We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and lots of nice touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and lots of nice touches”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

i picked this place because it was right off the campus and we were taking out son for a visit and we could get a room with 2 queen beds. It was truly lovely! It was all the little extras like the fruit infused water, the cookies in the afternoon, apples by the elevator and the coffee int he morning that helped set it apart. But the room was also large, immaculate and had great amenities in the bathroom. Yes there was construction in front, but the valet just pulled up along side the hotel. I have stayed in many hotels and this way exceeded my expectations. Fingers crossed, if my son gets into Dartmouth, I will be back again and again :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Hanover Inn Dartmouth. We are delighted to hear that the comfort and convenience of our inn was exactly what you needed for your stay. Your kind words for our inn are very much appreciated and we too look forward to you next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    74
    16
    15
    1
See reviews for
183
76
10
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were taking a four day class at King Arthur Flour and the Inn was recommended by them. Students at the school are offered a discount rate.

The Inn is located in the center green adjacent to Dartmouth College about 2 miles from the King Arthur school. Next to the Art Museum, and convenient to movies, restaurants, bars and shopping, it is well located. The Inn itself contains two areas for dining and a well equipped gym. The rooms have free Wi-Fi and cable. Parking is valet only (20$ a day) with unlimited in and out service.

Small touches like newspapers in the morning, fruit and water in the afternoon and cookies and candies in the evening were greatly appreciated. What a terrific hotel! If you are visiting Dartmouth, this is the place to stay. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They suggested running routes, gave us restaurant tips and were kind enough to freeze the bread that we made each day in class.

Our beautiful room was on the 4th floor facing the side of the hotel overlooking a busy street but noise was never a problem. Even with the on-going construction on the main entrance drive, the hotel was exceptionally quiet. Our room had two queen beds and ample space to move around.The beds were well appointed and comfortable and the bathroom, though not large, never felt cramped. One quibble - while the shower pressure was great, the tap was a bit less so.

Most of all, the entire staff made us feel welcome and ensured our every comfort. Service such as this this is rare in today's cookie cutter hotel system. Kudos! We shall return and so should you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patpme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review of your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth. We cannot express in words just how delighted we were to read your review and to hear all about the things you were happy with when you stayed with us. We are very pleased that you not only enjoyed our location and friendly staff but that our special extra touches had such a positive impact. Please come back and see us again soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Dartmouth Inn has been recently updated and looks amazing. It is very clean and appealing to the eye. The hotel is located right on the Dartmouth campus and provides a great first impression for the school.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth. Our staff works hard to provide a positive experience for all of our guests and we are happy to hear we did just that. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beauty and comfort of our inn and we look forward to welcoming you back for another cozy stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My son's wedding was held this weekend at the Hanover Inn. I think the staff is very professional and courteous as their valet area was under construction and checkin parking was around the corner on S. Main St. This was parent's weekend at Dartmouth along with 3 weddings being held at the Inn and area so, there was lots of traffic and delayed getting inside. Once we got the car taken care of the rest of checkin was smooth. Our room was a king and thought space was a little tight although we had a handicap room and bathroom was extra big! My son had two queens and his bath was small and narrow but, room was spacious. Our rooms faced S. Main st on second floor and some night time traffic noise came through. Have to comment that our wedding reception was held in the ballroom and food was delicious and bartender's were knowledgeable and friendly. We did not eat in Pine restaurant so I cannot comment on that.
Although we stayed there on a group rate, I thought the regular rates were very high for this area of NH. Overall I thought the Hanover Inn was outstanding and staff was exceptional. We had a great wedding and were very happy.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are quieter if your facing S. Main St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestmom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth. We are truly honored to accommodate you for your son’s wedding day. Although it is great to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff we would like to apologize for any delays you experienced when having your car valet. Congratulations on your son’s wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This summer, our family stayed at the Hanover Inn three separate times. Each stay was enjoyable, with well-appointed, clean rooms, excellent service and a lively atmosphere. The Hanover Inn rather recently completed an extensive renovation, and the style is what I would call "contemporary traditional," with modern, clean lines mixed with classic furniture. It feels very "current," in a good way.

The location, right in the middle of Hanover and directly across from Dartmouth College, is ideal. Despite this central location, inside the hotel we did not discern significant street noise.

Pine Restaurant, located in the lobby of the hotel, brings fine dining to Hanover. Fresh, local produce is used to put together a very appealing menu. Breakfast is served in a separate restaurant, and offers good food and polite service.

Comfortable beds, welcoming service, reasonable pricing, the perfect location and excellent dining: the Hanover Inn delivers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth. The greatest compliment we could receive is when a guest returns to our inn based on what we feel are the highlights of staying with us. We are delighted that our beautiful yet convenient location along with our delicious on-site restaurant, PINE, made your stay memorable. Again, we can’t thank you enough for your great review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the Hanover Inn after picking our kids up from camp in Maine, stopping in Hanover so our child could spend the day touring and observing Dartmouth. Not only were the staff helpful and relaxed about the large amount of luggage with which we arrived, they also had a "dog-friendly" room. The spacious, clean and comfortable rooms (One king, one with two queens) enabled our family to relax, refresh and recuperate while also getting to know Dartmouth. We also celebrated a birthday at the Pine restaurant - awesome food (somewhat favoring of meat and seafood dishes) and they made a delicious surprise cake. Our professional and kind waiter created a wonderful environment for our "on-the-road" celebration.

Room Tip: Nice rooms all around. Pick the one that best accommodates your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth and dining experience at PINE restaurant. We are truly delighted to read a review such as yours regarding our friendly and attentive staff members. We are always happy to learn when our staff goes above and beyond for our guests and we hope you'll come visit with us again soon the next time you are in Hanover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is an exceptional hotel. The staff is superb - professional expertise and personable interactions. The world-class design is reason enough to stay here - the lobby, Pine restaurant, and the rooms. Loved it and hope to return soon. I will definitely stay here whenever I can. Location is great for walking to campus and shopping Main Street's excellent shops. The forested mountain setting is something a Chicagoan can only long to experience more often. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of campus are beautiful, but less expensive rooms overlooking main street with class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation of your visit. We are always thrilled to learn when a guest enjoys the beauty and convenience of our location right in the heart of Hanover plus our great staff. Please visit us again soon at Hanover Inn Dartmouth as it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
350 reviews
14.5 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Property: Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Address: 2 E Wheelock St, Hanover, NH 03755-1549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Inn Dartmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1780, the Hanover Inn Dartmouth offers 108 distinctive guest rooms with all the modern conveniences of a world-class hotel. Located in the “Heart of Hanover” and the only hotel on the Dartmouth College campus, the Hanover Inn enjoys a unique opportunity to serve our guests. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’ll find the accommodations at the Hanover Inn are ideal for comfort and convenience, with luxurious furnishings and contemporary amenities. Enjoy a variety of dining options along with state of the art technology in our conference and meeting center, exquisite wedding and event locations, complimentary wireless internet and Ethernet accessibility along with an extensive health club facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanover Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Inn At Dartmouth College Hotel Hanover
At Darmouth College Hanover
Hanover Hotel At Darmouth College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing