We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Oak Motel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is the second time I have visited White Oaks, and my fiance and I are looking forward to our third visit. This is a family run business. They are wonderful people, and a pleasure to talk to.

This time we stayed in a lake front cottage and the view is spectacular. The cabin is rustic. If you are looking for Waldorf amenities then you will be going to the wrong place. Not all the silverware and plates match, but we didn't go there for the dishes. There was a fridge, microwave, toaster, and the ever-so important coffee maker. If you forget to bring coffee there is a great little general store (Squam Lake Market?) with really nice beer selection. The rooms are clean, and well kept. I thought the bed was perfect, and I love being able to wake up and look out at the pond.

I didn't have a chance to take a dip in the pool there but it looked well maintained and clean. It was very quiet, and all the guests around us were really nice and helpful. One group we spoke with had been going there for over twenty years! We will be seeing them next year, and I can guarantee that.

All in all, this is a great little place. It's clean, in a beautiful location, great fishing, lots of stuff to do on the premises (kayaks, canoes, pool) and off the premises (Squam Nature Center, hiking trails, Squam Lake itself, The Canoe Tavern in Center Harbor). Lastly, great hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. White Oak is a labor of love for my family. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks,
Carol & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    23
    1
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just returned from our yearly retreat and have to say once again White Oak has met our expectations. Along with the pond, the beach, the pool, and the peace and quiet the family staff was always there when needed. Carol goes out of her way to help and the cabins have all of the amenities required to spend quality time with lots of fun. Thanks again Carol and we will see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is our pleasure to make your stay a happy one. We look forward to seeing you 2015
Thanks again,
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Last year in june we stayed in the motel portion of the property. It was very clean and comfortable. This year we stayed in one of the cabins. It was clean confortable and had a beautiful view of the lake. We plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quilterrenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

It is a beautiful location, the water is nice, the loons sing but the accommodations are lacking. Beds are not very comfy, furnishings are second hand and minimal cell service. I would recommend for day use as it is so pretty there but you won't be getting a good night sleep. Not overly friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 856ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay was not pleasant. Our cottages are rustic, but we have added many new Serta beds and are working to improve. We do not have control over cell service .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

White Oaks Pond is a gorgeous small lake, much more secluded than Squam and Winnipesaukee lakes, though nearby, and also convenient to the White Mountains. The cabins were rustic (read: thin walls), but clean, with cute kitchens, lovely little screen porches, good mattresses and plenty of heat and hot water. Check out Google Earth (it's better) -- grills, picnic tables and grassy lawn leading down to the sand beach with canoes and paddle boats for rent (cheap). Even a hot tub, and wonderful owners/proprietors anxious to please. I wish I could visit (I'm from the midwest) every year.

Room Tip: Motel and upper cottages are more modern, and have a forest in back, but the "rustic" lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the cabins by the lakeside. It was very comfortable and warm with a lovely view of the lake. The high point was seeing a moose swimming from one side to the other. The woman running the motel was very friendly and helpful. Definitely provides good value for money.We would certainly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the lakefront cottages. They were a little more rustic than we'd expected. The lake is definitely beautiful and had we been there in warmer weather I'm sure we would have enjoyed their canoes or paddle boat on the lake. We had reserved the cottage for 2 nights but chose to leave after only one even though our second night was not refunded. If you are looking for the cleanliness and white fluffy towels of a Hampton Inn, this is not the place for you. If you want a place on a beautiful lake you may give it a try.

Room Tip: Lakefront cabins are a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mendayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Savoie's Lodging and Camping
Savoie's Lodging and Camping
#1 of 1 in Center Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Motel & Cottages

Property: White Oak Motel & Cottages
Address: 435 US Route 3, Holderness, NH 03245-5764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Oak Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Oak Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Hotel
White Oak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing