We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Needs a bit more TLC!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor on Golden Pond
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs a bit more TLC!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Manor on Golden Pond looks lovely from the road. Closer inspection, however, reveals that this Inn desperately requires some additional upkeep! While the following may seem overly negative, with the prices they charge, somewhere closer to perfection would be appropriate! The owners and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We stopped in with no reservation at the end of August, and negotiated for a 'Standard' queen room, receiving a slightly discounted price. Our room was small, but clean, and the bed comfortable. The red wallpaper in our room was scratched (showing white underneath) in several small places above the bed's headboard. The rattan bench at the foot of the bed was broken in a few places. The 'heated' pool was large, and we had it all to ourselves, but the skimmer/filter wasn't on and there were many bugs/leaves floating along the top. Weeds are growing all around the property - pool area and Manor - where they could be tended to easily. One of the four adirondack chairs placed on the hillside was broken, and another had bird droppings all over it. Motorcycles driving on the main road below were quite loud during the day. The Manor itself is in desperate need of a power washing and numerous paint touchups. Breakfast was nothing special. The self-serve fruit bowl was watermelon and cantaloupe. There were also some pastries - which were a bit dry. The entrees were disappointing and served with no embellishment or garnish. The afternoon 'Tea' offering was a tray of about a dozen cookies and very tiny white bread sandwiches with a piece of bacon and some lettuce. We found this more weird than 'classy'! Dinner options at the Manor were exceedingly expensive 'fine-dining' and/or overly-expensive pub food in their 'Three Cocks Tavern'. This B&B needs improvement. There were just too many things which could have been better tended-to, or fixed without much cost to the owners. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    41
    23
    20
    15
See reviews for
15
157
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Manor on Golden Pond is an amazing place located in Holderness, right in the middle of the state of NH. It is part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the Word and rightly so. The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated and each has a working fireplace! There is a gourmet restaurant where we celebrated our anniversary. The chef made a 7 course tasting menu just for me! Breakfast is included in the stay and you are given a menu - no buffet here! There is a huge pool that is well-placed to catch the sun, a clay tennis court, a spa and it is situated on Squam Lake. We had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: Each room has a name. We stayed in Churchill - large room with working fireplace, balcony with chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I expected so much more for the price we paid than we got. The hotel charges 5* prices but has a very neglected feel to it. The exterior of the building, the landscaping, the signage and even the smell in the parlor all spell neglect. A missing rail on the main entrance steps, planters upside down instead of planted with the beautiful flowers we saw all over town, weeds everywhere, cracked paint and mildew on the outside of the buildings did not make me feel like I was staying in a distinctive inn. The owners are lovely and friendly, but breakfast was just Ok and the afternoon tea appeared to be a dozen cookies and two sandwiches cut up into 8 pieces each and were never replenished. There are much nicer hotels for half the price with better access to the lake and cleaner, better cared for grounds in town with less pretentious/expensive dining. The Manor on Golden Pond needs a full refurbishment of the grounds and exterior buildings to remove the has been feel. I would not recommend it...certainly not at these prices.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank jkbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The owners and staff are lovely, but this B&B needs some improvement to justify the cost per night. The breakfast was not good, but I understand that there are changes in the kitchen staff which should rectify this. We rented a suite with two "flat screen TVs", which we appreciated considering that there is nothing to do at night and the Summer Olympics were in progress. Imagine our surprise that these "TVs" were 9". My laptop computer has a bigger screen. There was no cellphone service at all, and as a business owner, this mattered to me. The afternoon tea and appetizers were gone after the first 4 or 5 visitors came to the parlor, and were never replenished. This is a beautiful inn in a beautiful area that just needs some tweaking to be exceptional. It just isn't there yet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Holderness and Squam Lake, famously known as the location for the Henry Fonda Katherine Hepburn classic "On Golden Pond", is the backdrop for this pristine property. The manor sits on Shepherds Hill across the road from the beautiful undeveloped lake. The rooms are well appointed and immaculate. The bed was very comfortable complete with down pillows, comforter and excellent linens. Service was impeccable and breakfast first class. Afternoon tea, turn down service with homemade cookies is also worth mentioning. We even received a welcome bottle of champagne.This was my second visit, and if I ever have another occasion to visit this area again, this property will be my #1 and only choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Another amazing stay at The Manor on Golden Pond! We go up every year for camp visiting day and stay for 4 days. The grounds are so beautiful, you almost do not want to leave The Manor. But you must get out onto magnificent Squam Lake with Captain Cindy and her Squam Lake Scenic Tours, or rent a kayak or canoe at the Squam Lake Association. The town of Meredith is close by and has cute shops and great lobster at Town Docks overlooking the water. Or take a short hike on one of the numerous mountains nearby. You can even attend the symphony in nearby Plymouth. There is so much to do!
Attention is paid to every detail at The Manor. The rooms are lovely, the included gourmet breakfast is delicious, and the setting is spectacular. This year we even made it onto the tennis court and into the pool. Then we relaxed in Adirondack chairs on the beautiful lawn in the shade of magnificent evergreen trees. Just go and ENJOY!!

Room Tip: We stay in the main house. Some rooms are huge and worth the extra money, but all are very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We celebrated a major family anniversary with a private dinner at this beautiful resort. Everything was wonderful but the hospitable staff, service, and setting were stellar! You feel like you are guests in someone's fabulous country manor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watsonsfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
6.7 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
5.9 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#2 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Property: The Manor on Golden Pond
Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is a 24 room country Inn with each room unique. Booking direct allows you to select the room that you most like. Each room has TV, free long distant phone service on continental USA, luxury robes, free wifi, frette linens, turndown service, comfortable sitting areas. The Van Horn dining room offers exceptional cuisine in a relaxed but elegant atmosphere. Seasons Sap offers a full array of spa treatments. All rates include a full country breakfast and afternoon tea. Minimum age of guest is 12 years of age. Leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing