We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sehr Gute Sachen aus Deutschland”

German John's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Hillsborough
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Bellows Falls
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sehr Gute Sachen aus Deutschland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very good selection of German imports as well as John's own delicious baked goods. His Stollen is oustanding an his Pretzels, Wow, brings back many memories

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermonster05101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I made my second visit to German John's Bakery while passing through Hillsborough in January 2013. I first visited with my wife and two kids last summer. The husband and wife owners made us feel welcome and at home. This time I made a point to visit while traveling alone. I received a warm welcome and hospitality. I had a sausage on a roll for lunch and a pretzel with a taste that lingered for quite a long time! I bought raspberry, pineapple, and apple pastries and sweet bread for my family back home in Virginia. They gave an me ice pack which kept them fresh for the long ride home. I wanted a scenic ride home so they gave advise about taking Rt. 9 through Vermont which proved helpful. I look forward to future visits next time I pass through the area. This bakery is worth going out of the way for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VaBeachMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great real German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great food, you won't find elsewhere. A real German bakery. The owner will tell you not to eat the pretzels until they are cool, ignore her.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I were staying in the neighboring town of Washington, but ventured into Hillborough for shopping. We dropped in one morning because we heard they had fresh pretzels to die for. That wasn't a lie. The pretzels were amazing and I wish we had bought more. We also bought three frozen loaves of sourdough, which have been so chewy, and flavorful that I wish we lived closer. My only note to a visitor is if you want bread fresh that day, you should time your visit around noon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CTTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Bread like I remember from when I lived in Germany

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German John's Bakery also viewed

 
Hillsborough, NH
 
Hillsborough, NH
 

Been to German John's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing