing a half day at Loon, but it was also very close to Waterville and Gunstock. We had an expensive dinner at the inn and had some of the best steak tartare I've ever had. We found it very convenient (less than 2 hours from Boston), loved the views, the food and the rooms.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the pond and with a fireplace.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Brian was full of helpful information. Loved the ride around the pond. Our room was really beautiful. Stall, terrific........and OMG..........great breakfast. terrific place to relax a short ride from Boston. I went with friend but would go again with my husband.

Roz Levy

Room Tip: Stayed in main building
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The owners and staff of the Manor make this already wonderful place even more amazing. They were helpful, friendly, caring (when our car broke down), and accommodating (vegan tasting menu in the dining room, special dessert for my husband's birthday, help in planning nearby activities).

If you want a cozy, charming place with great food and a terrific staff (just the right amount of care - not overbearing in any way), stay here. We had a great time.

Room Tip: we had a luxury suite, pricey but nicey (fireplace, jacuzzi tub, steam shower, etc.)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonTravelkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in the Avon room. We had really been looking forward to our stay. We were really disappointed! The room looked great in pictures but not as nice in reality. Looks a bit tired and grubby. It was raining very heavily and as Avon is a the top of the house it was very noisey. The fireplace was leaking rain.
Dinner was really expensive. The dining room really needs a refurb. The ceiling had rain water pouring through it. All the waitress did was put containers under it. We were right next to the leak and there were loads of empty tables but no offer to move us. The chef ruined the lobster dish, it was completely dried out and rubbery.
Breakfast was a joke, I asked the waitress for maple syrup with my pancakes when I placed my order. When they arrived no syrup. I asked again. 5 mins later still no syrup. Despite the fact I looked really cross and wasn't eating my breakfast all 3 members of staff including a manager continued serving everyone else but our table. In the end I got up and stood in the kitchen entrance until someone paid attention to me. By this point I had stone cold pancakes and no one offered to heat them. Both meals had poor service and poor food.
We won't be returning or recommending!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For the expense of this manor we expected more. We had a very nice and comfortable room with a wonderful fireplace. Tea time was very nice with little finger sandwiches and lemon bars. Breakfast was fine. We especially liked the idea of being able to order off a menu. Now, what we didn't like was being greeted (evening & morning) by the personel in shorts and running shoes. In a place such as this, dress should be smart. The exterior of the building seemed to need some serious maintenance. Would we go back again? Probably not.

L & D
California

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A lovely, lovely spot in a beautiful part of the world. We visited as part of a two week tour of New England, a special holiday for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were given a fine welcome from Brian, the owner who immediately recommended a boat tour on Squam Lake from the village. Thank you, it was a wonderful suggestion. We had a comfortable cottage room (Ascot) with a log fire, peace perfect peace. The second day was cold and misty and we were feeling tired and in need of a "duvet day". The cottage was perfect, we stoked up the fire and settled downwitn good books wonderful battery re-charging. This was topped off with a lovely dinner where the chef tailored the whole menu to suit my husband's onion allergy, that's what I call service! Thank you to Brian and Mary Ann, you are running a lovely Inn there and we would love to return one day.

Room Tip: The cottages are lovely andcosy
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DATP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
6.7 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
6.5 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
372 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
247 reviews
6.0 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
21 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range: $233 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is a 24 room country Inn with each room unique. Booking direct allows you to select the room that you most like. Each room has TV, free long distant phone service on continental USA, luxury robes, free wifi, frette linens, turndown service, comfortable sitting areas. The Van Horn dining room offers exceptional cuisine in a relaxed but elegant atmosphere. Seasons Sap offers a full array of spa treatments. All rates include a full country breakfast and afternoon tea. Minimum age of guest is 12 years of age. Leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing