We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Totally Relaxing"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Manor on Golden Pond
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"Totally Relaxing"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just returned from a driving trip covering part of New England. The glorious Manor On Golden Pond was the one hotel at which we made reservations prior to starting our journey.We spent five nights at this beautiful property located amidst luscious wooded, mountain areas with a great view of Squam Lake.
From the time that we were greeted and escorted to our beautiful room -- 'Buckingham' -- we knew that we had made a good decision. The room itself was very spacious and tastefully appointed with luxurious linens gracing an imposing four-poster bed. The large wood-burning fireplace was framed by two comfortable wing-chairs -- a perfect spot to relax with a book after a day of touring the area or following an excellent dinner. Periodically one would wander out onto the small balcony overlooking the lake to listen for the sound of the loon. We were lucky in that we enjoyed that symbol of rural surroundings on various occasions.
Mary-Ellen and Brian, the owners of 'The Manor'', together with their large and personable staff ensured that someone was always available to answer questions or provide directions to points of interest in the area. 'The Manor' is a perfect location from which to travel to various attractive parts of New Hampshire. Locally a one-and-a-half hour boat cruise on peaceful Squam lake, together with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. is very worthwhile. Also a drive to Mount Washington for a ride to the top on the famous Cog Railway makes for a lovely day-trip. It was on that occasion that we saw our first moose!!
The three English 'interns' working at the hotel in various capacities as part of their practical training , provided assistance in a light-hearted , enthusiastic and amusing manner. The housekeepers providing the evening turn-down service complete with cookies, willingly re-set the fireplace for us, although we were quite prepared to do that for ourselves. In fact the unwritten motto of the inn appears to be that the guest should be pampered wherever possible.
Our full and varied breakfasts, afternoon tea, and most enjoyable dinners were important parts of our stay. Again they were always served with a warm smile.
If we could make a suggestion -- not a criticism -- a boutique hotel of this size does not warrant having two restaurants open for dinner. On four out of our five nights, we chose to dine in their "M Bistro" which offers a lighter menu. Whilst our meal was excellent , we tended to feel a little 'lonely'! This may be a reflection of our slightly social personalities, but it might make more practical sense to offer both formal and lighter menus within one dining-room. Just a suggestion!!
Nevertheless, our parting comments on leaving 'The Manor' were that we wished that we could take the hotel , along with the complete staff , on the rest of our journey!! That not being possible, we certainly look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: On a cool or damp evening, a room with a fireplace is an added luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELHAPPY022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    49
    24
    20
    15
See reviews for
15
172
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

quiet hotel with old world charm , clean rooms with very traditional furniture - dont stay here if you want mod cons cos there's none the mobile network doesnt always work and despite the free availability the wifi was off and on. Its a place for relaxing and walking and maybe taking a boat onto Lake Squam. Very little to do though in the evening and the hotel bar closed at around 930 pm every night which was a pity. Food was good in the hotel which is lucky because we couldnt find a decent restaurant in the area. The countryside is beautiful here though and I would like to see it in winter. Friendly owner and staff.

Room Tip: ask for a bedroom with a whirlpool bath/jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleFilmmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is one fantastic place. Our host Mary Ellen and Brian could not have been more accommodating. I walked in without reservations and was shown two beautiful rooms with nice views of the lake to choose from. The beds were very comfortable for me and my wife because we love feather pillows. The room had a lovely fireplace with two club chairs to relax in. The fireplace was not needed in the middle of the summer but the club chairs went to good use. There were two luggage racks that were put to use with our oversize bags. The bellman just took care of everything we needed. The room was very large and well appointed. Dinner and breakfast were very good with lots of choices on the menu. You must try the Watermelon Gazpacho it is to die for. I think the pricing at this Inn was very reasonable. If you are planning a trip to this area of New Hampshire this Inn is a must. My thanks to our host’s you do a great job.
I have one complaint and I have it at every hotel or Inn I have stayed. The toilet paper has to be improved on. Having paper so thin that you have to use three times the amount per use is not cost effective. Everyone who reads this, if the TP does not suit you at any hotel or Inn say something.

Room Tip: Just tell the host what you want and it will be provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MODSYSBRO-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I just now returned from two nights at the Manor, and while we cannot claim to be to the Manor born, we recommend it highly! I understand--as evident from the TripAdvisor reviews--that it is not for everyone. But for the two of us--admittedly in our fifth and sixth decade, respectively--it was just as we had hoped, if not better.
Don't expect a big screen TV or a modern, spotless, and sound-proof environment. I was happy to regain some sense of the Holderness I once knew as a college student 50 years ago. I enjoyed the albums in the library which gave the history of the place, its proprietors, and they had looked over time. The unoccupied rooms on the second floor were open for inspection and made it feel like we were guests and not just patrons. The hotel and housekeeping staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful. We were happy to have the windows open at night and the ceiling fan swirling above us, rather than turn on the window air conditioner. The downstairs is wonderfully large and commodious, with room enough to exchange pleasantries with fellow guests, or not. The front porch for an evening cocktail and the Adirondack chairs on a hill overlooking the pond (and July 4 fireworks) are without compare. The swimming pool large and clean, the clay tennis court well-maintained and inviting. The breakfast was as ample and delicious as one could hope and dinner the same. I could go on but you've got to be there, and while it's no bargain, you get your money's worth and more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayerweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, ME
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I simply can't imagine anything more wonderful than waking up in the Churchilll Room on the morning of the Royal Wedding (Prince Chas to Kate Middleton, that is!) after days of rain and hearing the Loons on Squam Lake. The Manor on Golden Pond is every bit the kind of experience you dream of. With a bit of British charm (guest rooms are named after counties in the UK), "The Manor" as many call it offers huge helpings of elegance, wrapped up in incredible views, fabulous food and distinctive surroundings.

I simply loved it here. Brian and Mary Ellen are welcoming hosts along with a staff of kind and welcoming managers and culinary professionals. From afternoon tea to dinner and breakfast the next morning, the Manor offers an enticing culinary adventure.

One neat thing they do is to keep doors open to unoccupied guest rooms, so I got the chance to check out many other rooms. Almost every room offers a view of Squam Lake (this is where On Golden Pond was filmed), and most of the rooms seem to have decks to bring the outdoors in, plus wood burning fireplaces and lots of rooms with whirlpool tubs.

I didn't get a chance to try the spa, but it's right at the inn. There's also a tennis court and in-ground heated pool (open in the summer).

I highly recommend the Manor On Golden Pond for romantic getaways and celebrations and culinary adventure!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We spent the weekend at the Manor and it was such an extraordinary experience. The Inn is gorgeous, the rooms have all the creative comforts and are beautifully maintained for a cozy winter weekend.

The staff is superb, warm, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Every smile from the staff meant alot during our stay.

The dining room was elegant, intimate and the food was absolutely superb. The service from our waitperson was phenomenal. The chef and all the waitstaff, including the interns at breakfast, should be commended for their smiles each time they came to our table along with the fantastic attention to detail they provided.

We hiked up rattlesnake trail and it was a great way to spend a winter afternoon hiking the woods. It was so peaceful. Unfortunately there was a bit of snowfall so the view was a bit limited but the hike was so refreshing. It was such a memorable experience for us.

We can not wait to return to the Manor for another visit. It is a must on our bucket list to have regular visits back to our hidden treasure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctimbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at the Manor last weekend. We were delighted with our room, which was the Avon suite. The room is very spacious and included a whirlpool tub and fireplace. It was an added convenience to have a coffee maker in our room. The bed was very comfortable and had luxurious linens. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, greeting us when we arrived and providing us with locations for dining and snowshoeing. The room and all areas we saw were very clean and tidy. The massage I received at the spa was the perfect treatment after a day of snow sports. We had dinner there the first night, and enjoyed it so much that we went back again the second night. Both nights we were seated near the beautiful Craftsman fireplace and looked out the window as the snow fell. Enchanting. My only complaint about the dinner was the deadly silence surrounding us. They could use an enhanced sound system, it is so quiet that people were speaking in whispers and we felt like we were in a library.

This inn is fully priced, and if we were expecting a resort experience, we might have been disappointed. The inn could definitely use a paint job and some of the carpet and decorating seems a bit dated. However, it was delightful and charming, and the area offers natural beauty in all seasons.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muskokagalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
6.7 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
20.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sutton House Bed & Breakfast
Sutton House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Property: The Manor on Golden Pond
Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is a 24 room country Inn with each room unique. Booking direct allows you to select the room that you most like. Each room has TV, free long distant phone service on continental USA, luxury robes, free wifi, frette linens, turndown service, comfortable sitting areas. The Van Horn dining room offers exceptional cuisine in a relaxed but elegant atmosphere. Seasons Sap offers a full array of spa treatments. All rates include a full country breakfast and afternoon tea. Minimum age of guest is 12 years of age. Leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing