We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing weekend for the entire family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Oak Motel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxing weekend for the entire family”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband, two kids (ages 13 and 15) and I spent the weekend at White Oak Motel in July. The rooms were clean (not new and/or fancy); however, just what we expected. The pool is open from 8am - 9pm. We arrived Friday night around 8:50pm after a long day at work then the drive to New Hampshire. Carol was kind enough to keep the pool open until we were done for the evening. The pool was huge and a pleasure to swim in or just sit by and read a book while the kids enjoyed the water on Saturday. There were plenty of rafts and chairs for all. The lake was also enjoyable with the floating dock. We will definately be returning, perhaps for a week next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BahamaMama2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    23
    1
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for two nights, with our 13 and 15yr old kids. Other guests were a diverse mix of families, older couples, and fishermen. Great pool, beautiful, clean lake and sandy beach. Room, while dated, was clean, comfortable, and economically priced. Location is conveniently between Meredith and Holderness, so if the quiet fun of White Oak Pond isn't enough, it's just a short ride to bigger, more active boating lakes. Staff was VERY friendly and accommodating. We will definitely come back, hopefully for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCS-DMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Super family-oriented place on a beautiful small lake. Beach and grassy lawn are located well off the road which helps keep kids safe. Owners live on site and are very responsive to the needs of their guests. The cabins are kept neat, clean, and overall well maintained. We have visited for many years (20+) and always look forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHampshireChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2009

On a business trip to NH a friend recommended White Oak Motel. I found the rooms to be neat and clean. The property was well cared for and the owners friendly and informative. Not being familiar with the area I had to have directions to the conference center. Carol provided the directions to me in a clear manner so that I was able to get to the center on time and without getting lost. I found all the staff there to be friendly and helpful. This is a place I will return to with my family because of the location, the pool, the lake and the staff.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2009

White Oak Cabins offer us everything we want when on vacation: a beautiful, relatively undeveloped lake, a sandy swimming area, proximity to a variety of great hikes, climbs, and other larger lakes for canoeing, and a lot of peace and quiet. We often sit on the porch or on the large lawn at night, watching the moon on the water and hearing nothing but the loons calling and an occasional owl.
The McHugh family and all the staff are professional, accommodating, and friendly to a fault. They know the area intimately and can guide you to restaurants, sites of local interest and, most important to us, to places to hike or paddle that we may have overlooked. The housekeeping cabins are clean and comfortable. The atmosphere there is relaxed and friendly.
After several years vacationing there, we have noticed that White Oak has many "regulars" like us who return year after year. There is no stronger endorsement than that!

  • Liked — Setting; proximity to water and wilderness.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubblefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2009

If you are looking for a place to give your kids a "back to nature" type of vacation or just a "quiet little cabin in the woods"....Look no more...pack up your car with your most comfortable hangin' around wardrobe, a bathing suit and a hoodie for cool nights and head to the beautiful White Mountains, the backyard of White Oak. We have been vacationing in this simple, clean, friendly, family-owned get-a-way for more than 25 years. My children would NEVER allow a summer to go by without a trip to White Oak...the college kids are suddenly "available", the teenagers are planning their kayaking expeditions and the little ones are taking bets on who will catch the most fish this year....White Oak pond remains timeless...unchanging...and takes your breath away as you 'round the bend of the long driveway leading down to the lake.
In this technological,constantly changing world...there is something "magical" about finding the beauty and majesty EXACTLY as you remembered it the year before.
Owners John and Carol McHugh will treat you like family while sharing their beautiful backyard with you. They are full of suggestions for restaurants, day trips or local sights that just MUST be seen.
If you are looking for a "Marriot" experience....White Oak is not for you. These are clean, neat, rustic housekeeping cottages. The Motel is a nice accomodation to "graduate" to if you want to treat yourself to daily maid service, but still have the advantage of using the facilities on the lake. Don't miss another summer....give your kids a "memory maker" of a vacation...but be forewarned...they'll never want to go anywhere else!

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisap4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We reserved in advance and made the mistake of checking in and paying in full for 4 days before checking Cabin 15. What a mistake. The cabin was badly worn and nothing like one in a picture on their web site. Dirty old carpet at the front door, an old bed that wiggled like jello, a tiny old shower, and floors that tilted crazily to make us seasick. We went to the manager and explained that we were unhappy and wanted to leave. When we explained the problems she told us that she was insulted that we said her place was "substandard" and would not refund any of our money. It was only after we had a difficult discussion and threatened to post our experience on TripAdvisor (which she called "vindictive") did she relent but still kept $125 of the money. Terrible customer service but not surprising since the innkeeper's daughter initially refused to either help with an early check-in or hold bags for us. Surley help, substandard accommodations (in the innkeeper's own words), and terrible service. There are many other choices in the area where you can find a great room for the same rate so just email me if you need any suggestions. BTW, this property is currently listed for sale - caveat emptor since it needs much work.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
7.3 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
91 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
103 reviews
7.2 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#2 of 3 in Holderness
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Motel & Cottages

Property: White Oak Motel & Cottages
Address: 435 US Route 3, Holderness, NH 03245-5764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Oak Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Oak Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Hotel
White Oak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing